5/1 Trixie PMPS 121 +1 142 +2 140 +4 96

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Member Since 2011
Yesterday:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42337

Deciding to NOT shoot this morning was a tough, tough call. I know this is quite possibly a safe-to-shoot number. After the way things went yesterday, though, last night hubby and I decided that we wouldn't shoot anything below 100 today. However, when that 89 came up, it was so close to that cut off point that we weren't quite sure what to do...shoot it? skip it? BCS shot? After much debate in the wee, dark hours of the morning, we decided to see what Trixie could do on her own. Hopefully we made the right decision.

I'm not considering this Day 1 just yet...it's more of an experiment, and hopefully one Trixie won't pay the price for. It just seems to us that perhaps the dental and all those extractions may have worked a little magic.

I do welcome any and all opinions...especially from folks who have witnessed cats who have been in similar situations as Trixie. I'm wondering if her pancreas is sputtering into action, and may still need some support, and if so, how to administer that support. I know what we're doing right now isn't ideal...shooting, having big drops, nostop poke/carb, skipping...I'd like to be consistent, so she is as strong as possible.

It's funny, I'm just as nervous about NOT shooting as I would have been had I shot. It so hard to know if we're making the correct decisions...we just want what's best for her. I guess at this point, only time will tell.

We'll test throughout the day, and keep you posted.

For now, BTB for this bean...

Amy
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie AMBG 89 - No shot - Opinions welcome!

oh goodness. you had such a wonderful cycle yesterday and a great evening with no shot! go trixie go! :-D
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie AMBG 89 +26.25 86 - No shot - Opinions welcom

86, 2 hours after breffis :mrgreen: . She just had another round of fuds; we'll see what that bring for us in a while!
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie AMBG 89 +26.25 86 - No shot - Opinions welcom

Did Trixie have dental problems or just yucky teeth? Gus doesn't have any infections, etc. but he hasn't had a cleaning in years. Is it that important? I read a lot about dental care here. Thankful for any info.
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie AMBG 89 +26.25 86 - No shot - Opinions welcom

Trixie had dental problems...much larger than we originally thought. Upon initial examination, it appeared that several of her teeth had fallen out, and it was obvious that she needed a good cleaning. When the vet did the pre-dental x-rays, she saw that all those teeth didn't really fall out; 6 of them had broken off at the crowns, and the roots were still there. During the procedure, the vet removed all those roots, as well as one other tooth - technically, 7 extractions in all. She had the dental on April 13, and finished up her clindamyacin last Saturday.

After this experience, I would definitely say that dentals are extremely important, as are those x-rays. Without the x-rays, we would have not know about the broken teeth. And, as far as just a plain cleaning goes, that's important, too...those gums can harbor a lot of bacteria.

Who knows...maybe having a dental done would help with Gus's dancing on the ceiling!

ETA: +27 90, 'bout 45 minutes after breffis #2. She is playing up a storm this morning! Gosh, she's bein' so cute.
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie AMBG 89 +26 86 +27 90 +28 95 +30 93/Opinions?

She's still surfing the 90s, sans insulin, with food. She ate her last little snack at +28.75. We'll hold of any any further snacks until dinner time, now.

I am curious about what the experienced folks think...good or bad. I know what I've done is a little unconventional, and I want to be sure we're doing the very best for Trixie. I truly appreciate and value everyone's opinions...you've never led us astray!

Dare we consider this Day 1? Or should we wait and see how the rest of the day plays out?

Thank you for any thoughts you can share...

Amy
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie AMBG 89 +26 86 +27 90 +28 95 +30 93/Opinions?

Amy: I'm not an experienced person but I bet they are going to want to wait and see what she does the rest of the day before they decide. She's eating normally so that's great. If it were me, I'd see what today and maybe even tonight brings. You can always go back and count this as day one later ....even if you are at day two or day three. That's ok. So I wouldn't worry too much about that yet. Just enjoy your day and see where she goes. I'm keeping my paws crossed for you...this is awesome. Also remember that if she sinks low, it's ok, and you don't have to try and bring her up. She's got no insulin on board so she can't hypo. Come on Trixie girl....love getting no juice!!
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie +27 90 +28 95 +30 93 +32 112 +33 101/Opinions

Thanks, Marjorie!

I got a little nervous when I saw that 112, but she seems to be working on it. I'm very, very curious to see where this heads as we approach "PMPS"...
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie +27 90 +28 95 +30 93 +32 112 +33 101/Opinions

nice!

My suggestion would be to pick a lower dose that you can shoot twice a day. It doesn't look like she needs the fat 1 unit anymore.

Usually we find that the best chance of going into remission and staying there is to wean them off the insulin gradually instead of going right from 1 unit to nothing. Trixie is a fairly new diabetic so if you want to let this ride and see where it goes, it might work fine, but in most cases it is advantageous to give their beta cells as much healing time as possible.

From the Tight Regulation Protocol:

Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions.
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie +27 90 +28 95 +30 93 +32 112 +33 101/Opinions

Thanks, Libby.

I know it would still be a bigger jump, but what do you think about .5U? Just seeing how low she went last night (47) without insulin makes me nervous...especially on days (like tomorrow) when I can't be home to test and monitor past +4. I've been grappling with this all day long...I know it's far from ideal to be skipping shots like I've been doing this week, yet she responds so quickly and strongly when I have given shots.

I am going to continue watching to see where she goes as we head towards PMPS time...that might give me the answer for tonight, too...but I do want her to be as strong as possible. Yikes...confusion!!!!
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie +27 90 +28 95 +30 93 +32 112 +33 101/Opinions

I know she kept dropping last night, but there was still shed action from the previous dose in play last night. There still could be today (just like it can take several cycles to build a shed, it can also take several cycles to drain one). If you feel good about 0.5, then I would try it. You can always work up (or down) from there.
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie +27 90 +28 95 +30 93 +32 112 +33 101/Opinions

Thanks...we'll definitely consider .5, since we're here tonight to monitor....
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie +28 95 +30 93 +32 112 +33 101 +34.25 78/Opini

Hmmmm...she is dropping again. Maybe we will ride this out and see....

Still so confused!!!
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie PMPS 121

It's a larger decrease than the protocol says it should be, but we've decided to go with .5 for now...if necessary, we'll adjust upwards again. Hopefully this will be a comfortable dose for Trixie's numbers, so that we don't end up in the vicious shot-skipping cycle again.

I guess these last couple days made us a little gun shy!

Once again, thanks for helping us along!
Amy
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie PMPS 121

Hi, happy to see you are giving Trixie the insulin support needed for an opportunity at a successful OTJ.
Wishing you both a wonderful journey ;-)
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie PMPS 121

More than anything, it was just a matter of trying to figure what exactly to do, given the sudden change in Trixie's number pattern. She threw us for a loop with lots-o low numbers - especially those numbers last evening when we skipped her shot. I think those were the clincher for confusing the you-know-what out of us!
 
Re: 5/1 Trixie PMPS 121 +1 142 +2 140

...and the backslide. Ah well, we earned it. We'll see what the next few cycles hold, once her shed refills, and go from there.
 
Congrats on the dosecrease. I figure it's a good idea to leave them on the juice as long as you possibly can. You don't want to do an OTJ trial and have her come back on later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top