5/10 Pumbaa AMPS/391 +6/382 PMPS/290 +4/244

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
I don't know why Pumbaa climbed into the pinks last night when he was doing so well in the yellows. Probably because I made a comment yesterday about how his numbers frequently are the lowest at night. Hahahaha!

He might still be clearing that bounce to 528 the other morning...we shall see!

C'mon yellow and blue! Pumbaa, settle down into this dose so we can decide what to do next.

Suze

Update: Okay, I still consider Pumbaa to be coming off of that 528 two days ago, and settling into this dose. I'm tempted to increase to 1.5U in the morning, but don't want to commit to this until I see his +4 reading tonight. I really don't want to increase while he's still settling into a dose, but I do want to get him to the point he needs to break this "Great Wall of Glucose" barrier, and move on to reducing his dose instead of increasing it.

Mel had some great advice about watching the carb content in the foods Pumbaa is getting, and seeing if there is an adverse reaction when he's getting more carbs. I am now working on updating Hobos-Guide-To-Nutritional-Values-In-Cat-Food, to include new ingredients even if there is old nutritional value. Thankfully, I have documents in Pumbaa's SS every day what he and Larry have been fed!

Suze
 
Re: 5/10 Pumbaa AMPS/391

Come on Pumbaa...you aren't going to let this little slip of a girl beat you to the pretty numbers now are you? Even Autumn is giving her momma prettier numbers in the morning. And Blue and Green really are more fitting a handsome man like you...pink is for girls you know!

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/10 Pumbaa AMPS/391

Mel: Wow! I just looked at Autumn's SS and she's doing great!

Except for the nasty black after the vet visit, her numbers look wonderful!!!

So, tell me, at what point did you figure out that Lantus wasn't the best insulin for Musette and make the determination to switch her to Levimir? Do you see any similarities in Pumbaa's numbers that would indicate a switch?

Suze
 
Re: 5/10 Pumbaa AMPS/391

Suze,

With Musette it was her rollercoaster ride regardless of the dose on Lantus including trying to split dose her, she would drop way down sometimes into the 30s/40s then fly all the way back up to the 400s, plus it was peaking way too early for her, her nadir alot of the time was right round +4. She just reminded me of one of those Sea Eagles I think they call them HellDivers, where they will fly really high, fold their wings and dive at the water to catch fish to zoom right back up in the sky again. It just didn't matter what I did dose wise with Musette she repeated the same pattern, incredible lows and skyhigh preshots and racing up after her nadir, it wasn't a slow down, surf, slow up...it was plummet, hit, sky rocket again.

I actually was thinking about switching her to ProZinc but figured since I had access to Levemir I would try that first just to see how she did, the change was almost overnight, she smoothed out and started the proper curve formation, with a gentle slope down to her nadir, surf, then gentle rise again.

I don't see the same thing in Pumbaa's spreadsheet, he is getting the curve formation he should have on Lantus, it just doesn't look like his dose is high enough yet. That is one thing I found with Musette is that I had to raise her dose past what I would have thought to be ideal for her to break the glucose toxicity from her not being treated correctly for several months (not as long as Autumn) because Musette's original owner was giving her insulin just not consistantly. Once I got her to break through the toxicity I had to rapidly reduce her dose again and she has done very well after that as shown by her being down to .2u in a little over a couple months of being on Levemir.

I think Lantus will work fine for Pumbaa but you may just need to crank up the dose a little bit, he has a pretty nice curve it's just too high of numbers, he isn't swinging wildly like Musette was.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/10 Pumbaa AMPS/391

Thank you, Mel, for taking the time to type all of that!

I think the key is "breaking the glucose toxicity", which we haven't done yet, that's for sure. Maybe I should be more aggressive in the dose increases instead of going slower, and just get it over with. I'll have to think about this!

I'm still learning to interpret Pumbaa's numbers, and do like the days when he has a normal curve, but don't like the days when he's erratic, and not from a bounce or new dose wonkiness.

I appreciate all of your help over the last month! I truly do!

Suze
 
Re: 5/10 Pumbaa AMPS/391

One thing that might help make a little more sense out of his numbers is to keep really good notes on what flavor and type of food as well as carb content of that food and then play around with that some. It was actually odd with Maxwell I found he did better with slightly higher carb count than he did with the lower...if I would feed him say 3% carbs he would give me higher numbers than if I fed say 7% carbs, it was almost like his liver went into panic mode if the carbs were too low.

With Musette it didn't make a lick of difference, but with Maxwell it did. He still does better overall on slightly higher carbs than lower, he has more energy and plays more on between 7-8% carbs than on 3-4% carbs.

You can also play around with when you feed and how much...Musette is better when I feed her at amps & +4 but unfortunately the rest of the Fur Gang doesn't do well on that schedule and will be back demanding to be fed in another 4 hours, and since Musette is a social eater (she likes company at mealtimes) it doesn't work to feed her seperately plus I would lose limbs if I fixed a dish of food and not feed everyone. :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 5/10 Pumbaa AMPS/391 +6/382 PMPS/290 ???

Mel, I have documented what food Pumbaa and Larry are getting daily in my SS. Now am working on adding the KCal values so that I can pay attention to this, as you recommended. Thank you! I'll be adding protein/fat/carbs to every entry, when I have the data.

:) Maybe that will cause me to be able to make better sense of Pumbaa's numbers!

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top