5/10 Dimi - +10 56, +11 40/67*, PMPS 75*, +2 70*, +3 88*

Are you double checking the lows like that 53 with an ear prick? If accurate I would feed mc. With green amps I would continue to hold the dose and try to prevent a drop under 50 with mc. If accurate there’s no room to increase.
 
Looks like he answered your question with that 53 at +1. You would hold the dose since you are seeing nadirs in the 50s.
Feed a little HC since it is early in the cycle.
 
Thanks so much for your responses @tiffmaxee and @Bandit's Mom. I had one meeting after an other, so wasn't able to double check w/an ear prick this am. I watched him out of the corner of my eye, and he seemed to be fine, and I also felt reassured by the fact that the Libre consistently reads lower than the ReliOn. Though they do say the interstitial fluid, which is what the Libre measures, tends to run about 15 minutes or so behind BG, so it is possible that he did dip that low at some point.
 
With TR you reduce if under 50. If you do reduce it would be to 1.25. I would not reduce to1.0. Let’s see his pmps. Generally if you shoot low you will have a flat cycle.
 
Are you following TR? If yes, hold the dose. If following SLGS, you would go own to 1.25 units. If I had a dollar for every vet that wanted people to reduce before the reduction was earned..... followed by reduction failing. We dose based primarily on nadirs, not on preshots.

The other way to earn a reduction at this point is one week in mostly green. 13 cycles more to go. :D
 
Are you following TR? If yes, hold the dose. If following SLGS, you would go own to 1.25 units. If I had a dollar for every vet that wanted people to reduce before the reduction was earned..... followed by reduction failing. We dose based primarily on nadirs, not on preshots.

The other way to earn a reduction at this point is one week in mostly green. 13 cycles more to go. :D

Yes, following TR. Ugh, wish I didn't answer the phone when my Vet called. Then I could claim ignorance instead of blatantly defying her guidance.:eek:
 
Does your vet have live access to your spreadsheet? Are they on board with you following TR?

She doesn't have access to my spreadsheet, but she does receive my Libre data in real time. She did tell me that cats who are tightly regulated have the greatest chance of going into remission, but I don't know if she is familiar with FDMB, or the TR protocol.
 
what a beautiful cycle! Look at that green streak! shoot low to stay low, they say. Worked for Hendrick that's for sure

I just shot a 70, just now. My vet says "do this dose" and I just nod my head and smile and say I'm following Tight Regulation. But of course it depends on your relationship with your vet -- mine basically admitted we are handling Hendrick's care better than she can from afar.
 
what a beautiful cycle! Look at that green streak! shoot low to stay low, they say. Worked for Hendrick that's for sure

I just shot a 70, just now. My vet says "do this dose" and I just nod my head and smile and say I'm following Tight Regulation. But of course it depends on your relationship with your vet -- mine basically admitted we are handling Hendrick's care better than she can from afar.

Thanks, as always, for the encouragement! My regular vet was a disaster, started him on 3 units of Vetsulin at diagnosis, and didn't recognize that he was in DKA. After a hospital stay, and several weeks of no improvement, I switched to an Internal Medicine Specialist who specializes in diabetes and thyroid. She immediately admitted him for his second hospital stay for DKA (at a different hospital), kept him there until he was well, and switched him to Lantus. She's actually really great, and I do trust her, that's why I feel bad defying her guidance. However, I've seen so many examples of success here following TR (Hendrick at the top of my list!), that I'm more inclined to follow the advice provided here.
 
Sometimes Lantus cats will do a double dip, where they have a second downward dip at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main cycle. Let's see what PMPS is.
 
Sometimes Lantus cats will do a double dip, where they have a second downward dip at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main cycle. Let's see what PMPS is.

PMPS was LO on the Libre and 75 on the ReliOn. He always seems to dip around shot time. I gave him his regular dose of 1.5 units. Hope that was the right thing to do.
 
Back
Top