5/12 Kasha AMPS 551, Vet update PMPS 493

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Very Active Member
Appetite not great. She showed interest in food and spent quite some time working on breakfast, but it's more like she licked the moisture out of the food than actually consumed it. Maybe, maybe 1 Tbsp eaten. However, that may be kind of a fake out, because a little bit later I brought her a bowl of shredded turkey from a package of roast turkey (not deli turkey, just plain roasted turkey) I'd just opened and hand fed her bits at a time. She ate about 2 Tbsp or so of that. So... hmmm...

Vet appt this afternoon - 2:20 pm. She meowed at me today - not something she does routinely. While it wasn't exactly the urgent meow of the UTI she had a few weeks ago, I keep thinking she's trying to tell me something's going on.

Off to work.

Yesterday
 
Re: 5/12 Kasha AMPS 551

You guys are in my thoughts.
Sending hopes/prayers/vibes/snowflakes/vines that a turn around is coming soon.
 
Re: 5/12 Kasha AMPS 551

Thanks D.

She's also sneezing a bit the last couple days. This happens a couple of times a year - not sure if it's allergies, feline herpes or the fact that the furnace is running again after nearly a month. The furnace dries her out - last year she started getting nose bleeds and I found that as long as I run a humidifier, they seemed to go away. At least she hasn't had a nose bleed since around January '09. So, humidifier is running and I'll leave work around 1:30 to pick her up and take her in. Going to try to remember to get a prescription for the Lantus cartridges, since my current 'script is for the vials and I'd really rather have the cartridges on hand so I can open up a fresh one at any time.
 
Re: 5/12 Kasha AMPS 551

Good luck at the vets appt today; have a good list of questions written down so nothing gets forgotten. I have to take a list all the time because I don't want to forget a single silly question.

About the reason for getting the rx for the cartridges is that once you crack open the vial, it's good for only a month. Unless you are giving HUGE amounts of doses, it's going to be wasted.
Tell the vet that the carts are better because of less waste, unless the vet wants to pay you for wasted money on the big vial??? I bet not!

Thanks for mentioning the sneezing and using humidifier; Oliver has been sneezing so maybe I should pick up a humidifier for him!

We'll be hoping you get some good answers from the vet today!
 
Re: 5/12 Kasha AMPS 551

Seriously Gayle - Kasha seems to like the humidifier. She usually spends the day camped out near it when it's on, so I assume it helps.
 
Re: 5/12 Kasha AMPS 551

Sold! That's it! I am getting one on the weekend.

I don't think it will harm the rest of us either! thx!
 
Re: 5/12 Kasha AMPS 551

For us - I only run the humidifier when the furnace is running - everyone seems to do ok on their own when the furnace is off for the season, even A/C hasn't triggered anything in the past.

Speaking of which, I'm ready for the furnace to be off for a few months. Time for warmer weather.
 
Re: 5/12 Kasha AMPS 551, Vet update

So, just got back from the vet. Looks like she has another UTI, they are doing a c&S (culture and sensitivity) test and I may not have the results till tomorrow or Friday. So - I thought it would be best to figure out exactly what we're fighting and get the right AB for it (and now I'm afraid of Convenia a little - she's had that 3 times and I think it's time to try something else). BTW, Sienne might think this is funny cuz I think she joked about it once some time ago - but they got the sample by Kasha peeing in a sterile cup. Apparently she would have nothing to do with the needle.

The vet also said it could be a tooth issue, but she'd really like Kasha's numbers to be a little better before we consider dental work.

I also got my 'script for the Lantus cartridges.

And we got Kasha some sub-q fluids and they showed me how to administer them. Her kidney values are on the high end and I feel it's something I should be equipped for and know what to do. So, she perked up a lot after the fluids and I have my own kit for at home use as I see fit. I have to prove that I can do them on my own before they'll give a prescription for them.

So tonight I'm trying .75 or f.75 units (I'll be lucky just to measure between the 1 unit and 1/2 unit lines - yes, even w/the magnifier). I'll be keeping an eye on her.

Kasha is sneezing a bit still and has what may be some post-nasal drip, so I'm keeping an eye on that. The furnace should stop running as the temps rise and then maybe that will be enuf to alleviate some of her issues.

I think I've covered most of the topics. My brain is tired, as is the rest of me right now.

Still 2 1/2 hrs to go till we shoot our dosecrease. Wish us luck.
 
Re: 5/12 Kasha AMPS 551, Vet update

Wishing you luck, a restful evening, and healing thoughts for Kasha. You certainly have your hands full.
 
Re: 5/12 Kasha AMPS 551, Vet update

I am so glad to know what is going on.
I'm sorry she has another UTI -- you are right get the right AB -- someone will be along to help you with that, wait for input.
Once you get this squared away and the dental I think it will be a much smoother road for you. I hope you can hang on.
 
Ok - trying the new dose. Please don't ask why it's not a fat .75. Basically - I can't measure that, so I'm calling this a .75 and I scrutinized that syringe with a magnifying glass and practiced before but is it a .75 or a f.75? - I don't know. It's basically as close as I could get to the middle of 1 and .5 units and it's more than she was getting - that much I can say for sure.

Hope this works. She ate nearly 2 Tbsp food tonight -Max Cat kitten food. I think the fluids must have made her feel more comfortable. Now if we can just get these numbers down...
 
I love the idea that the vet was able to get her to pee in a cup!! If everyone's kitty would cooperate that way there would be no charge for a cytocentesis!! Good for Kasha. Let's hope they get the C & S done asap and the ABs do the job.

It's interesting that she's dehydrated. Do you use a fountain for water? The kitties seem to like that better than a water bowl. And, are you adding some water to her food?

I think once the UTI clears, Kasha's numbers will look better. Do you know what your vet's rationale is on waiting for the dental? A lot of vets say "wait" but if there's a gum inflammation, it can raise BG levels.
 
Hey Sienne - Kasha has always been special - but even I was impressed that she peed in a sterile cup - LOL... The vet didn't say she was dehydrated, but I know from her blood tests the last few times that her kidneys are borderline and her BUN was high, so I just assumed it wouldn't hurt and it might improve her appetite cuz that's what happened last time. She has ALWAYS been a big drinker and I've had her for 17 yrs now - she has bowls of water all over the house (including special small bowls on the nightstand and near her perch on the porch). No fountain - she does very well on her own... She used to steal water from my cups at night and I had to give her her own cup (just like mine) and she drank from that for years... Until the boys started knocking it over. She has been drinking like crazy the last day or so and I knew the fluids would make her feel better - plus it's just a matter of time that she'll need fluids more regularly and I wanted to learn how to do it and just to have them on hand.

The vet just said she was worried about doing the dental with Kasha's numbers so unstable. I think she hopes they would be a little better before putting her through more stress. I think we'll see what the C&S says and if her numbers improve on antibiotics. Then, if they do, hopefully we can get the dental done in the near future. If they don't - I may need to push for the dental.

She apparently threw up while I was out taking a walk :( At least it looked like her dinner (Blue ate different food and Big Cat didn't eat tonight - yet). But she was eating chicken when I came back and I gave her a spoonful of FF.
 
I'm glad you got to the vet, and I'm glad you are waiting for the culture to get the right AB. That should make a difference for Kasha, and once the infection gets taken care of she should get some better numbers.

The dental thing is a real Catch 22. Vets usually want to wait until they're better regulated to do dentals, but sometimes the teeth are what keeps them from being better regulated.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top