5/12 Max 289 +3 350 +5 358

I was hoping after the day of flat yellows, we would have a good cycle today, but that didn’t happen. I’m not sure if he bounced last night or if this is one of the high before the low things. Or if he’s getting glucose toxicity again. I’ve just quit trying to figure it out and going along with whatever’s going on. I’m supposed to hold 8-10 cycles after green I think? I’m being patient because I’m starting to see Max likes to wait until the last minute to come down.
 
I’m supposed to hold 8-10 cycles after green I think?
No, you hold doses with green nadirs for a total of 10 cycles. You did have that partial fur shot, maybe? Let's see what he does tonight first, this might be the high before going lower like he did on the 6th.
 
No, you hold doses with green nadirs for a total of 10 cycles. You did have that partial fur shot, maybe? Let's see what he does tonight first, this might be the high before going lower like he did on the 6th.

That’s what I was thinking too about the 6th.
 
Right. I wasn’t planning on increasing him tonight. I know he likes to wait until last minute. I was just thinking out loud about how long I’d hold him if he started flying high and staying there. I knew to hold at 10 cycles when seeing green, but then he had that one high green on the 10th so I didn’t know if I would hold 10 cycles from that one green or a little less since it was a high green. Definitely not thinking about increasing now. It’s always so much going on around here that I’m used to thinking ahead lol. I don’t want any craziness tonight either but knowing Max….
 
Right. I wasn’t planning on increasing him tonight. I know he likes to wait until last minute. I was just thinking out loud about how long I’d hold him if he started flying high and staying there. I knew to hold at 10 cycles when seeing green, but then he had that one high green on the 10th so I didn’t know if I would hold 10 cycles from that one green or a little less since it was a high green. Definitely not thinking about increasing now. It’s always so much going on around here that I’m used to thinking ahead lol. I don’t want any craziness tonight either but knowing Max….
Well, Max is a special case so sometimes he has his own set of rules (like all of our beloved Acro kitties on the FDMB!) I know you've got this, Lori! You are a pro at this point!
 
You got that right about acro kitties. My sister is a nurse too and I’ve been trying to teach her some things about Max. At one point she said “diabetes must be way harder to manage in cats.” I told her it was mainly because of his acromegaly and that yes this is much more difficult to manage than any human patient with diabetes I’ve ever had. There’s no comparison at all. She agreed with that and said she didn’t know how I did as well as I did with him. I am certainly far from being pro at this, but I’m always trying to learn. Nothing at all easy about it. He’s still a happy cat most of the time so that’s what the most important thing is to me!
 
Back
Top