5/1 Sasha

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sasha&Tara

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone!!! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
Well, Sasha's numbers are really coming down. LOL.. it's a good thing but I have to admit it's freaking me out!

I had to take off of work today, I was scared to leave him with a low preshot number of 52. I decreased his dose a little, but I'm not sure if I did the right thing.

It was suggested to me to get all of the carbs in him by +4 and it made a huge difference so far!!!

I am worried about his dose. nailbite_smile

As always any advice is always appreciated!

I hope everyone is well! Hugs to you and your furbabies!!!!
 
Re: 5/1 Sasha +11 43 AMPS 52 +1 82

Hi guys .. wowwie! I have to say these numbers are suhweet looking! I'm glad you are home after shooting such a low ps number .. looks like sasha has gone up a bit, but could be a food spike so make sure you watch him .. how exciting!! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/1 Sasha +11 43 AMPS 52 +1 82 +2 60 +3 55 dosing advi

He's looking great! I think you did a good job by reducing him. I'm glad his drop slowed down but you'll need to stay on top of it and try to get him on a surfboard. If you haven't fed the 55, I'd give him a couple tsps of LC and retest in 30 mins from feeding. If he's still coming down, then lather, rinse, repeat....give him a couple more tsp LC. It's early in the cycle for him to be at this number so we want to try and get him to surf the 50s.

Sasha is on the borderline of being newly diagnosed and not since he was diagnosed in May, 2011. From the protocol:

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

IMHO, you can use the reduction for long-term diabetics by reducing him by .25u when he goes under 40; however, if he goes below 40 today, we don't want to reduce him again so quickly (since you reduced him this morning) as the shed from the higher doses can affect up to six subsequent cycles. ECID.... it may not take six cycles for Sasha but typically we would see it affecting 3-4 cycles after the reduction.

Please keep us posted and let us know if you have questions. How wonderful to see him in so much blue and green and clearing his bounces so quickly!
 
Re: 5/1 Sasha +11 43 AMPS 52 +1 82 +2 60 +3 55 dosing advi

Sasha's doing great! Good luck with the new dose!
 
Re: 5/1 Sasha +11 43 AMPS 52 +1 82 +2 60 +3 55 +4 60

wow wow wow wow. glad you were able to monitor him today - this is fantastic, but i'm sure a little nerve-wracking. you're like an old pro now, tara!

i'd agree with marje's advice. you're doing great.
 
Re: 5/1 Sasha +11 43 AMPS 52 +1 82 +2 60 +3 55 +4 60

Hi! Thank you for the cheering and Marje thank you for the great advice!!!! He's back up in the yellows now. LOL, like I said, I get so excited by the low numbers but then I freak out thinking of what I'm going to do when hes this low before work! Today I was lucky, I was able to take off to moniter him!!! nailbite_smile


I did by a five compartment feeder that Sasha doesnt mind at all, but my little one Ruby is so scared of it. I may have to go back to freezing his food so he can nibble during the day...

I hope everyone is having a wonderful day!
 
Wow! What a day for Sasha.

Poor Ruby! I did not have a timed feeder for Latte, but the water fountain I got scared the bajeebers outta her. She would walk way out of her way to not have to go past it. Those 5 compartment feeders are pretty loud when they move.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top