? 5/1 Marshmellow AMPS 107 +1 196, +4 449 PMPS 352

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marshmellow & Steve

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Good Morning, Marshmellow once again very rambunctious about me feeding her, I couldn't get her food to her fast enough! I actually gave her a couple of tablespoons of HC broth along with her LC because of where her numbers were, but I still gave her insulin. Hoping this was the correct way to approach this.
 
That is a low PS to shoot for the first time, but if you will be home, are able to monitor closely and have a Hypo kit on hand then you should be just fine. Try to only give HC when Marshmallow falls under 50, all other times you should start with LC or MC and see how she does. If you give HC before she is low you could be aborting the cycle.
 
Thanks for advice, I am so used to working with humans, it was kind of a natural instinct. I don't go to work until 11 PM, so am home to monitor, otherwise I might have skipped the dose. +1 is 196. Tina you may be right, I may have jumped the gun, but I would much rather be safe with her. I will have to also get some MC food in the house. This is still pretty new to me:banghead:
 
Last edited:
You are doing great and it is very early into this dance. It is scary shooting low at first. When it's the end or am/pmps, they are usually on the way back up and so that is why the big jump after the shot today. That is why many suggest that you stall a little and not feed to see if your cat is going up or not. That of course changes your shot time unless you can tell after 30 minutes. I suspect today you would have seen a rise. It's always better to be safe. During the early stages of this dances even more so as you don't know what her pattern will be. It's really good to have some mc. With Max I had to use it to keep him from dropping when he got close to going under 50 and we wanted to hold his dose to level him out. It comes in handy when you need to get them up a little if you have to leave at times and yet probably won't raise them too much to abort a cycle.
 
Now I am not sure if I jumped the gun with the food or if this is a bounce, I'm thinking bounce? When we say MC, are we talking range of 10-20 carb?

Also, if I hold a dose, that means changing my times for a day or two until I can work the time back, correct?

Next question, should I have perhaps given her insulin as I do when she eats, then retest before trying to give MC foods? Like I stated, I think I jumped the gun a bit.
 
Now I am not sure if I jumped the gun with the food or if this is a bounce, I'm thinking bounce? When we say MC, are we talking range of 10-20 carb?

Also, if I hold a dose, that means changing my times for a day or two until I can work the time back, correct?

Next question, should I have perhaps given her insulin as I do when she eats, then retest before trying to give MC foods? Like I stated, I think I jumped the gun a bit.

I agree that she is bouncing probably from the blue numbers or perhaps she hit green during the night and was on her way up at AMPS. you can change testing time by 30 minutes a day without having to shoot late, either One 30 minute adjustment or two 15 minute ones per day. I think the food likely drove her bounce higher but she would have bounced no matter what she was fed. If you had stalled about 15-30 minutes and not fed and her number was going up you would know it was okay to shoot providing you would be home to monitor which you are doing.

Max is very carb sensitive do for him mc is around 10%. Others less sensitive need about 15%. I use Trader Joes turkey and giblets.
 
Thanks, I have HC from prior to diagnosis, will pick up MC for times she needs a little boost. Obviously, I will keep dose the same, next time will retest 30 min later to see up or down, feed LC, shoot, and monitor.
 
She was on her way up with a bounce today. I wouldn't reduce her dose - there's no green on the spreadsheet since you switched meters. I'd give this dose 2 more cycles (total of 10) and if you don't see green, i'd increase by 0.25u. The good news is that now that i've mentioned a potential dose increase, she'll likely show you some greens. That happens an awful lot! :rolleyes:

My thought is that you've got enough experience/data to be able to shoot lower and lower numbers til you're shooting everything over 50. You've shot a 107 now - I wouldn't stall or delay for anything over that anymore, assuming you can monitor afterwards. You want to get to the point of shooting everything over 50 as soon as you can.

Tak a look at this post on Charlie and the discussion beginning on post 16 about shooting low.
Also take a look at the Tight Reg Protocol, Myths Debunked post #6 about shooting a dropping number

Whenever you shoot a number that is lower than you've shot before, a good rule of thumb is to get a +1 and a +2 to see where the cat is headed when the insulin begins to onset.
 
Thanks Julie, I wasn't planning on dropping the dose. Was just unsure if I should have fed or not. Next time I won't feed, but will monitor hourly to watch! Again, Thanks.
 
Actually I think what @julie & punkin (ga) was saying is, as long as you can monitor, you should shoot anything 107 or above straight away without stalling as you have enough experience to do that. A number lower than that and you may want to try stalling for half an hour without feeding before shooting but in the end you want to be shooting anything above 50 without stalling.
 
Actually I think what @julie & punkin (ga) was saying is, as long as you can monitor, you should shoot anything 107 or above straight away without stalling as you have enough experience to do that. A number lower than that and you may want to try stalling for half an hour without feeding before shooting but in the end you want to be shooting anything above 50 without stalling.
Thanks, the reason I gave her the food is that she hasn't been handling the low blues well yet, and I was hoping the HC food would help level her so that she didn't bounce. Next time I will shoot first and monitor hourly (at least). I am hoping she can stabilize to these lower numbers>
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top