5/10 Tarragon AMPS 321 QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa & Tarragon

Member Since 2011
Tarragon didn't sleep much last night. He was really jumpy and couldn't settle down. I checked his BG and it was 222. He doesn't seem to be able to relax on this dose. Does anyone have any thoughts? It looks like he is bouncing around a lot. Is that too much insulin or not enough? I am so confused but he seems so uncomfortable.

Thanks and I hope you all have a great day!
 
i don't know for sure, melissa, but i would increase his dose - i'd want more +5-6s to know. but don't go by me, wait for a dose advisor. at least this will bump up your question.
 
I can't answer your question but bumping you up and hope you get an answer soon. I know you're worried about Tarragon.

Keeping good thoughts and hoping he's alright.
 
I'm going to presume you're not at home during the weekdays to test.

How has Tarragon been in the litter box department? You started the metronidazole -- have things improved? And, are you sure this is some sort of infection? You may want to add some probiotics to Tarragon's food to see if that helps, as well.

As far as numbers, I suspect that Tarragon is bouncing off of the blues. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. It's certainly possible that what you're observing is Tarragon not being happy with being in higher numbers. It's hard to know right now what's going on if your kitty's GI track is still not settled. I would not increase the dose until you're sure the bounce has cleared.
 
Here is the link to yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42973
You say he seems "uncomfortable"....in what way is that? Just wondering.....if no one is home during the day, maybe he does all his sleeping then and is ready to party when you get home. They can turn their nights into days....just thinking out loud here. Keep an eye on him and note what Sienne suggested....hope all is well with Tarragon..
 
Hi guys .. I'm sorry to hear that tarragon isn't feeling "comfortable" lately .. It's always hard to know what to do, but Sienne has some good advice, to wait and make sure the bounce has cleared ... hope you guys have a great day!
 
I am not at home during the day. Out the door after the AM shot and in just in time for the PM shot. Hopefully, when my son gets home, I can teach him to test and he can start taking some during the day. I am worried about raising his dose with only a once a week curve.

As far at the metronidazole, the vet called last night and his fecal came back negative for parasites. His diarrhea is completely gone and he seems to be back to normal as far as that goes. He still has about 6 days of medicine. Last time the metronidazole cleared it up right away but it came back a couple of days after the last dose. I ordered some probiotics last week and should be getting them today to see if that will help with his digestion issues as well.

Uncomfortable as far as just really jumpy. You know how sometimes you just feel like you could crawl out of your skin? That is how he was acting last night. Purring, but not settled and certainly not able to relax at all. Wanting petted, but then biting at me after a few strokes.

Thank you guys! I really appreciate it. I
 
maybe he's getting used to some lower numbers and just didn't feel right in the higher numbers??

just spitballing here, as i'm surely not one of the wise ones...

hope things ease up for him, though...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top