5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 +2=439! +4=374 (new vial dose?)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/12 Ella amps 365 dosecrease tonight?

+2=337

She's eating her 2nd breffis now:) Super sunny day over here and the temps are nice and warm:) I'm going to the garden shop and then perhaps for a paddle (and of course taking tests in between:)
 
Re: 5/12 Ella amps 365 +2=337 dosecrease tonight?

Keep coming down, nice and slow, Ella.

Enjoy your sunny day Tamara.

I think a dosecrease tonight is a good idea, but lets see what she does today.
 
Re: 5/12 Ella amps 365 +2=337 dosecrease tonight?

I agree with Dyana. Barring any change in the cycle, I'd increase tonight. According to the protocol, with nadirs over 300, you could even increase by 0.5u if you choose.
 
Re: 5/12 Ella amps 365 +2=337 dosecrease tonight?

Thanks Sienne and Dyana:)

She's been giving us 300's with the exception of the yellows on 5/08 when she was still on .25 u. Does anyone want to take a stab at explaining that one? :-D

Sienne, I realize she's been in the 300's so it's difficult to say when her nadir is but can you take a guess as to when it is?

Thank you!
 
Re: 5/12 Ella amps 365 +2=337 dosecrease tonight?

From the recent data, it looks to me like her nadirs are around +4, but I may be wrong.

I don't know why she got the yellows on the 8th. Maybe she didn't eat as much, or was more active? It's the overall numbers we need to bring down. I want to see a lot more yellows and blues in her spreadsheet.
 
Re: 5/12 Ella amps 365 +2=337 dosecrease tonight?

Onward and upward!

Don't worry, it's not uncommon for cats to have to go up and down the dosing scale a few times before they catch on. Her pattern looks odd to you, but actually when she was coming down I thought that if I had to guess, I would have guessed that her good dose was in the range of 0.50-0.75. She got ahead of us and we had to go down too far to get her slowed down. That happens sometimes - Lucy did it too. The difference is that now we are working up to a good dose instead of down, so we know she is safe. Her dose might end up a tad higher than I originally thought because we have to get her to break through, but it should be a whole lot more controlled than last time.
 
Re: 5/12 Ella amps 365 +2=337 dosecrease tonight?

I want to see a lot more yellows and blues on her ss as well:)
A while back I thought her nadirs were at around +8 and many times she would keep sliding down until ps. Perhpas that was due to her overflowing shed?!
I'm not sure if I should play it conservative and dosecrease by .25 or go .50. It sure would be easier to measure 1 u!
I still find it hard to believe that we're headed towards 1 unit when we were getting greens with way less.

edited to add: just cross posted with you Libby:) Thanks for the explanation.
 
Re: 5/12 Ella amps 365 +2=337 dosecrease tonight?

412 at 3.5
Do we think this number is influenced from the food given at +2? Seems like a pretty big jump.
 
Re: 5/12 Ella amps 365 +2=337 +3.5=412 +4.5=304

+4.5= 304 ....more than a hundred points! I'm hoping she will sneak into the yellows before her liver freaks out! She's napping with an agitated tail right now...
 
Re: 5/12 Ella amps 365 +2=337 +3.5=412 +4.5=304+5=347+6.5=36

Ok so this might sound a bit odd, but I truly think Ella is bouncing from the pinks. When she got down to 304 she became agitated as she normally does when bouncing, and then the next few numbers have been on the rise. Has anyone ever seen this before? I know I'm not supposed to give her a sncak now but I did...she's high.
 
Re: 5/12 Ella amps 365 +2=337 +3.5=412 +4.5=304+5=347+6.5=36

Forgive me if I missed mention of this here or notation in your SS, but when did you last start a new vial/cartridge of insulin? She is seriously stuck in pinkland.

MJ
 
Re: 5/12 Ella +4.5=304+5=347+6.5=362+85=403 (bounce?)

just looking in to see miss ella - yikes! but hang in there, she'll get on track, hopefully sooner rather than later!
 
Re: 5/12 Ella +4.5=304+5=347+6.5=362+85=403 (bounce?)

Mj,

The vial is 5 months old. Should I purchase a new one? If I get one, then would I still give her the current dose?
 
Re: 5/12 Ella +4.5=304+5=347+6.5=362+85=403 (bounce?)

just seeing this. your best bet, even more expensive initially, is buying the solostar pens. 5 pens and each pen can last 6+ months where as the vial goes bad a lot faster and you end up throwing away a lot of insulin.
I would say there is a good chance your insulin is toast
 
Re: 5/12 Ella +4.5=304+5=347+6.5=362+85=403 (bounce?)

Thanksfor the tip Dian!

I dosed .75u. If I go out and get a new vial or pens is it wise to dose her at .75u or something lower?
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398

Dose changes are not necessary when starting a new pen, but I like to be there and home to monitor, so I usually try to start a new pen or cartridge on the weekends, when possible. Are you getting one tonight?
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398

I already shot tonight but I can try and track some pens down for tomorrow. I'm concerned that if the vial was compromised the whole time during the switch then perhaps she does only need a zero line,1 u or .25. Should I wait and see if the .75 u works over the next couple of days?
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 (new vial dose?)

Sorry, if I'm being confusing. Actually, I prefer not to start a new pen and do a dosecrease at the same time. I would wait a day or two. Or, maybe even until Friday night. But, I would definitely buy the new insulin to be ready.
Lets see if anyone else has an opinion.
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 (new vial dose?)

I have increased with starting a new pen but then I have a lot of data on Gabby.

Just as an FYI, people have gotten up to 6 mos. with their insulin. As long as there are no "floaties" (i.e., particles) or you have reason to believe the insulin is toast, it may be fine.

Most pharmacies carry the pens. The difficulty may be that they are typically sold in a box with 5 pens. You may be able to find a place that will sell single pens. I'd check with some of the people who are in Toronto to see if they know where you can purchase them that way if buying one at a time is your preference.
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 (new vial dose?)

Thanks Dyana and Sienne,

I don't see any floaties but within the first two weeks of having the vial I left it out of the fridge for 10 hours. My vet wasn't worried about it and since then it seems to be working fine. I think I'll see if the .75 will stir up any action. If it doesn't I will buy a new one but will probably have to wait until I can monitor closely.
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 (new vial dose?)

Good info here...

I'm one to try one tactic at a time like Dyana-

I was admittedly a testaholic, but bins always threw me curves- so I wasn't as confident as Sienne :-D

Take the Ella-Vator right back down, little miss!!
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 (new vial dose?)

+2=439 Wowzas!!! Either the insulin is toast or the lc food spiked her.
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 (new vial dose?)

I also wouldn't do a dosecrease at the same time as opening a new vial/pen. Why add another variable? Hi Tamara. I hope that whatever you decide to do, Ella will come down to better numbers.
Hope you are having a good weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 (new vial dose?)

funny-pictures-gif-cat-elevator.gif
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 +2=439! (new vial dose?)

Priceless!!!
Do you have one going up? Ella is headed up to th sky with 439!
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 +2=439! (new vial dose?)

If I was going to get a new vial what do you think would be a safe dose: .50 or lower?
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 +2=439! +4=374 (new vial dose?

I found a pharmacy that is open until midnight. I'm still on the fence about whether to get started on a new vial or wait out the dosecrease. It's been almost 2 weeks that Ella has been wearing the pink and red shades and I worry about her health.
What I hear some people saying is that they wouldn't do a dose increase while using a new vial. If this is the case, do I just go back to .50 u?
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 +2=439! +4=374 (new vial dose?

The thing is, Ella has been a master (mistress?) of surprise, so I don't dare try to predict what she would do with a fresh vial of insulin, assuming that has been a factor in her recent pink fetish. If it was the beginning of the weekend and you'd definitely be around to check on her, 0.5U isn't an unreasonable starting dose. But since the new dose may not kick in until the following cycle or two, you'll be back at work by then. It really depends on what you are comfortable doing.

MJ
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 +2=439! +4=374 (new vial dose?

Just to throw another variable into the mix, in Canada you can get cartridges in addition to pens and vials. The cartridge is less material wasted than the pen, but still come in packs of 5 with the same amount of insulin as the pen, so slightly cheaper than getting the pens. I noticed on the sticky about Handling Lantus/Levimir that the cartridges are no longer available in the US, which might explain why they are marked "not for export".
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 +2=439! +4=374 (new vial dose?

To be honest, I don't know what to do. I find it weird that we haven't seen any action in two weeks. I have to be careful with her when I go back to work so I feel like I'm in a difficult situation. I'm not sure why the insulin would suddenly stop working but I guess anything is possible. We're also getting to the end of the bottle and there were a few times before joining the group that I shot excess insulin back in. So many variables.
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 +2=439! +4=374 (new vial dose?

Tamara....I have increased with a new pen and also waited, changed my pen first, and then increased if I needed to. I have come to the same conclusion as others that one variable at a time is easier to handle at least for me.

Remember that when you increase the dose, you might see higher numbers...new dose wonkiness... for the first couple of cycles. Some cats get NDW, some don't. It could possibly be what you are seeing.

Also, keep in mind that if her insulin is toast, you will have to do a little bit of shed building with the new insulin so you might not see numbers come right down. But ECID.....the main variable.

Your schedule has to be considered. If you were able to be there to monitor her closely the next few days, I might be tempted to leave her dose, get your new pen started, and test test test. But since you have to work, I'd be more cautious as Dyana suggests just in case it is the insulin.
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 +2=439! +4=374 (new vial dose?

Hi again, Tamara,
If you are approaching the end of the bottle, I think you should definitely get new insulin. Some people find that they can keep a vial/pen/cartridge going for a long time, but the manufacturer's efficacy date is 28 days from when you open it. Some other people have found that after 28 days or so, they just don't get good results and they open a new pen/vial/cartridge. Most people are somewhere between the two extremes. ECID. If you mishandled the insulin when you were starting out, you could very well have compromised it. So why not get a new supply? It's no big deal!! When starting a new container of insulin, it is usual to keep the same dose. But I see on Ella's SS that you just increased her dose this evening to .75 (from .50). Therefore, since you have only 1 day to monitor before going back to work, I think it might be prudent to go back to 0.50 (maybe a fat 0.50) if you are starting a new vial/pen/cartridge tomorrow. But if you wait until next weekend, it would be better to start the new insulin with whatever dose you are giving at that time (presumably 0.75). But do get new insulin and don't be afraid to start it!!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. My GA diabetic kitty, Stu, used the Lantus cartridges (they come 5 in a box). You can still get these in Canada and they are great (no clumsy pen apparatus to worry about--they are just small tube-like vials.). Rusty uses Levemir and I can order Lev. cartridges from a Canadian online pharmacy and they are much less expensive than buying the Lev. pens here in the US.
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 +2=439! +4=374 (new vial dose?

Thanks for all of your responses:)

+6=365

I got a new vial but I'm nervous to use it as I only have two cycles to see what action in may cause nailbite_smile
I think I will make a game time decision tomorrow morning. It's Mother's Day and I'm supposed to be taking my mama out for lunch so it would be unfortunate to cancel due to testing...although I'm sure she would understand:)
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 +2=439! +4=374 (new vial dose?

Also, it sounds like it would be wise to start out with .50 on the new vial BUT and I know I sound like a broken record, if the insulin has been compromised since we drained the shed, then it might be possible that she would need less? Isn't it better to start lower and work our way up?
I dunno...just my thoughts:)
 
Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 +2=439! +4=374 (new vial dose?

I think it depends on whether you will be there to monitor when you start the new insulin. I don't typically lower the dose when I start a new pen even if I am positive the pen was bad. I just test more until I see what she will do the first several cycles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top