5/10 CRYSTAL AMPS 313 (gave R) +6 250 +10 259 Gave R PMPS 286 +2 286 +5.5 259 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

5/10 CRYSTAL AMPS 313 (gave R) +6 250 +10 259 Gave R PMPS 286 +2 286 +5.5 259

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member since 2014
yesterday

Happy Sunday to all,

Well Crystal continues to confound me, and quite a few others as well, with her resistance to the R yesterday. Gave her 2.5uR this morning and she is coming down, slowly, hope to perhaps see blue at some stage. My worry is that all of a sudden all the R she has had over the last couple of days will kick in and she will dive, wouldn't put it past the little minx. Anyway, around today watching the last day of the horse eventing on TV so have plenty of time to monitor her progress, or not.

Beautiful bright and sunny day here with not a cloud in the sky. Perfect cat day, not bad for the beans either.

Vines and wishes to all in need.
 
Glad to hear the R is working for Crystal today. It seems like these kitties are always throwing us a curve. Just when you think you got it figured out they change it up.
 
R doesn't have a depot, so it won't be doing anything after about 4-5 hours; no cumulative effects. Other things may be causing the unusual numbers.
 
Thanks BJ for clarifying about the depot, strange behaviour of late, at a loss as to know what to do to bring her down. 259 at +10 so gave her another dose of R, 2.5u. half an hour to PS.
 
R doesn't have a depot, so it won't be doing anything after about 4-5 hours; no cumulative effects
True that R doesn't have a depot, but with IAA (which we suspect Crystal has), there can be a delay in action. The antibodies can bind to the insulin and release it later. However, it's not like it'll all release at once.

Crystal might have been thinking of an all pink cycle, you might have prevented that with R. I'm glad things were otherwise a perfect cat day.:)
 
I was wondering if she was becoming resistant to the R. Would you keep upping the R dose to get breakthrough the way you do with the basal insulin?
 
@Wendy&Neko @BJM I must admit I'm disappointed that we aren't seeing better numbers with the R, what worked before doesn't seem to work over the last couple of cycles. I too was wondering if she is becoming resistant to the R as it hardly seems to have an effect now, whether that is due to the absorption at the site of the injection (scruff), whether the R has gone "off" (unlikely) or it is working and, like Wendy says, she might have been sky high without it. I just don't know how to proceed any more, just keep plugging away and hope that we get a breakthrough I suppose. I have got my scale of R to administer according to the PS, but it just doesn't seem to be working. She seems okay in herself, it's been very hot today so all 4 cats have been very lazy and sleepy but her appy is good. Any thoughts anyone?
 
One thing I will say about R is that it doesn't always produce the same effect. If you look at Gracie's SS or even Alex's 2013 SS you'll see that sometimes it works perfectly, sometimes, it drops them too fast, and sometimes it has no effect at all even if it has worked well in the past. I've given it to Gracie and she's actually gone up instead of coming down.

I don't know the reason but I suspect it can be for the same variety of reasons why the basal insulin might not work as well from time to time.....absorption is a big one that comes to mind. If you are shooting in the same spot in the scruff, that could contribute to the issue as well.

At one time, Gracie developed a fatty deposit and I had to vary the shot site from that area which is why I now shoot basal insulin in three alternating spots. Of course, with R, I never shoot anywhere but the scruff but I do move it around to the outer left, outer right, middle, up higher a bit towards her head, and then back a little over her shoulder blades.

The issue could also be with the basal insulin dose. If you look at Cobb's SS, you will see that sometimes he didn't do much with the R and Suzanne either raised the R dose or the levemir dose.

Crystal did well on 52u bid recently so you could give her a couple more cycles and increase the R a bit and if that doesn't work, increase the Levemir. How does that sound?

Edited to add: when you shoot new areas around the scruff with R, be super vigilant as she might absorb the R faster than she has been if the old area is thickened a bit.
 
Last edited:
Hi Marje, thanks for looking in and offering your insight on Crystal's SS. It sounds as if the problem with R isn't only unique to Crystal, I was beginning to think it was something that I was doing, or not doing, that was causing the problem. I'll try moving around the scruff a bit more with the R but the problem I have is that I can only shoot the Lev on her shoulder area, any lower down and she can turn round and bite me and because it's such a big dose over 2 needles, it's not a case of a quick in and out with the shot. Therefore her whole shoulder and neck area is now generally thickened, giving her a slightly odd appearence, like she has padded shoulders. I will try again to move the Lev site, perhaps wearing gloves this time, and try her flank. I've upped the R at this morning's PS to 3u to see if that has an effect. I think, for me, it wil be easier to increase the R rather than the Lev purely because I'm going through a new Lev pen every three days so it's hugely expensive, but I have a good supply of the R. However, if it takes a Lev increase to shift her, I'll go with it. I'm just going to check out the SS you recommended looking at. Thanks again Marje, great to see you.

Bron and Marilyn, thanks for your good vines, hope they work this time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top