5/1 Musette & Autumn

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
After another super high number in the reds out of her at .5 I decided to see what would happen if I reduced her down further than I have before....so last night and this morning I went with .3u and lo and behold she is at 62 at +6.. dancing_cat

Autumn is doing well, we are still working on the mats, need to get her into the vet's this week, was going to try for today but no luck they were already booked full of surgeries, so right now she has an appointment for Thursday but they promised to call if they had something open up sooner, since I described how badly matted she was and a little of her back story and why I really wanted her checked out throughly. She bounced pretty good off her first day of insulin and her first blue number. But I was expecting that, her poor little body has been running so high for so long it just doesn't know how to react to now having insulin, plus you add in the stress of all the new sights, sounds, people and animals in her life right now it isn't much better than her being at a vet clinic. She is doind well with adjusting to all of us and is spending more and more time out of her hiding spot to hang out in the front of her kennel, she still growls & hisses at the other cats but it is kind half-hearted now, and the slaps have stopped. I think she is starting to realize that they really don't care that she is here and that their approaches are to make friends not pick a fight.

She had a pretty good case of TortieTude the first couple of days but who could blame her. lol She had been poked in the ear and stuck with needles and then the crazy lady started stealing her fur. Today she actually purred for me while I was holding her to test her. Her appetitie remains ravenous but she needs to gain so much weight back that she is being allowed to eat all she can stuff in her little body, the dish runs out mom throws in another can. She LOVES her canned food, so I'm not sure why she was marked as a dry food addict, except that her previous owner either couldn't or wouldn't try giving her all canned, or was trying to get her to eat that nasty DM (none of my herd would eat that stuff). She was 202 at her +6 today so slowly but surely I'm getting there with both of my tortie girls.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Yippee for the both of them!

I think Autumn will be settling in well- I bet she doesn't mind the attention she gets, either :lol: .
 
If all you can manage is to subdivide some of the bigger mats into smaller blocks, it helps the skin breathe and move again.

My civvie Precious has fur like roll cotton, so there is no combing out - its cut and go for her, no matter how choppy the result. I've used a small mat cutter on her, on the outer ends, then rolled the teeth through a half inch or so at a time with my finger between the blade and skin, followed by small scissors to work in closer.

It feels like such an accomplishment to remove a clump!
 
I will be very interested to see how Musette does on the lower dose. Looks good so far. The 62 was after the second lowered dose, correct?

Thanks for the Autumn update. I kept checking yesterday - needing a fix - until I had to leave for a few hours that turned into 11 hours. I even checked when I got home at 2am.... that's how much I need to know how she is doing!

So good that she is eating her canned food with gusto. That stage lasted about 3-4 months with Jeddie (who was an 8.5 lb Maine Coon mix when I got him here - now 12 lbs). I was thinking about her dandruff that you said she had. That's probably from dry food and from the mats not letting her get at her skin to groom - although she was probably too sick to even groom herself I bet. The canned food will help with her coat and skin problems because of the moisture.

Oh, I almost forgot to mention that I use a pair of curved nose-hair scissors on mats. They have rounded "points" and you can face the curve away from the body so that greatly reduces the risk of stabbing them with sharp points. I think I got mine at CVS.
 
Just wondering why you raised Autumn's dose to 1.5 last night. 200s at mid cycle don't warrant a .5u increase IMO. I know those 400s are nasty but that increase could just cause her to swing even more.

Otherwise, good news for Musette, if she can hold her own at .3u. How is she acting toward Autumn?

Ask the vet if there's something you can put on Autumn's skin after the shaving to help her skin feel better. Probably just having the mats off will be enough, but maybe they have something.
 
Ooops I didn't raise Autumn I lowered her to .5, I typed the 1u into her spreadsheet, and then forgot to erase it when I added her .5 got it fixed now. We had company over last night and I was talking to them while filling in her spreadsheet. I figured I would try her on a lower dose because she is swinging higher than she was without insulin.

So far so good with Musette on the .3 nice preshot this morning of 254. Really hoping she can hold her own on that dose and asks me for a reduction sometime soon.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Ooops I didn't raise Autumn I lowered her to .5, I typed the 1u into her spreadsheet, and then forgot to erase it when I added her .5 got it fixed now. We had company over last night and I was talking to them while filling in her spreadsheet. I figured I would try her on a lower dose because she is swinging higher than she was without insulin.

So far so good with Musette on the .3 nice preshot this morning of 254. Really hoping she can hold her own on that dose and asks me for a reduction sometime soon.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang

Oh, I'm so glad that was a typo!! I wondered.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top