5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +7 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

Morning Lantus Land -
We continue on our Specialized Shooting Plan for Lanky. For this AMPS early shoot (+11), I also increased the dose by a drop or approximately 0.25u, Total Dose = 5.75 units. Let's see if that gets us thru the yellows & outta that putrid pink. I noted in yesterday's condo that Lanky threw-up just prior to the PMPS. By early afternoon however, Lanky perked up & was behaving much more like his regular self. Ever since that episode, he has been absolutely voracious in his appetite. He is very demanding, even unsuccessfully trying to break into the pantry but caught red-handed. So the attack was foiled in the making. As a result though, I've served more food (meals & snacks) than normal and he has eaten more than normal. And, he is not full yet! Not sure how this is impacting BG #'s but wanted to mention it.

I think we are making progress albeit slowly. General Noisy's words of wisdom to Lanky are: Soldier on, Private! So, let's see what these changes bring us today!

Hope everyone has a good day.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286

Hi Susan,

Hope Lanky will be singing the blues for you today. :smile:

Glad hes feeling more like himself and your making progress.

Have a good day.

jan and sara
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286

Hmmm, those flat pinks again. I am thinking the PM cycle should be at +11 with same new dose of 5.75u? When or why would we shoot +10? If that is a better option it would be in a 1.5 hours.

D- what are the numbers telling you?
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286

The numbers are telling me that the pink is temporarily winning this battle. Bigger guns is what we need -- the increase in dose is one of those guns.
Yes, keep 5.75u. BTW, when I said to add a drop I was thinking 0.1u, I was not clear about that but am glad you increased 0.25u.

I've been going about this somewhat cautiously because I didn't want to risk pushing him too hard. I think it is time to push harder. The pinks are creeping over our the improvement that had been made. That is what happens with (stuck) pinks they creep back in if a crack is left in the wall -- the way out of that is too pound them back.

You just raised the dose so +11 is in order. If you want to push really hard we might consider a +10 tonight.
It is up to you how hard you want to go. I'll be by your side and I do not feel like there is a risk as long as you are there to pop his numbers up when needed. In other words, I'm perfectly happy to pound away harder.

He's hungry cause he is in the pink -- food is not absorbing into the body as well. When numbers are like this I'm inclined to let him eat all he wants as long as it is LC food.

ETA: Don't know if I was clear. Shoot +11 this cycle and keep the 5.75u.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286

Another sneaky thing about the pinks (we need a special name for this kind of pink) anyway, the sneaky pinks -- you raise the dose and then they try to fool you into thinking mission accomplished, they sit back for a cycle or two and then make their move forward -- like in a real battle. What I like to do is -- the minute we get the momentum back, like we had on 5/6* -- we get relentless, stay vigilant, don't give them a chance to come sneaking back in.

*couldn't push harder then because we were getting/learning the lay of the land. Now we have some history and can push harder.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286

I am ready to do a little pounding on putrid pink. So let's do the +10. That will be 8am California time & s/b 11am DC time. I am here all day to test and respond as necessary.
ETA: Protocol should/will be +11 @ 5.75 units.
Thanks for clarifying about the dose amount. I get the 0.25, half way between the 0.5 black markers on the syringe. But that drop or .1 requires a little more fineness. I need some technique tips on measuring the micro amounts. I already utilized the previous very valuable tip of drawing more than current dose into syringe then twisting & backing off the plunger until correct dose is reached. This, of course, is done after any bubbles are tapped out of the way. But would a .1 be equivalent to a "fat" one, ie just over the black line on the fat side? I tried backing off drops but once the drop is on the needle tip it doesn't do me much good. I am going to practice with a syringe & water while waiting for tips by counting how many drops I get in a 0.5 unit. Then I'll know (theoretically) how many drops to back off leaving just one inside the syringe for when the time comes again that I need a micro dose.

PS - Yesterday's PMPS dose increase may have been just slightly lighter than .25. I was adjusting in the moment & having a very difficult time. Question: once a drop is extruded onto the needed tip, can it be drawn back in with any accuracy? Is it even wise to consider doing this? I know you should never allow insulin back into a cartridge or pen once it has been drawn out, but what about the syringe & needle tip situation?
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286

I don't think you should do a +10 this cycle -- that should be a +11. We need to see what the accumulation of the previous +11s coupled with last night's increase does before the next +10. It's hard to know AM and PM, isn't it? Have we switched over yet -- I remember with Noisy being confused.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286

sehjak (Susan & Lanky) said:
I am ready to do a little pounding on putrid pink. So let's do the +10. That will be 8am California time & s/b 11am DC time. I am here all day to test and respond as necessary.
ETA: Protocol should/will be +11 @ 5.75 units.
Thanks for clarifying about the dose amount. I get the 0.25, half way between the 0.5 black markers on the syringe. But that drop or .1 requires a little more fineness. I need some technique tips on measuring the micro amounts. I already utilized the previous very valuable tip of drawing more than current dose into syringe then twisting & backing off the plunger until correct dose is reached. This, of course, is done after any bubbles are tapped out of the way.

I used to draw up about three extra units, flick very hard one time, turn plunger clockwise as I expelled the excess and measured.


But would a .1 be equivalent to a "fat" one, ie just over the black line on the fat side?
Basically, yes. Each persons measurement is likely different, looking for consistency more than anything else.

I tried backing off drops but once the drop is on the needle tip it doesn't do me much good. I am going to practice with a syringe & water while waiting for tips by counting how many drops I get in a 0.5 unit. Then I'll know (theoretically) how many drops to back off leaving just one inside the syringe for when the time comes again that I need a micro dose.

PS - Yesterday's PMPS dose increase may have been just slightly lighter than .25. I was adjusting in the moment & having a very difficult time. Question: once a drop is extruded onto the needed tip, can it be drawn back in with any accuracy?

I never drew insulin back into the syringe, I don't think you could have accuracy but then again I never did it. I also don't think it is a good idea because it hit air -- I don't know if that matters but....

Is it even wise to consider doing this? I know you should never allow insulin back into a cartridge or pen once it has been drawn out, but what about the syringe & needle tip situation?

Drop sizes vary:


dosage%20drops.jpg
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286

Yes, I corrected the plan to +11 and yes again, this is very confusing with the time. I've tried to clarify on the SS & have added notes to help me stay accurate & others to understand when viewing. If anybody has questions, please ask so I can figure out how to represent what we are doing without ambiguity. When I get back to my 6AM/6PM normal BID schedule, I was going to swap AMPS for PMPS notations for that is when we will have completed a 12 hour shift brought about by the early shooting. Always open to ideas to make this better so comment away.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286

I drove myself crazy until I did your plan -- just switch their name to AM/PM.
It wasn't hard until you try to explain it to someone else that you are shooting an AM dose in the PM.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286

Before I forget, when he gets back to better numbers then a feeding plan can help. Another of the guns is food -- we'll use food at optimum times for keeping the numbers down. Right now he's not getting all of the nutrition so he can eat all he wants -- unless he's a total piggy/hoover then some momma control should be used.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286

Just saw the +10 322. Looking like a good setup unless he pulls his lil' jaunt into the red.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344

OK now, here we go. PMPS on Specialized Shoot Plan is +11 or 9AM California time. Dose given: 5.75 units.

Again, Lanky is pretty "normal" except for the ravenous hunger. He tried to beat down the kitchen door to the back porch but because it's raining and because I didn't want him eating grass, throwing up & zooming into the reds on BG, I ignored the ruckus. Isn't is amazing how persistent and undaunted by the word "No" these little critters can be? There is a good life's lesson in here for all of us: Keep on keeping on & expect the outcome you want!" They usually do get too, don't they?
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344

I learn all my good things from cats.

I can't imagine that we won't see a little action today.
p.s. You used red on his PS 344. ;-) I know you don't want red.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344

Saw the +3 BG222, give him a little LC snack here. No worries, just want to keep things smooth so he doesn't bounce as hard.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344

I think I can say with fair confidence he will not be getting a +10 tonight.
We are balancing several things.
Dose increase is on it's 2nd cycle, can take 6 cycles to show it's full potential.
He has had 4 cycles of +11 shots, that has carryover built up.
I think he has a tendency to bounce. We'll know that better soon.
Glucose toxicity (stuck pinks)

By feeding the +3 BG 222 we are attempting to smooth the ride down, if that is where he is going, we are also trying to show him lower numbers slowly -- to try and head off a bounce. A cat can bounce from a fast drop, it doesn't have to be a low number. The liver equates fast to danger and releases counter regulatory hormones (sugar).

The +4 "might" be another snack time, If number is still yellow then no -- don't need a snack.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +4 154

Tell me the carb content of the foods you have.
Want to try a 8-10% at this +4.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +4 154

We'd like to keep him blue but green may be on the way.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +4 154

Wellness pouch 9% & 11%

Fancy Feast 2-4%
Friskies 14%, 5-4%
Royal Canin 7-8% ETA- 8 & 11%

ETA: Friskine Hi carb @ 18%
Fancy Feast Grilled: beef feast in Gravy & tender beef & liver in gravy @ 18%
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +4.5 139

Shall I give Lanky Wellness pouch @ 9%...turkey & duck recipe

ETA: served ~ 1T w/ juice -- eaten, taking a bath now.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +4.5 139

Pouch isn't dry is it? No dry. I don't know Wellness pouch.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +4.5 139

It is Wellness Healthy Indulgence - moist nuggets in gravy
Turkey & duck recipe
37% protein
54% fat
9% carbs
73 cal per 3 oz pouch
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +5 112

OK, good. Did he eat? Will take a little for the food to show up (20-30 minutes) You'll be wanting to give a couple of spoons at a time while we do the feed the curve thing. We probably won't stop him going green but at this point I think he'll bounce anyway so let's enjoy the green if it comes. Very nice.

ETA: I just realized you haven't slept have you? If he goes pink, from the bounce, I want you to sleep you won't need to test him.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +5 112

I was just thinking: no stinky, sneaky pinky today...

Yes, good boy has eaten, would eat more but I just gave a short Tablespoon with a little H2O mixed in. He seems to be enjoying the snacks immensely.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +5 112

Adorable! I love that.
You could still see pink today, he's going to bounce. We really have to stay on top of this cause those stuck pinks can be relentless until the body gets a good distance from them.

I'm doing some chores but will check in about every 15 minutes.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +5 112

+5.5 BG = 116

We may have caught the dive. Lanky just came to the kitchen for more snacks. What do you think?
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +5 112

No, not snacksus time yet. We don't know if there is more bumping up to come, from the snack he had. Noisy was slow to bump up -- depends on the kitty.
See how nicely the food smooths things out? Using food is the greatest tool outside of the insulin (IMO).
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +5 112

You should see the sad eyes he is giving me, no snacksus you say? Lanky is laying-in-wait for the go-ahead signal.

What does IMO mean?
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +5 112

In my opinion (IMO).
It is fantastic that he is a cooperative eater -- that is a real blessing for you.

I wanted to mention some food tips.
18% is good when you are early in the cycle and he's dropping fast. I don't like using 18% later in the cycle unless you want to put a stop in place. IMO, karo should only be used if you see hypo symptoms -- otherwise reach for 18%. Noisy popped right back from BG 23 after a spoonful of 18%.
Some people will make an MC version (medium carb) I'm not sure of the recipe for that but I imagine it is 13%-18% mixed in with LC.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +6 101

Whenever he is do for a regular feeding you can do that -- we don't need to withhold his regular eating habits.
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +6 101

+6.5 108

Re feeding: breakfast & dinner have been traveling around with the shoot schedule, main 2 meals just after BG test & just before AM/PM shoot with varying degrees of snacks in between. Remember we WERE a household where the dry kibble smorgie board was free fed 24/7 (oh, that is so mortifying to admit to now).
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +4 94

+7 94 Lantus Land - Lanky has never experienced green before.

D - snacksus time again? LC or 8/9%?
 
Re: 5/10 Lanky AMPS (+11) 286; PMPS (+11) 344; +4 94

CONGRATULATIONS on your first green!!!!
You can give him another snacksus.
Are you ok? Not scared are you? He's fine you know.
 
Oh no, Lanky told me this is much, much better. It's like getting the giant gopher in the back yard that has been terrorizing him for years!

Thanks for the well-wishes. We hope this is just the start of good things to come!
 
For three hours he has basically been flat -- 22 pt variation. In 7 hours the biggest point spread is 220, that's a pretty smooth ride considering all that is going on. That was the food, without those feedings it wouldn't have been so smooth.

ETA: I hate to say this but a little bounce would be good for you tonight, I'm worried you are not sleeping enough.
 
I am running a bit on adrenaline. I figured out how to meditate/totally relax, fall to sleep for 1-2 hour, & wake up with the alarm. I have even beat the alarm clock a couple of times. This investment is so worth the possible outcome. And as so many of you know, it is quite a roller coaster ride.

So what/when can we expect from a bounce & what are you thinking for the upcoming cycle?

PS D - Lanky just nick-named you The Magician! He sends his love.
 
He'll be getting a +12 tonight :mrgreen: . I'm glad about that because we can don't have use up one of our +11 hours, can save it for the next needed time, gives us a little longer time before returning to the 6/6 schedule.

Sometimes it takes a little while for the bounce to show up, then it can stick around for a few days. We'll plow through that too (carefully). What you are doing, the trip around the clock, the feeding the curve, the not sleeping, is really hard. You put your heart and soul into helping him. Sometimes, I think they know that and the intense focus helps them get better. You are very right, the end result makes this hard work so worth it.

P.S. I'm no magician, everything I know I learned here -- from some very amazing people --but do tell him thank you and I send my love back at him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top