? 5/1 Mrs. Jones AMPS 396 +5 295 Late Morning Drop Question

MissyCat6

Member
Good Day!
My spreadsheet is up to date. I am having some anxiety about late morning gluc drops. Saturday, Tuesday and today, if I hadn't intervened with extra food, I felt she would have moved to hypo. We had a hypo event last Tuesday night after a visit to the vet for a new sensor and was advised to give 1 ml gabapentin two hours prior to the appointment. Hypo occurred around 8pm MT. Due to the drop again yesterday (went from 11.4.-4.8 rapidly) on 1.5 iu dose (same as Saturday and last Tuesday), I gave her 1.25 iu shot this morning. However, it started to fall rapidly again and I gave her 1.25 tablespoons of her kibble even though she had a good breakfast. Can anyone advise based on my spreadsheet:
1. what is going on with the late morning drop?
2. is it clear 1.5 is too much and we should stick with 1.25?
3. at what number should I intervene with a snack so she doesn't go hypo again?
Thanks so much!
 
Was it a symptomatic hypo? When following SLGS under 90 calls for a reduction. The chart does not show any BG close to hypo. What happened? That usually is under 50. Feeling several snacks a day will level out the BG and prevent hypos.
 
Hello! Thanks for your reply. It was hard to tell last Tuesday because of gabapentin and the 52 reading at the same time. However, she looked intoxicated and had trouble walking still 8 hours after the gaba med admin. We went to the emergency vet and the gluc popped up to 396 after corn syrup and food sachets I fed her. I do get worried when gets into the 80s and reader indicates dropping fast, so I feed a small snack to prevent a low. So would the rule be to feed a snack in the 80s or 90s? And is the reduction earned to 1.25 (instead of 1.5) after last Tuesday? Thanks again!
 
Thanks for your reply. So we really know after 3 times, 1.25 is the right dosage. I gave her 1.5 yesterday as she ate a good breakfast and her gluc was high. However, probably no more be said given the consistency of lows with 1.5. Thanks again!
 
Thanks for your reply! If I notice it is going low on 1.25, and I want to avoid a hypo, what number can I give her a snack to prevent a quick drop? Thanks!
 
Two observations if I may. First, it's hard to see what her dose should be, as you've been changing the dose fairly regularly. When following SLGS, you pick a dose and stay with that dose, unless she goes under 90. Otherwise the nature of the depot makes it really hard to figure out what dose she should be on. The 1.25 units suggested above is a good place to start.

Second tip, it'd be great if you can test any of those Libre lows numbers with a handheld meter. The Libre typically tests lower than it should in normal numbers and you only want to take a reduction if she goes under 90 on a BG meter.

For those reading, here is the previous post with the low numbers story: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...day-tuesday-night-hypo-hypervigilance.289338/

If I notice it is going low on 1.25, and I want to avoid a hypo, what number can I give her a snack to prevent a quick drop?
Low for us means under 90, verified with a hand held meter. If you see her go under 100, try giving her a couple tsps of her regular low carb food. That can help them hang out at those safe healing normal numbers.
 
Hello Wendy and Neko! Thanks for the reply. The dosages have not been consistent due to her eating, although eating has improved in the last month. After yesterday, 1.25 is where we'll stay. We were given instructions that if she only ate x amount, give x iu. However, I totally understand the need for same AM and PM. Regarding handheld meter, this is what I'm using. We dropped the iPhone as an option because it was so inconsistent. I am super anxious about under 5.5 but I suspect this will have to be managed (by me, not Mrs. Jones, lol). I am off to pick up Dr. Elsey's food now and will integrate it over the next few weeks. Thanks for all your support!
 
Lantus doesn't onset (start to take effect) until 2-3 hours after the shot, so you do have time to get food in. She doesn't have to eat her dinner all at once.

By hand held meter, I mean a blood glucose meter, not the Libre, which is what your signature says you are using.

And yes, over time you will love those numbers under 5.5, as will she!
 
Thanks Wendy&Neko. Ok...hmmm...so if she eats her dinner of 1.5-2tbsp (although we want her to eat 3 tbsp) and I shoot 30-40 minutes later, if she wants a snack 8pm or 9pm, it's like the rest of her dinner and will help prevent a hypo? Thanks!
 
Hello! Thanks for the reminder. It's been quite busy with a dental and sensor change. We've been more regular with the 1 iu morning and evening especially after the dental. Pain management seems to be key to prevent spikes. We're hoping with this third dental and pain meds we'll see some regulation:)
 
Back
Top