5/10 Charlie 408 AMPS, 452 @ +1, 388 @ +2, 282 @ +4, 241 @ +6

Katy and Charlie

Active Member
Yesterday's post

Need some help this morning. I have not shot yet this morning because Charlie is not feeling well and not eating. Charlie threw up several times over night. This morning I could tell he was going to throw up again but thought he needed some food in his stomach so I gave him a churu treat and he just threw it all up. He isn't showing any interest in breakfast. Ketones are slightly more elevated than they have been, they are 0.4 mmol/L. I have to be to work in two hours. I hate seeing him like this. :arghh:
 
A bigger increase might be needed where I haven't seen his numbers go below 400 at all lately. It just seems so strange when we were lowering the dose just a week or two ago!

I'm mixing wet food with water and syringe feeding him. Hopefully he will keep it down.
 
That's good! What is his puke like?

Do you have any Ondansetron or Cerenia?

Did you give him his shot?

Puke is very liquidy. Since he threw up over night, a lot of the puke I found seemed like stomach bile. Like he throw up all that was in his stomach. Yellow in color.

I don't have either Ondansetron or Cerenia unfortunately.

No shot yet cause he's barely eaten. Should I do it?
 
I've got him to take a couple tablespoons of wet food with water. I'm going to shot the same dose as it hasn't been 3 days quite yet since our last increase.

I wish I could stay home today but I have a coworker off getting surgery and I feel like I can't. But I'll try to come home every few hours and check on him.
 
His nadirs has been over 300 for the last 3 days. If it stays that way today, you want to take a 0.5U increase to 2.25U tomorrow.

Sounds good. Thanks for being here for me! I've given him a little bit more wet food. I was just about to write hopefully he keeps it down..... but he just barfed it all up. Twice in a row. It was a lot.
 
Sorry I wasn’t around earlier.
Can you get some ondansetron from the vet today?
I’m glad you shot the full dose. Can you give him more food when you come home to check him later?
Ketones 0.4 is ok but I’m concerned he is not well, not wanting to eat and lethargic.
Keep an eye on the ketones.
 
Since you don’t have ondansetron or Cerenia, do you perhaps have famotidine (brand name Pepcid A/C)? That might also settle the stomach in a pinch. It’s available over the counter at most stores/pharmacies. You’d want to give 1/4 of a 10mg pill (so 2.5mg).

edited to add: make sure it’s Pepcid A/C and *not* Pepcid Complete.
 
I can call the vet as soon as they open in an hour and see what I can get. I don't have any pepcid here. Just tums or mylanta

I'm supposed to be to work in an hour but I haven't even gotten ready. I'm crying and I'm a mess. So I'm texting my boss to see what our options are.

I really don't want to leave him but I might have to. He's just resting for now.
 
Just got off the phone with the vet. They won't just give me the prescription, I have to take him in. So I'm going in about 45 minutes and they'll give him a shot of Cerenia. Before I called the vet, he woke up and started meowing. I thought maybe he'd want more food so I did more syringe feeding. Noooooope. Instantly barfed it up. It was a decent amount with a little bit of food and a lot of liquid. Slightly yellow. I've seen him at the water bowl this morning.
 
Just got off the phone with the vet. They won't just give me the prescription, I have to take him in. So I'm going in about 45 minutes and they'll give him a shot of Cerenia. Before I called the vet, he woke up and started meowing. I thought maybe he'd want more food so I did more syringe feeding. Noooooope. Instantly barfed it up. It was a decent amount with a little bit of food and a lot of liquid. Slightly yellow. I've seen him at the water bowl this morning.
How frustrating, but if he’s vomited, it’s probably a good idea to get the injection. I hope the vet checks him over too.
Maybe get the vet to do an fPLspec to check for pancreatitis.
 
It’s good you are taking him to the vet . Make sure you get cerenia pills to give at home and ondansetron or an RX for it. Try and get more than they likely will give you because vets often do not give a high enough dose of either even though both are quite safe. :bighug::bighug:
 
About to leave for the vet soon. 388 @ +2 which is the first pink I've seen in a while. He's coming down.

We'll see what the vet is willing to give me. They seemed a little stingy about it over the phone. I'll update you guys! Thanks for all the support this morning. Me and Charlie appreciate it!! :bighug:
 
oh no Charlie! so sorry to see this I hope he bounces back soon. It is so tough when that little pancreas seems to sputter and come back to life a bit, numbers start going down fast, and then it is like it takes a break and reverses course! I've seen it happen many times. Up and down and then hopefully staying good eventually! :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi everybody! What a wild day so far. The vet ran a full blood panel, I'll try to post those results later today, I've just had a busy morning. The only thing he really had to say about the blood work was that potassium and chloride were low and he was worried we were heading back towards DKA. They gave him some fluids because he was dehydrated and an injection of Cerenia. His only recommendation was they could keep him overnight to give fluids and monitor him, but I didn't want to do that. This morning's visit already cost me $300. They sent me home with a bag of fluids so I could keep him hydrated and they sent me with 6 pills of Comfor-trate (maropitant citrate) Is that the same as Cerenia? I am to give him three pills over the next three days and the other three pills are for future incidents.

The people at the clinic are so kind, but one day I may consider finding a new vet. This one is so close to my house that it makes it easier for me and Charlie. It seemed like he wanted to treat Charlie's symptoms but didn't care much beyond that. I feel like I know more about FD than he does and can give him fluids and monitor his ketones and BG at home. They were quite impressed with the spreadsheet though!

Also.... yellow numbers?!?! This boy is really keeping me on my toes. I just went home for my lunch break at @+6, he is still lethargic. I put down some fresh wet food and he sniffed it and walked off. I put a churu treat on top and he ate all the treat and some of the food. I had to get back to work so fingers crossed he keeps it down. Where we are seeing yellow today, I'm thinking maybe just a 0.25 increase tomorrow morning rather than a full 0.5 units?

My mind is a mess. I could really go for a good cry right now but I'm at work and don't have time so I'll power through! TGIF! :p
 
they sent me with 6 pills of Comfor-trate (maropitant citrate) Is that the same as Cerenia? I
Found this
What is the generic name for maropitant citrate?
Maropitant citrate (brand name: Cerenia®) is an antiemetic used to treat vomiting and motion sickness in dogs and cats. It also may act as a mild pain control medication. Use of the tablets in cats to treat nausea and vomiting is 'off label' or 'extra label'.

I guess the vet wouldn't give you a script for the
ondansetron also

From what I read
Ondansetron is best for nausea.
Please keep us posted :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
I guess the vet wouldn't give you a script for the
ondansetron also

Honestly, my mind was so chaotic. When I first talked to them on the phone I asked about ondansetron. But once we got to the office they gave me Cerenia and I just went along with it. I forgot to ask about ondansetron. :confused:

I can't wait to get home and snuggle my lil guy! I'm glad it's Friday so I can be home all weekend to give him love and help him start feeling better.
 
they sent me with 6 pills of Comfor-trate (maropitant citrate) Is that the same as Cerenia?
Yes, there is a generic maropitant now available. Hopefully at a cheaper price too.

Did the vets test for pancreatitis? Sounds like that might be a possibility. It can also cause higher numbers. A Primer On Pancreatitis

Yellow nadirs mean 0.25 unit increases. If the treatment helps him, he might stay in better numbers - fingers crossed.
 
Honestly, my mind was so chaotic. When I first talked to them on the phone I asked about ondansetron. But once we got to the office they gave me Cerenia and I just went along with it. I forgot to ask about ondansetron. :confused:

I can't wait to get home and snuggle my lil guy! I'm glad it's Friday so I can be home all weekend to give him love and help him start feeling better.
Sending you love and support, Katy. You’ve both had a long and very difficult day. I hope you both feel much better quickly :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Let him eat whatever he will eat at the moment. Eating is more important than what it is. I see the ketones were down to 0.2 when you retested. Good. :bighug:
 
upload_2024-5-10_17-37-8.png
upload_2024-5-10_17-37-30.png
upload_2024-5-10_17-37-8.png
upload_2024-5-10_17-37-30.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-5-10_17-37-8.png
    upload_2024-5-10_17-37-8.png
    422.8 KB · Views: 137
  • upload_2024-5-10_17-37-30.png
    upload_2024-5-10_17-37-30.png
    449.5 KB · Views: 139
I'm on mobile so sorry I have double pictures above! Idk how I did that. But there is his blood work. I asked the vet to check the pancreas and he didn't say anything about there being a problem. So I assume that's on the bloodwork and everything was fine but im not totally sure how to translate all that.

I came home and there is no barf. So he was able to keep down the small amount he ate around +6. He jumped up and is currently sitting on my lap! He's acting quite a bit better than this morning.

I'm hoping he'll eat some dinner and I'm anxious to see what PMPS will be.
 
He did not run the test for pancreatitis, called SpecfPL.

Ughhhhh I should have been more on top of it. I was just too emotional I wasn't thinking clear enough. I'm really getting kind of tired of this clinic... I specifically said I was worried and I wanted to check his pancreas. I wonder if I should make another appointment. Or just see how this weekend goes??
 
383 for PMPS which I'm glad to see. Better than a red or higher... I put down dinner and he went right to it. Didn't eat a whole lot but at least he's interested! He's a sucker for those churu treats so I put it on top of the food again and he licked off most the treat and left the food. Hoping he starts getting more of his appetite back.
 
There’s a chance he tested but it gives to the lab. I think you would have been charged. Wait and see if he feels better. It will only be positive fur pancreatitis if it’s active and you basically treat the symptoms. Cerenia is great for vomiting. If the inappetence continues then ondansetron is better for that. You already have the fluids. The only other thing you would need is pain medication, Hopefully this will be gone by Monday. Do you have enough cerenia for the weekend? How’s the appetite? Any more vomiting? I hope not.
 
Yeah, he gave me 6 pills. He said to use 3 over the next 3 days. Then 3 extra for the future if needed. He's eaten a little bit of LC wet food and a churu treat. I wish he'd eat more but its better than not eating at all! No more throwing up, not since this morning. He is still a little lethargic, poor guy.
 
That’s good. Keep offering small amounts every couple of hours when possible and don’t worry what he eats. You just want him eating about 3/4/of his usual amount . Don’t worry if it doesn’t happen tomorrow but keep offering food often.
 
Back
Top