? 5/11 TR Jenks AMPS 315 +8 143 +10 91 PMPS 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
5/10

This is getting out of hand. It seems ridiculous to be this bouncy just a week after numbers had so much consistency.

I was planning to take him up to 4.0U. In support of that, it's clear that 3.5U isn't controlling his numbers. All it takes is one look at his spreadsheet to see that. Contradindicating that, however, is that he inexplicably went down to 43 last night.

So how long do I wait? Because if he continues to have these wild swings, waiting for them to clear could indefinitely delay the increase.
 
With that 43 for PMPS last night, who knows how low he went before that. I'd strap on the patience pants for a couple of days yet. On May 6th he had a PMPS of 65, with no mid cycles tests, then bounced? for 6 cycles then went low again.

If you do increase, I wouldn't go any more than .25U.
 
I definitely wouldn't increase his dose with that 43 last night. Keep repeating to yourself that Lantus dosing is based upon how low the dose will take the cat, not the high numbers. He may actually be needing a dose reduction if he's going lower and then bouncing.

I'd try to get some more mid-cycle tests and see if he's going lower than that.
 
Guess Jenks is telling you what he thinks of your dosecrease idea!!

Slow it down just a little Jenks....there's no hurry to get back to the lagoon....you can take more than 1 cycle to do it!!
 
He's not going lower than that. He's just reverting to the cruddy cycles he used to have.

What doesn't make any sense if why the bouncy response to the 40s here, but not two weeks ago when he would dip there and hang out several times throughout the day without so much as a daily delta of 20 points?
 
He's clearing a bounce today. See how his blood sugar went up after last night's 43? And then since the high this morning of 315, he has gone straight down tonight. This is one of those cases where the low has caused the high, and it's not that the high means that he needs more insulin. I'm guessing he was probably lower than 43 and getting so low is why he's suddenly bouncing again.

Hang in there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top