5/11 Guinness AMPS 399|+2.5 382|+5 322|+6 338|PMPS 327

Status
Not open for further replies.

linda and guinness

Member Since 2009
Ahh, these early mornings are starting to take their toll on me... @-) Good morning all and happy Wednesday.

Today I will go out and get some Humulin R from the pharmacy to have on hand if I decided to add it to Guinness's protocol. I still am anxious to speak to my vet regarding his numbers and other possible ideas at this point. I'm not sure I will mention the addition of the Humulin R yet. From what I understand, it's a fast-acting insulin that I will administer in addition to his Lantus to give it an extra little nudge. I have to be home and available to monitor in the early test times after the shot, so I can't give it until Saturday.

Just to recap (mostly for my personal benefit), these are the things that have been ruled out with some sort of test:

Hyper-thyroid - he had numbers in the high normal range for his T4 and Free T-4 tests and was then giving a Scintography scan to rule it out. His thyroid came back as normal and functioning.

UTI/Bladder infection - a urine specimen was taken and checked for bacteria as well as a complete culture done. Negative

Pancreatitis - Told that his pancreas was slightly inflamed on ultra-sound of his abdomen. Because he has NO symptoms of pancreatitis, doctor decided to do nothing at this time. I have taken it upon myself to change his food to raw.

Enlarged Heart - Chest was x-rayed prior to dental and Dr. thought heart seemed abnormally large. Got cardiac ultra sound and although heart is big, Dr. said it was normal. Just a big hearted kitty.

Dental - Full dental was done with pre-dental x-rays. He had one tiny molar extracted and a tooth amputation (one tooth was sticking out through his gums, so it was filed down and his gum was sewn shut around it. I have to confirm with Dr. that post dental x-rays were taken, but Dr. checked him out thoroughly a week after procedure and he was given the "good-to-go."

Kidneys - numbers were normal.

As you can imagine, I'm a little tapped out financially and emotionally at this point and do not look forward to moving forward with more or repeated tests. If nothing changes, I will get the T4 and Free T4 tests done again in a couple of months.

Here is our link to yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43043

Thank you all for checking up on us and adding your thoughts, it's very much appreciated.
 
Re: 5/11 Guinness AMPS 399

Hi Linda,

I don't have any advice on the insulin/testing issues. I'm not around here very much anymore since my Max is OTJ, but I saw your kitty's name and got a big smile on my face. My dog (GA) was named Guinness, and I miss him very much, but it's nice to know we weren't the only ones that came up with that name for a pet. :-) Hugs to you on your journey of trying to help your cat...I know it's a hard road to walk.
 
Re: 5/11 Guinness AMPS 399

Good morning, Linda!! Let's hope Guinness comes down to some yellows today. I didn't know you were thinking about starting the Humulin R. I had thought that was reserved for when their numbers are off the chart and you need to reel them in. I'll be interested to see what happens if you choose to use it.

Have a great day!!!
 
Re: 5/11 Guinness AMPS 399

I hope things take a turn for the better, we will keep you in our thoughts.

I have talking to the vet anxiety too. It makes it so uncomfortable to think about. Yuck!

Hang in there.

Guinness is lucky to have such a dedicated/determined momma.
 
Re: 5/11 Guinness AMPS 399|+2.5 382|+5 322|+6 338

Linda, I just wanted to say that what you are doing for your boy, is well amazing.
I hope his numbers continue to come down for you..
Have a good night,
Me and Tommy
 
Well, vet is on vacation...hence no answer to my email. Her assistant promised to text her, but I told them not to bother her on vacation, she can get back to me next week. It's not like we are going anywhere!

Spent the afternoon making 4lbs of raw cat food and putting it into about 10 ice cube trays. What an ordeal! Keep in mind, I am a vegetarian, so handling all that chicken was, well, gross to me. It's funny when I think about the fact that the cats are the reason I became a vegetarian, and now I'm chopping up raw chicken for the cats. Ah, the cruel irony ;-) !

Picked up my Humulin R and am holding on to it for now...I'm going to wait and see how he does on this 4.5u and then 5u and then seek advice about using it. I need to go refresh myself on protocol, because I thought if he stays in the >300 numbers, I could cautiously increase his dose by .5 every 3 cycles, not every six. So, I have to decide if tomorrow morning I am going to increase his dose or wait out the six cycles.
 
I'm pretty sure it's three days, or six cycles, before an increase. I've read that protocol soooo many times, I think I could recite it in my sleep. :lol:
 
Linda, I hope the R works well for Guinness and helps him get to where the Lantus can work better. My only advice to you would be to get an expert on R to guide you as to how to give the R. It can slam down a kitty in nothing flat and I can see where it could be terribly dangerous. I'm not trying to preach scare tactics here, just passing on "Respect for the R". It has proven to be an enormous help in bringing Gus' # down. Best of luck. I'll be watching and learning.
 
linda and guinness said:
I need to go refresh myself on protocol, because I thought if he stays in the >300 numbers, I could cautiously increase his dose by .5 every 3 cycles, not every six.

"...if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU."
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

you want to hold the dose for at least four cycles before increasing by 0.5u when nadirs are greater than 300.
 
Ok, great Jill, thank you. I'm thinking then that I can increase again at tomorrow's PM? Maybe I will just wait the 3 days and increase at 6 cycles.

Bev, I've been PMing Libby and have been getting some info on the R. When I am ready, she will be here to guide me. I'm not quite ready to use it yet, I just want to have it one hand in case I decide (or the experts decide) it's time to proceed. Thanks for watching out for us!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top