5/1 Hershey PMPS(327) +3.25(270) +4.75(274) +8 (322)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
We're going to try TID and are working towards the times that best fit our schedule: 12:15am - 8:15am - 4:15pm. Decreased dose to .5u to see where he needs to be...

Here's the plan:
1PM (Test/feed/shoot)
- Test +2, +4 (Feed), +6, +8 (9PM)
11PM (Test/feed/shoot)
- Test +5, +8 (7AM) - No food this time
Wed 8:15AM - Be on schedule for TID

Now, if Hershey will just stick to the plan :-D

AMPS (325) +12 - Shot .5u at 3:00am
+6 (242) - FOOD

Y'all have a great day!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)

MDPS (281) +10 - Shot .5u at 1:00pm
+2 (190)
+3 (151)
+4 (138) - FOOD
almost +6.25 (277)
+8 (323)

PMPS (327) +9.75 - Shot .5u at 10:50pm
+3.25 (270)
+4.75 (274)
+8 (322)
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS (281) 10-hr cycle

MDPS (281) +10 - Shot .5u at 1:00pm

Scale said .6u for (281) so I almost reduced to .4u but figured since I'm testing every 2-hrs we should be okay. Hershey and Oreo were THRILLED to be fed again, after only 4 hours! :o They didn't bother to tell me it was 'too early' by our regular schedule; they just suffered and ate another whole meal. ;-) Now, tomorrow when it goes to eating every 8 hours...wouldn't surprise me if they call Social Services and cry NEGLECT! :lol:

Off to the grocery store!
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS (281) +2(190) 10-hr cycle

+2 (190)

Sooooo, how come he dropped so much WITH food at PMPS?? Next planned test is +4, surely he won't drop that much between now and then...that's what 90 in 2 hrs, so even if he does, he'd still be (100) at +4. So, that's okay, too...not likely, but it would be nice to see him at least close to green...
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS (281) +2(190) 10-hr cycle

Test again in an hour.

This could be an indication of insulin overlap like I mentioned last night. When you shot early, there is a possibility, that even though he was rising that there was still a little residual insulin left from this morning's 3 am shot. This is one of the main concerns when shooting early. Can you test again?
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS (281) +2(190) 10-hr cycle

Sure, I got nothing but time...guess I might need to order strips sooner than I thought, though...I'm TELLING you - I NEED to buy stock in them!!

Thanks, Kim...I had kind of wondered about testing +3...thanks for looking out for us!
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS(281) +2(190) +3(151)10-hr cycle

+3 (151)

I like blue...just had a talk with Hershey about not dropping too much this next hour. +4 test/feed...see you then!
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS(281) +2(190) +3(151) +4(138) 10-hr cycl

+4 (138)

And, the drop has slowed...probably about to stop since I'm heading to feed. Good thing, too, he's been asking for food off and on since +1...feeding every 8 hours tomorrow is going to be a rude awakening...
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS(281) +2(190) +3(151) +4(138) 10-hr cycl

Looks Great so far!

There is nothing that says you cannot feed more often than every 8 hours tomorrow. Once we get there, we will be able to determine more. You might find that a +4 feeding is necessary and good.

One Good Thing......no Pinks since this morning! You have to like that! We just need to be conservative and see what the cycles call for, we can always increase the dose if necessary. I am interested to see the remainder of this cycle. My gut feeling right now is, that .5 will be too much for tid dosing.......based on the drop you got with that dose shooting at +10. According to your test, your +8 reading might have been about the same as your +10 (pmps), but you have to think there was more insulin still active at that time holding the numbers down. So, you got a 32 percent drop in two hours on the .5 dose at +10, I am under the assumption that the drop would have been even more at +8. So, we need to carefully consider your dose. I am not sure you can reference the scale a lot now....because it was put in place for bid dosing and no risk of insulin overlap. We just need to be careful!

But, this will work!

I am around and will keep a check on the tests!
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS(281) +2(190) +3(151) +4(138) 10-hr cycl

Hershey numbers are really good. You must be excited because for awhile...oh I know you were frustrated.

Keep it up Hershey!
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS(281) +2(190) +3(151) +4(138) 10-hr cycl

Thanks, Kim and Jenn. Having a storm now, not sure what that might do to his +6 in :40. I DOOOO like no pinks!!!
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS(281) +2(190) +3(151) +4(138) 10-hr cycl

Send the storm my way...I am running the irrigation sprinklers.....I want some FREE water for my lawn!

Just be aware of the effect the storm might have and don't react to it. If the numbers do increase, they will be stressed induced and they will clear on their own!
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS(281) +2(190) +3(151) +4(138) 10-hr cycl

There was a tornado reported about 8 miles from us. They have just let that warning expire, but still severe thunderstorms. Thinking of a severe weather plan with insulin, etc, is a new rodeo for me...
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS(281) +2(190) +3(151) +4(138) 10-hr cycl

OOh, remind me to dig up the "Hurricane" threads from last year. I think there were "tips" on them.

Nice day, Hershey!

Carl
 
Re: 5/1Hershey PMPS(281)+2(190)+3(151) +4(138) +6(277)

almost +6.25 (277)

Don't think this is storm related as he never batted an eye during it. But, he did eat at +4, so that could be part of it.
 
Re: 5/1Hershey PMPS(281)+2(190)+3(151) +4(138) +6(277)

Don't worry about the numbers too much! Actually, I am happier seeing it at 277 than at 77! This is all data, and it will help us with the dosing needed for tid. And, I might want to take back my statement about .5 being too much!!! I will let you know later! :lol:
 
Re: 5/1Hershey +3(151) +4(138) +6(277) +8(323)

+8 (323)

AND - the pinks are back...

QUESTION: Our 10 hrs are up at 11pm and you said start the next cycle there and the following cycle at 8:15am, but that's only 9hrs and :15. Should we shoot before 11, like maybe 10:45pm so the cycles are 9:45 and 9:30??

And - since he's back up to (323), I'm guessin' we stay with .5? or reduce to .4 since it won't be a full 10 hrs???
 
Re: 5/1Hershey +3(151) +4(138) +6(277) +8(323)

That sounds logical to me, Libby, but TID is "out of my league". I will for sure defer to Kim's knowledge and vast experience with it, especially in the "lead-in" to TID. I think that once you are doing it routinely, I will be able to wrap my mind around it. But right now, I'm just looking over your shoulders!

Carl
 
Re: 5/1Hershey +3(151) +4(138) +6(277) +8(323)

Doug N Libby said:
QUESTION: Our 10 hrs are up at 11pm and you said start the next cycle there and the following cycle at 8:15am, but that's only 9hrs and :15. Should we shoot before 11, like maybe 10:45pm so the cycles are 9:45 and 9:30???

Libby, you've been so good at keeping him on a regular schedule - with food & shots & snacks. I know this has got to feel kinda crazy, but knowing that it may take a couple days to "level off", I'd think you've got a little more flexibility in your window to shoot than you usually allow yourself.

I'd be inclined to stick w/ the dose (if you're comfortable with it - and he seemed to do well there) for several days and see where it takes you.

Got my eyes on your thread, even if I'm not posting much. Good luck!
 
Re: 5/1Hershey +3(151) +4(138) +6(277) +8(323)

Yes, you can even the cycles out if you want too! No problem. And, I think I would stick with the dose, it looks like the .5 is actually GONE NOW!!! But, this is data gathering and will help us with the tid dose. It appears from this cycle that at +8 the insulin has pooped, so overlap doesn't appear to be a problem. I know this is no consolation, but when Kitty started tid, all of our preshots were pink and we were HAPPY! Lets, just hope he surfs for a hour and stays pink.

Don't worry about the numbers too much...right now, we are just trying to safely get to your schedule of preference! Once we are there, we will start working on getting the numbers lower.
 
Re: 5/1Hershey +3(151) +4(138) +6(277) +8(323)

That's cool, Carl, we'll be learning together :smile:

Thanks, Lu-Ann, now that I have it written down it makes more sense than trying to keep it straight in my over-taxed brain. ;-) I'm sure it'll get easier, just like when we started in Jan. I thought I'd NEVER get the hang of times!

Robin, thanks for checking on us, even though it must be a pain on your phone. I hope you get your computer straightened out SOON!

Kim - not really worrying about the numbers. I'm actually more worried about making my SS readable! :lol: Heading over to look at Kitty's...
 
Re: 5/1Hershey +3(151) +4(138) +6(277) +8(323)

Doug N Libby said:
Heading over to look at Kitty's...

HA, good luck with that! You'll have to dust it off first, :lol:
 
Re: 5/1Hershey +3(151) +4(138) +6(277) +8(323)

I have a tid template! Surprise! I will send it to you! Really... I do!
 
Re: 5/1Hershey +3(151) +4(138) +6(277) +8(323)

SWEET! I was trying to incorporate into the same one, but can't understand how to format the cells...you can click on it and see what I've done. It would work, but I need to be able to widen a cell a little and maybe shrink another so I can fit in all of the hours...

THANKS, Kim!!!
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS (327) Shot .5u & Fed

PMPS (327) +9.75 - Shot .5u at 10:50pm & FOOD

What do you think about me testing at +4 instead of +5? Feeling a little nervous after today's numbers...That would make it +4 and +8...
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS (327) Shot .5u & Fed

Doug N Libby said:
What do you think about me testing at +4 instead of +5? Feeling a little nervous after today's numbers...That would make it +4 and +8...

I have to work really hard to ONLY test every two hours. I think that stems from the days I took off to work at home and tested about every hour. Grayson was SO happy to see me get dressed for work the next day!!! :lol:

Honestly, as you're first starting out w/ the TID, you may want to get a few more around nadir. Probably not my OCD 1/2 hours... but maybe a 3-4-5 once or twice... just to see when he's really starting to climb. That's one of those things I really seem to need to know! Others may think it's unneccessary.
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS (327) Shot .5u & Fed

I think I have the SS workable...what do you think???

+3.25 (270)
+4.75 (274)
 
Re: 5/1 Hershey PMPS(327) +3.25(270) +4.75(274)

hi Libby
Good luck with the TID!!
looks like you are off to a great start
hopefully you wil be safe from the hurricanes!
 
Thanks, Denise. We live in a really good area, weather-wise. We live off I-85 and the really bad stuff usually stays off I-95 (which is, unfortunately, where my daughter lives :sad: )...we still get hit by tornadoes/hurricanes, just to a lesser degree. Thanks for the TID well wishes, too, I just need to find a balance with everything plus sleep...starting to catch up with me...I'm actually thinking this may allow a little more sleep - or - maybe that's sleep deprivation talking :smile:

+8 (322)

Y'all have a SUPER day!
 
Good Luck!

If I have it correct, you are starting in the next few minutes with your first TID dose! I know we said to just test at +5 but, it might be good to get an early test, maybe the +2 range to see how quick the onset is. At least maybe do this the first couple of cycles for data.

Your last 10 hour cycle reminds me of the types of curves Kitty got when we first started tid-- not a lot of drop, but good numbers. I know you don't like the pinks, but...!!!! It will be interesting to see if this a trend or just one flatish cycle.

Your SS looks Great!
 
Yes, ma'am. Just started and sitting down to post. :smile: Will try to get a +2, but know I can get +3. It'd make me feel better to get an earlier test, too. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top