Re: 5/12 Ella pmps 398+1=326 +2=439! +4=374 (new vial dose?
Hi again, Tamara,
If you are approaching the end of the bottle, I think you should definitely get new insulin. Some people find that they can keep a vial/pen/cartridge going for a long time, but the manufacturer's efficacy date is 28 days from when you open it. Some other people have found that after 28 days or so, they just don't get good results and they open a new pen/vial/cartridge. Most people are somewhere between the two extremes. ECID. If you mishandled the insulin when you were starting out, you could very well have compromised it. So why not get a new supply? It's no big deal!! When starting a new container of insulin, it is usual to keep the same dose. But I see on Ella's SS that you just increased her dose this evening to .75 (from .50). Therefore, since you have only 1 day to monitor before going back to work, I think it might be prudent to go back to 0.50 (maybe a fat 0.50) if you are starting a new vial/pen/cartridge tomorrow. But if you wait until next weekend, it would be better to start the new insulin with whatever dose you are giving at that time (presumably 0.75). But do get new insulin and don't be afraid to start it!!
Ella & Rusty
p.s. My GA diabetic kitty, Stu, used the Lantus cartridges (they come 5 in a box). You can still get these in Canada and they are great (no clumsy pen apparatus to worry about--they are just small tube-like vials.). Rusty uses Levemir and I can order Lev. cartridges from a Canadian online pharmacy and they are much less expensive than buying the Lev. pens here in the US.