5/10 Lucian AMPS 382,+3.25/360,+6/454,+10/259,PMPS 363

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/10 Lucian AMPS 382

he's cleared the bounce on the 4th cycle after being green the last couple of times.
let's hope that's what we'll see today. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/10 Lucian AMPS 382

Yeah, I noticed for the past week or so, he's hit green about every 4th cycle. Closest thing I've seen to a pattern yet. But it's hard for me to see, I guess.

I understand ECID, but will he quit the bouncing eventually? Do most kitties stop doing that? I realize Lucian is NOT most kitties, never has been in any form, but just wondered. Bouncing from 60 to 600+ must be hard on their health. Is that any better for them than to stay at 400? So much goes thru my pea brain. I am so worried about him and the way he reacts/or doesn't to his insulin. I am SO grateful, even with all the 600+ he's had, still no ketones. I still test at least a couple times a week, more if he hits 500 or higher.

His numbers may not show it, but his appearance is much better. He has regained most of the lost weight, you can tell you're picking him up now, whereas before, you hardly knew you had anything in your hand. Takes both hands now. :-D His fur is starting to show a little sheen to it, not as dull as it was ( although that could be the neosporin working it's way down :lol: ) and he's not as dry and flakey. His personality is much closer to pre-diabetic, he is back to being his VERY vocal self, he's affectionate and wants in the bed all the time, where he spent months by the water bowl, under the table.
So although his numbers aren't where they should be, he seems a lot more like my Lucian now. If I could just get the numbers where they need to be..............
 
Re: 5/10 Lucian AMPS 382

Sometimes you just have to go on how they are acting when the numbers aren't nice to see.

At least the old Lucian is showing up now.
 
Re: 5/10 Lucian AMPS 382,+3.25/360

I'm thankful for even the smallest improvements. His health is what worries me. You'd be surprised how many people have said I should have put him down when he was dx'd, but I felt it only fair to try to help him. He's 14+, he still have many years if I can help him. Cats live much longer now days. And you don't 'put down' a human that gets DX'd with diabetes. Some people really pi$$ me off. :evil: It's so sad that everyone doesn't see pets as living, breathing family members, but only as possessions. Sorry, I'll get off my soapbox. :sad:
 
Re: 5/10 Lucian AMPS 382,+3.25/360,+6/454

454!?!? WHY? Anything other than the generic NDW?? Makes no sense, why would he jump like that at a time when he should be nadir'ing? The only thing I know that may cause it, is a dose too high and that can't be it, been there done that. :cry:
 
Re: 5/10 Lucian AMPS 382,+3.25/360,+6/454

nckitties3 said:
I understand ECID, but will he quit the bouncing eventually?
i don't know.

some kitties bounce until they don't. others have continued to bounce for years. from what i've seen on this board over the years, the most successful method of ending bounces is to keep showing kitty the green... if kitty has been brought up the dosing scale honestly (in increments of 0.25u or 0.5u, whichever is appropriate for the data collected). once kitty's body becomes accustomed to being in normal numbers, he'll no longer panic and release counterregulatory hormones into the body. that's when the bouncing will cease.


nckitties3 said:
454!?!? WHY? Anything other than the generic NDW?? Makes no sense, why would he jump like that at a time when he should be nadir'ing? The only thing I know that may cause it, is a dose too high and that can't be it, been there done that. :cry:
you're right. the dose isn't too high and you do know that because you have been there... done that. too often caregivers will assume the dose is too high when they see red and take a reduction. if kitty has come up the dosing scale properly, kitty is not over dose. in most cases, reducing the dose will only result in higher numbers. this creates a situation where it can take weeks or even months to get back to where you were before taking the reduction... wasting your time, energy, and finances... not to mention the possible strain on kitty's body by opening the door to glucose toxicity setting in and/or setting the stage for ketones to develop.

there are a few reasonable/logical explanations to "why" lucian threw red today...

  • the depot from the higher dose(s) has diminished (remember there was residual depot action working with the 1.75u dose to help pull his numbers down. now the residual action is gone and the full effect of the new 2u dose has yet to be seen (cumulative action).
  • or you're seeing a high before a break. some kitties throw a random high number before a break.
  • new dose wonkiness (NDW): "Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."
    http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

only lucian knows and he ain't talking.

ignore the red. what you want to focus on next is seeing what the 2u dose can do. because the action of lantus is cumulative (each dose builds upon the next), it'll take a few more cycles to see the full effects of a 2u dose.


hang in there! you're going in the right direction...
 
Re: 5/10 Lucian AMPS 382,+3.25/360,+6/454,+10/259

It just keeps getting weirder. :o

Thank you Jill, I appreciate the info. I just get so frustrated. :sad: Keeping my fingers crossed it's just NDW and nothing crazy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top