5/11 pmps 378

Status
Not open for further replies.

heidi and doodles

Active Member
Just got doodles Lantus! Excited to get going and nervous for the first shot and her great reaction :) Will work on the spreadsheet for her and continue to read the stickies :)
I gave doodles a test and she was +10.5 378 @ 4:30pm, I fed her and gave her 1u at 5pm. I then tested +4 262. She's been eating great today, not drinking like she was, more normal drinking.
I thought I would test again at midnight just to see where she is. thanx again, doodles and I are very happy girlz! Oh...the shot she got tonight was the N. The landus was not ready until
late this evening, and I thought she better get her shot. So I plan on starting tomorrow.
 
Re: New to your land :)

Hi Heidi,
Welcome to you and Doodles to Lantus Land. The best thing you could do right now is to read the stickies at the top. Then read them again. Then ask questions if you don't get something. Then read them all over again.

Set up a spreadsheet to keep track of BGs. Not just for you, but so others can see how Doodles is reacting to certain doses. Instructions are in the TECH forum.

Welcome!
 
Re: New to your land :)

Welcome Heidi!
As Cyn said, thew spreadsheet is an important tool for us here....please read the instructions about attaching the Spreadsheet to your "signature" here each time you post....
Here in Lantus Land, we each open a new "condo" (thread) each day as you will see as you read the different posts on the board.
As Cyn also said, please read the information at the to of the board page.
Those Stickys are very important and you will feel that you are overloaded it at first. :shock: It's a brutal learning curve in the beginning. But, not to worry. If I can do it, YOU can definitely do it! :mrgreen:

We post our first post in the morning and report our AMPS number....then, any questions you may have can be put in the post as well. We open one condo each day. Updates throughout the day are a good idea...you can test during the hours that are mentioned in the stickys. We try to find the nadir or peak hour of action cause ECID...each cat is different. We also link the previous day's condo to the first post of the day. I encourage yo to roam around and stop in to other condos today...just to say hi or just to read what is going on with other kitties. You will get the hang of it if you do visit other condos...there will be many questions at first..give your eyes a break frequently and don't forget to take deep breaths! we have all been in your shoes and we all understand.
Welcome to you and Doodles! :YMHUG:
 
Re: New to your land :)

Hello and welcome to LL hope you are able to get Doodles off N and on to lantus my Do Lou was on N and he did not respond well to it at all and we wasted 5 months on it. Read the stickys at the top of the page more then once they help so much I still refer back to them. How to set up a spreadsheet here is the link from above so you can begin to make one for Doodles http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=16
 
Re: New to your land :)

Hi and good morning! I am no expert, so will leave the advice and tips to others. I did however want to say welcome to Lantus Land! Great people here, caring knowledgeable people!

Welcome aboard!
 
Re: New to your land :)

Welcome to lantus land and Just to let you know, Moonie was also on N in the beginning...She responded badly to it, so off we went from it, to lantus which saved her life...Just Know!!---LANTUS IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT THAN N--No rolling the vial, no shooting insulin back into the vial, it is very fragile and no shaking the vial- refrigerate always-Shoot 12/12 hour cycles, and only change the dose AFTER you have spoken to our dosing helpers here on the board--
Just some tips before you start, so you can avoid mistakes.. :razz:
With a Name like DOODLES, we will have great fun(cutest name!!) and Doodles will improve greatly on this insulin.
We are all here to help you, you are never alone here--And we again welcome you Heidi & Doodles :mrgreen:
 
Re: New to your land :)

Hi Heidi,

Welcome to this great place! I think you'll really like it here.

Lantus is by prescription only, but Coscto has a pharmacy and so that's why you can get it there.

Hope to be seeing more of you!
 
Re: New to your land :)

hi there,

Insulin can be purchased from the pharmacy here in Canada with no need for any rx.
Where are you located, exactly?
I did not see a link to a profile, and that's another good piece of info to attach in your signature, along with your spreadsheet with all the test results.
 
Re: New to your land :)

Hi, Heidi and Doodles .. Baby & I are throwing out the Welcome Mat for you both! Lantus Land is absolutely awesome, we are all here to help you & our furbaby family is amazing!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: New to your land :)

I'll try to stop back later but to answer your question, if you are in the United States, you need a prescription for Lantus. Please ask your vet to write an Rx for Lantus pens. There are 5 pens per box. If you read the sticky at the top of the board about Lantus, you will see that there is a considerable amount of waste with Lantus vials. You will also need syringes in 0.5u markings that are calibrated for a U100 insulin.
 
Re: New to your land :)

wow thanks for all the great tips!!
Just tested +3 and she was at 254 :razz: is it normal for them to really bleed when testing? She's so good but it seems I have to hold for a sec to get the blood to stop.
I'm excited to get Doodles on lantus and become part of the family!!! heidi and doodles >"<
 
Re: New to your land :)

Hi Heidi
Welcome to Lantus.
I saw your many posts on Health, I understand that this is a confusing time with so many new things happening but right now you have too many threads going on and I don't want any information to get lost.
In lantus we have one "condo" per day, which is a thread, and any and all questions should be done through that one condo
This way all of the information regarding Doodles is kept in one place.

Here are your threads on health:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =3&t=14258
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =3&t=14229
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =3&t=14231

Could you please go over to the health board and edit your subject line to :
Moved to Lantus, this way all of your questions and replies will be kept togther.
We want to make sure you and Doodles get the attention you need and also not have the same questions ansewred in the 2 places.
You are in a great place here!!!
 
Re: New to your land :)

I'll copy my response on health here

Yes the half unit will make a difference, because N works very quickly, with Lantus you have to build up a reserve before you see the full effect of a dose. Glad she is enjoying her "feline appropriate diet" :-D

To convert lbs to kilograms divide by 2.2

8.9lbs. / 2.2= 4kg So 1unit would be a good starting dose for Lantus.

254 is a good start for +3 you may see a numer in the 100's by +4 or +5 then she will probably be going back up after that. A few cats can stay lower up to +8 but N is a shorter acting insulin so usually the curve is pretty steep and high.

When you are ready to start with lantus be sure and read all the info on the Lantus group sticky "New to Lantus" important stuff about how to store the insulin and how to measure the dose. You should also get a Rx for the correct syringes.

What you want your vet to prescribe is:

Lantus (glargine insulin) U100 5 Solorstar insulin pens @3ml each
3/10 cc U100 insulin syringes (30 units) with half unit markings- at the pharmacy have them take one out of the box to show you they should look like this Image

The little marks are the half unit. Each syringe holds total 30 units each long mark is 1 unit the small ones in between are half units.
 
Re: New to your land :)

Hi Heidi, I'm so glad you and doodles are here....and now I wish I was here instead of PZI but perhaps soon.
This is sooooo the place to be, doodles is such the cooperative little girl that I would say you hit the jackpot in getting the best possible overall health care for her cat_pet_icon
she'll probably end up healthier than she ever was pre-diagnosis.
Good Luck to both of you!
Lori and Tomtom
 
Re: New to your land :)

Ears can bleed -- especially if you poke the vein. I use a square cotton pad to staunch the blood. Others use tissue, etc. It's just like if you pricked your finger -- it bleeds -- but a little bit of pressure for a few seconds will stop the bleeding. Some folks here like to use a little bit of Neosporin with pain relief to smear on the edge of the ear. It helps to numb a little as well as help the blood to bead up. (Vasoline will do the same thing except no pain relief.) I'm a bit of a testaholic and Gabby was getting gooey ears so I stopped smearing her with stuff. She's fine with me poking her so there was no need.
 
Re: New to your land :)

Randi & Max said:
Could you please go over to the health board and edit your subject line to :
Moved to Lantus, this way all of your questions and replies will be kept togther.
We want to make sure you and Doodles get the attention you need and also not have the same questions ansewred in the 2 places.
You are in a great place here!!!

hello heidi and doodles! welcome to the group. you've already been given great advice and answers to your questions. we hope to see you posting often! i'd also like to thank randi for linking your threads on Health to your thread here. although, there's really no need to change the subject lines of your posts on Health to "moved to lantus". the more eyes and input you can get, the better... especially since you're still using N! :-D
 
Re: New to your land :)

Welcome to LL. I look forward to learning about Doodles. I think you will love Lantus. I used N too -- I love Lantus.
 
U100 5 Solorstar insulin pens?

Just spoke to Doodles vet Dr. Kristy and she is on board with the Lantus! Doodles will be her only patient on Lantus. I'm so excited to keep Dr. Kristy up on her progress!
But we have a question regarding the pens? I already have 3/10 cc U100 insulin syringes (30 units) with half unit markings- will this work?
I'm off to get the Lantus for Doodles and hope to give her her first shot tonight or should I wait and make it first thing in the morning? And will this be something I should stay
home for the first time? I've got to be out of the house for most of the day from 9am to 4pm at the latest. Here comes the newbie in me :-D thanks again heidi and doodles >"<
 
Re: New to your land :)

Heidi I just came online and so did you! I think you should quit your job and stay home and watch doodles ALL DAY LONG and even take her to the bathroom with you :lol:
Actually I don't know what the folks here will advise but I do see you have no shortage of experienced eyes on your every move.
Fantastic about the vet, you may end up educating her on the subject. Ever so politely of course. ;-)
 
Re: New to your land :)

Just getting time to stop in and say Hello and welcome to Lantus Land, Heidi and Doodles!! Spot was on N for 7 months and he didn't respond very well to it either. I'm glad you are switching to Lantus! After reading your condo, it looks like everyone else has your questions answered and everything else covered, so I'm not going to repeat!

Enjoy Lantus Land!!!!
 
Re: New to your land :)

newbie mistake :oops: I read the stickies after I posted. From what I am understanding is I can use the same needles I have?
I will make sure to ask at the pharmacy too. heidi and doodles >"<
 
Re: New to your land :)

Welcome Heidi and Doodles! You have certainly come to the right place. Just to answer your question about the syringes and the Lantus pens. YES, you can use the U-100 syringes with the pen, just stick the needle of the syringe into the rubber stopper of the pen and draw the insulin just as you would draw it from a vial. (Dont roll the pen in your hands; Lantus doesn't like to be shook up!; also, keep the pens refrigerated; the Lantus instructions say not to, but they are written for humans who shoot large doses and don't like their insulin to feel cold in their bodies; most cats use pretty small doses) Best of luck with your reading!

Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top