5/11 Mo Update - Coming home for the night!

katy and mo (GA)

Member Since 2020
Yesterday's update

Hi everyone! Guess who the N O R T Y boy was that pulled out his IV overnight? MO! He must be feeling better for him to do that. Anyway!

Everything is looking better, he's eating everything they're giving him, and they said his tummy feels better too. The only thing is that his temperature is still a bit high and they don't know if it's due to the pancreatitis or if it is stress related. We have decided together that it will be best for him to come home for the night and then we will take him back tomorrow so they can check over him and give him his meds.

I'm working night shift tonight so unfortunately I can't check up on him overnight but I'll make sure my partner does. Then I will see how he is when I get home from work about 7am tomorrow morning.

I'm so excited to bring him home!
 
Yeah, that's great news! I'm sure he'll feel better at home, maybe even eat more. Did the vet give you some meds to give at home like anti-nausea and paid meds?
 
Yeah, that's great news! I'm sure he'll feel better at home, maybe even eat more. Did the vet give you some meds to give at home like anti-nausea and paid meds?
Not today. They loaded him up on stuff before we left the vet and we will take him back tomorrow so they can give him more and hopefully then they will give them to us. He is only home tonight because he was so stressed. But he is looking so happy now. Purring his face off, eating well for a boy with pancreatitis. We are so proud of him :)
 
He's finally home! He is purring his face off and eating so well. Mo is so much more relaxed here as you can see below :p We just need to keep the house cool for his temperature. The vet has given us some high carb food but it's meant to be easier on the pancreas so i've put that in his bowl. But I also put down a side of fancy feast and he seems much more interested in that. So happy for him to be home. I think he is too ;)
 

Attachments

  • 123536037_1060940927652239_8479141430083374565_n.jpg
    123536037_1060940927652239_8479141430083374565_n.jpg
    43.7 KB · Views: 72
Thanks everyone!

My partner got his PMPS reading and he is in the low 400s. That's to be expected with him being on biscuits and having pancreatitis so I'm not worried as of yet. I'm hoping that once the pancreatitis is much better we can go back to his normal diet and focus on the diabetes again.
 
Thanks everyone :) With him being on high carb biscuits at the moment, I'm thinking about upping his insulin to 4 units to manage his diabetes a bit better. Any thoughts? Just tested him AMPS and he is 24.3/437.
 
I learned that you should also consider that the inflammation will have an impact on BG numbers right now, making them higher. So you may not want to get too overzealous with increases. I don't give dosing advice, so I'm really just saying hi and bumping your post in the hope that more people may see it.:smuggrin:
To better ensure you get some thoughts, you can always edit your title to add the question mark prefix, and then something like "should I increase dose". It will draw attention to your thread. :bighug:
 
Without more data on 3.5 units, I wouldn't increase yet. Gather data for at least a day yet on 3,5 units, then look at it again. You don’t know how low 3.5 units with a full depot gets him. Plus you had increased to 3.5 when you should have increased to 3.25 units per the protocol. 4 is too much at this point.
 
Without more data on 3.5 units, I wouldn't increase yet. Gather data for at least a day yet on 3,5 units, then look at it again. You don’t know how low 3.5 units with a full depot gets him. Plus you had increased to 3.5 when you should have increased to 3.25 units per the protocol. 4 is too much at this point.
I can't increase to 3.25 as I don't have callipers yet so it's incredibly difficult to eyeball. We have syringes that don't do half units and you can't get those in NZ. We did end up going up to 4 units but I will go back to 3.5 for the next couple of days.
 
Do you have the BD Microfine syringes? There is a paper ruler available that you can use to measure smaller units.
 
Back
Top