5/11 Merlin AMPS 416, PMPS 269,+6/71,+7/120

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/11 Merlin AMPS 416

Not impressed with that, Merlin. But it does fit the pattern of a lower cycle, then a higher one? There have been quite a few of those since he started on the 1.4
 
Re: 5/11 Merlin AMPS 416

Yes I am concern with these high numbers and it does seem to be related to this 1.4u dose. I am suppose to do a curve for the vet tomorrow and drop off the results on Tuesday. In knowing Merlin's numbers, what would you suggest to the vet? I am afraid that he will just want to up the dose again and I don't know if that would give us any better results. If dose is increased, I am guessing that it will drive up his pre-shot numbers and we still won't see any greens.

I am afraid that there are underlying problems other than the diabetes; i.e. dental problems, kidney problems, etc. So if that is the case, we won't be able to see any better numbers no matter what dose we give him.

Oh I have another question. I am assuming that most everyone here on this site uses U100 syringes. I see on their charts that they are shooting .5, .75, .1, etc. But on the conversion table, it is in increments of .2 i.e. .2, .4,.8,1.2, etc. How are they shooting those in between numbers?
 
Re: 5/11 Merlin AMPS 416

I don't know the answer to the syringe question, Cindi. Maybe post it on Health? I never used U100 syringes.

What does your vet think about Lantus? It might give Merlin smoother overall cycles. Usually it produces flatter, longer cycles, which seem like they would be what he needs. The ProZinc is working. He clearly drops and you get good midcycle numbers,but he does seem to be higher the second cycle. I don't know if more or less insulin would help at this point....
 
Re: 5/11 Merlin AMPS 416

I'm not sure about everyone who uses u100... I usually posted my numbers at .2, .4, etc. my thought is that people probably just round. If someone suggested a .25 dose to me, I went with .2. Lots of people don't use the u100s so I think most who do just speak in u40 language for convenience. Could be wrong though!
 
Re: 5/11 Merlin AMPS 416

5/11
AMPS 416; 1.4u
PMPS 269; 1.4u

Now that number is better. I hope everyone had a nice day today. Hoping for a yellow tomorrow morning. Thanks again for the replies. I think I will stick to .2, etc. Also I would like to stick with the Prozinc if I could just get a handle on his ups and downs, otherwise, I am not opposed to changing.
 
Re: 5/11 Merlin AMPS 416, PMPS 269,+6/71

5/11
AMPS 416; 1.4u
PMPS 269; 1.4u
+6 - 71
+7 - 120 (Oh, no - going up too fast)

Just when I thought a green was of the impossible and the one time I didn't test him at +5. Ugh. A greater surprise to me is that this 71 was at night? Merlin has never had a test that was in the green at night. Hope this doesn't mean that he will be bouncing tomorrow morning.
 
Did he have a snack at nadir? It's possible that a snack then could slow that rise.

He is so bouncy! We do have bouncy cats and it just takes patience. Lisa's Cassie (bookworm) bounced for a year or more but has finally settled in. You might pm her. She just held the dose steady and finally Cassie leveled out. There was an infamous cat on Lantus who bounced for 2 years, then flattened out and went OTJ.
 
Yeah he ate pretty good after midnight test and an hour afterwards when I tested him at 1am. Feeding times for yesterday and am were:
6pm - ate (pre-shot)
7pm - ate (little)
8pm - ate (little)
9:30pm - ate (little more)
midnight - test (ate)
1am - test(little)
Left some food for later on in am
6am - ate (pre-shot)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top