5/11 Max PMPS = 77 +1=63 +2.5=43 +4=79

Status
Not open for further replies.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14233


MAX!!!! You're kidding right....
My knuckles are raw, thankfully there are lots of you online....Just as I was prepared to shoot the 1.25u....his PMPS is 77. I think he will really go hypo even if I shoot 1.25....advice. I shoot at about this time, but will wait 15 min. He wolfed down a can of FF LC..
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 ...aaaaand now what?

My 2 cents - you shot 1.25 yesterday am, then raised him last night to 1.5 and shot that this am - The fact that he went below 50, will allow you to drop him to 1.25.

So - that's my suggestion, drop him to 1.25, and if you want to wait 15 minutes (don't feed) as you don't want to shoot a food spike, to see if the 77 rises, that's fine and then shoot. But looks to me like he earned a dosecrease.
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 ...aaaaand now what?

Er...I test,feed and then shoot....so we have tested and fed and are about to shoot.This is his PM preshot, by now he is ready to eat my ankles he is so hungry, he wants food or the bean gets it....so another thing I have no idea about...what is "shooting a food spike?"


EDIT: Okay so I took a deep breath and shot a 1.25...skinny (or as skinny as my half unit syringe looked like). Will now monitor...and pray.
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 ...aaaaand now what?

The protocol here is wait & stall shot to see if he will go up by 15 min-half hour, just to be sure you are not shooting a dropping number--
Cat got a dose crease yesterday, os if you are going to be home to monitor, you could do one of these 3 choices:
1- wait to see if his number goes up & if it is, you can shoot the new decreased dose
2-shoot a BCS dose, like 0.75U or 1.00, so you keep the shed filled
3-skip a shot & start over tomorrow, but his bg's will go up!
Please post bg again in15-20 min before deciding.

Sorry I just saw you shot & posted & that is great! Hopefully he will surf nicely & you wont have to worry--Someone will be here all day to help you & just have LC food , MC & HC food available if he drops. You have that right & lots of strips??
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 ...aaaaand now what?

Looks like her internet may have dumped her off again. Might be helpful to put together a post with general guidelines to help her get through the night? (if she can even get back online at all, sometimes you can get on just long enough for a page to load but then you get dumped before you can respond and get it sent, ugh I remember those days all too well) I don't feel qualified to do it myself or I would. Links might not be helpful because she might not have time to click and load before getting dumped off again, I'm thinking something more along the lines of an info dump maybe? Anyone up for that?
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 ...aaaaand now what?

Right didn't know about the protocol thingy...I will keep coming back as much as I can, so even if you see me offline, I'll check back through the next few hours.

HC Marinated Morsels FF tuna or devil's food aka kibble if all else fails = check
lots o strips = about 10, should be okay, check
sanity = gone, yes ..check

I'm checking on him every half hour. I'll test every hour, simply because testing is still an issue and I'd rather leave the every 15 min testing in an emergency, or if I see he is dropping...breathe...breathe...breathe
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 ...aaaaand now what?

Hmmm, I think you need more strips than 10.
You'll be fine, remember food is your best tool. Sounds like he is a cooperative eater too. :mrgreen:
Lantus is very very friendly with low PSs. Try to not use any dry food. It messes up the next cycle and it takes longer than wet to get into the system.
Your Max is doing fantastic. Days like this are stressful but you are learning your way around.
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 +1 63

Yup...I have a feeling I might run out of strips especially since our average is two strips per try nailbite_smile

I just want to get him through his nadir and then I'll breath. Do I put every reading in the subject line from now on?

+1 = 63

Please surf my kitty, please surf...
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 ...aaaaand now what?

Add to your subject line but in your first post of the day - otherwise it isn't visible unless someone opens your condo. Open your first post and there will be an "edit" button above the text box. Change the subject line to reflect the time (+1 etc.) and the BG test info. Then, click on submit. You will also need to add a post to your condo if you want to bump it to the top of the queue.

You will want to get at minimum at +1 and +2 test when shooting a low number. We also test frequently with low numbers -- as often as every 15 - 20 min. Is there any way someone can pick up more strips for you?
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 ...aaaaand now what?

Sienne and Gabby said:
You will want to get at minimum at +1 and +2 test when shooting a low number. We also test frequently with low numbers -- as often as every 15 - 20 min. Is there any way someone can pick up more strips for you?


Ahhh here we go again...nope. All drugstores are closed here at this time. Why do I need a +1 and a +2.I thought checking closer to +4ish (his nadir would be better). Please can someone explain.
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 +1 63

Take a look at Tugger's SS =) There were a few times where he plummeted at +1 or +2 and if I hadn't been checking who knows how low he'd have gone by true nadir...

You want to get those numbers when shooting low so you can know how to handle those hours of potential droppage. Also, not every kitty nadirs at +4-6 some don't till +8 so you want to keep testing till you have two or three rising numbers in a row (it's not counted as rising unless it's about 10% more than the last number due to variances or something, someone else will have to explain that one better than I can.)
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 +1=63 +2.5=43

hope you didn't feed him too much... you may have to do this a few times to get him past the lowest point =) How are you doing? Will you be able to stay up for a while longer?
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 +1=63 +2.5=43

Thanks for warning me...he ate about a tablespoon, but mostly licked the gravy and then didn't want anymore. He is now hiding under the bed after that last BG. He hates them and doing them so soon after each other I'm going to have a monster on my hands. I'm going to try and stay with him until +4/+5, hopefully by then he will be stable. Of course I'll just stay awake longer if I have to....

He has gone down again to the 40's tonight and god knows where to next...Does this mean another decrease?

I'm shooting a token dose tomorrow if his numbers are not at least yellow. This is too stressful when I'm around, never mind when I'm at work
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 +1=63 +2.5=43

Let's see how this goes. Ideally, you would want to check in another 20 - 30 min. You want to make sure that the HC brought the numbers up and Max doesn't keep dropping. (All the carbs are in the gravy so it's fine that he's licking that.) We encourage a cycle of test and feed (i.e., lather, rinse, repeat).

As much as Max may dislike getting tested, do what you can to help him associate testing with treats. Gabby is very patient with me because she know she either gets treats or food after a test.

As for another decrease, the numbers tonight are likely to be a result of an over filled shed. You shot 1.5 this AM and just reduced this cycle. There may still be some shed action from the previous dose. Are you home tomorrow during the day?
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 +1=63 +2.5=43

Might be all he needs is the gravy =) I usually just poured the gravy over Tugger's regular low carb food and it would bring him up nicely. Then I just fed a little bit more as needed to keep him up.

Just a suggestion but when you go to pick up more strips, I'd grab two packs. Keep one in reserve at all times and when you open that one up go buy a new one the same or next day. You might want to open the new pack and test once or twice with it and then once or twice with the old strips just to make sure the new ones are good before you run out of the old ones too. It would suck to open a new pack at ten pm only to discover they are bad and you have no more old strips to tide you over till morning.

Were you able to get any treats to help make all this testing more tolerable for Max? I know you can't get the freeze dried stuff over there (I wonder if it would be less expensive for someone here to send you some? The stuff is nearly weightless so a lot could be packed into a small box. I know it takes a while for mail but it's worth a thought anyway. I'd be willing to help out if we can find a way to work it out) but how about some deli turkey or boiled chicken or heck even rotisserie chicken if you can get it?

And lastly, have you tried explaining it all to Max? It might sound silly, but sometimes just talking to him and explaining what you're doing and why and telling him that you don't like having to do it but that in the end he really will start to feel better and then he'll see that it was all worth it. Tugger was a brat about it... till I explained OTJ Parties and the Falls and that in order to get there he had to get the pokes and sticks and all the not-great stuff first. Then I just kept telling him that he was getting closer and closer to not having to get poked all the time (especially when he'd get bratty again) and at the end I even told him daily "Only X number of pokes till your trial!" and I swear to you, that cat understood me.
 
Re: 5/11 Max PMPS = 77 +1=63 +2.5=43

Okay so I guess I'm doing this the wrong way round tonight. He ate a Tbs at about +2.5 when we got the 43. I've just been watching him, he came out from under the bed, drank quite a bit of water, and then looked down as if to say..Where's the food. I gave him another tbs at +3.5. Plan on next test to be at +4, and then take it from there.

Got you with the strips, will get 2 packs tomorrow.

((((Marvie)))) you too cute, and yes, as crazy as it sounds I have explained everything to him, apologised everytime I have to test him, and told him a million times he is being a very brave boy. I'm still having a few misses which means I have to poke twice, and that's what really sends him. I do treat...but Max is smart and he is starting to wonder if the treats are worth it.

Siene...nope I'm at work during the day and there is no one that can look after him.
 
Yes!!!! We got a 79 at +4. What a relief. Am putting down his normal LC before I got to bed, but will test one more time in about an hour to be safe, and make sure he is still climbing.
 
It is likely that 1.25 IS the right dose, but since you have to go to work in the morning, I would probably just shoot a 1u and see where he is when you get home. That'll give the shed a chance to get drained a bit, and may make it easier on you for the next round. :-D You're doing GREAT! When new kitties start to drop doses, they make their beans crazy--like I said before, my Max dropped from 2u to .5u in 5 days time--I hardly slept, I still had to work, my DH was out of town, and I was home with both kids by myself. Yes, my sanity was completely in shreds! :mrgreen:
 
Hmmm, I think you are headed down the dose ladder. I wouldn't shoot 1.25u anymore -- give the 1u a try. Yesterday, I mentioned we shoot same dose through rebound and then drop the dose. Max tells me that's not ALWAYS a great idea, thank you Max. Clearly, he isn't a kitty you want to shoot through rebound with. I'm a tad concerned about you going to bed. BG 43 this early in the cycle, bumped up to 79 by HC -- any chance you can wait to go to bed until +5.5 or +6?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top