5/10 Duriel AMPS 338, +6 236, PMPS 193

Status
Not open for further replies.

Durielle

Member Since 2012
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB//viewtopic.php?f=9&t=94884

I have been doing spot checks on Durie, to see when she reaches nadir and her level. Will keep doing checks over the next few days. I remember being given this advice about dose change... "usually wait 6-10 cycles depending on the BG levels before making a change... so wait it out and dont worry.. (Link to protocol : viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581)."

I am counting this am's shot as #1 of 6. If by #6 Durie is still nadir in the high-blues or more, I will increase by .25 and keep checking.
 
Re: 5/10 Duriel AMPS 338, +6 236

Hi guys .. pretty sure I haven't been to duriel's condo before so welcome from us! I don't have any advice as far as holding doses go but I am sure others will be along soon to help answer any questions you have .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 5/10 Duriel AMPS 338, +6 236

There are a few more specifics regarding the timing of a dose change:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Since it looks like Durie's nadirs are in the 200s, you want to hold the dose for6/cycles 3 days. Personally, I think you've been at this dose long enough that you can increase at any time.

If you're not following Tight Regulation and instead, you're using the Start Low Go Slow approach, you would hold the dose for roughly a week. I'd suggest you consider not holding a dose for much longer than than since you end up risking glucose toxicity building up. This makes it harder to get the numbers to come down since a kitty's body begins to acclimate to higher BG levels.
 
Re: 5/10 Duriel AMPS 338, +6 236

Thanks Sienne and Gabby. I'm glad to hear your suggestion: I have been careful, because I decreased Durie's food a bit over a week ago (she had started to get chubby, and was leaving about 1/5 of her food uneaten, so I cut it back by 1/5). She isn't coming down to mid or low 100s during nadir, so I will increase dose by .25 tonight (and monitor over the weekend). Thank you!

Also thanks and Happy weekend to PeterDevonMocha!
 
Upped dose to .75unit per shot. Will monitor over the weekend. I shoot at 4:45am and 4:45pm... it's a household with 6 cats (3 foster, 3 of my own), and it's a civil war unless I feed at those exact times. The nice thing is, they don't beg for food at any other time :) Something about the early morning and early evening seems to suit all their bio-rhythms.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top