5/1 Darcy. What to shoot? he dropped low at vet (almost 200 points) but more GOOD NEWS

Suzanne & Darcy

Member Since 2020
Hello everybody. I'm going to be trying to be trying to catch up on what's been happening with all of you.

More good news for us! I'll start from the beginning. Firstly, Darcy had the most wonderful time in the guest bedroom with me last night. He was the snuggliest, purriest boy all night long. He's quarantining in there because of some kitty sickness in the house and I don't want him to get an upper respiratory infections. He didn't eat overnight and did not want to eat this morning. I syringe fed him some of the renal food. We took him up to the vet. The vet tech volunteered to bring him back home to us (near our house) as she lives south of us and had to pass by there anyway. That was really nice.

Today at the vet, he had recorded BGs of 214 at 12:30 p.m. and 54 at 4:00 p.m. That's quite a drop (and I didn't even give him his full dose of insulin this morning because I knew he'd be alone for several hours at the vet with nobody there -- between 1 p.m. and 4 p.m.) She gave him some dextrose and water solution prior to transporting him to us (about a 25 minute drive) and when we got him home ten minutes later he was at 62 (so I'm glad she gave the dextrose). He's been eating a lot since coming home and is very happy. He's been hovering at 69 though, even with eating the HC renal foods... but 69 is not a bad number and I've just been letting him surf.

Soon, shot time will be here... in fact, it's here right now as I look at this computer clock. I will have to decide about his dose. I don't understand this drop today. The vet tech said that the drop seemed to correspond with the reduction in his temperature. He started out the morning at 103.1 and later he got down into the more normal 101 range. They've been giving him antibiotics through his catheter.

Given the drop today, we've decided to keep him home with us tomorrow instead of taking him back to the vet. The plan was originally to drop him at the vet at 7:30 a.m. when the vet techs are there in the morning taking care of the animals. But they don't return to the hospital until 4:00 p.m. and this would have left Darcy alone for all of those hours. The vet tech was just not comfortable with us leaving him unattended (neither was I) for that many hours given his drop today. So we will keep him home with us tomorrow and give sub-q fluids and antibiotics through the catheter. He's very happy right now in his luxurious guest room! And he has been eating well.

Oh!!!! I almost forgot. Today they did a spot check of his kidney values and they continue to improve!!!

Creatinine 5.2 (yesterday 6)
BUn 54 (yesterday 68)
Phosphorus 5.5 (yesterday 7.0)

Oh my gosh. I really am starting to have hope. I didn't want to say anything before, but when we had day after day of no change or improvement in the numbers from last Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday... I was starting to despair... but still determined to FIGHT to the end. And after yesterday and today's improved numbers, I have real hope.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-30-darcy-pmps-219-good-news.246786/#post-2784020

If anybody actually read this LONG message. I thank you very much!!
 
Last edited:
I’m not going to shot him at 60 when it’s a falling number when he’s been eating high carb renal food all evening! Any suggestions welcome
 
Suzanne, it warms my heart to hear about how snuggly Darcy has been with you and how much improvement he’s shown today. I really hope this trend continues. Sending healing light and vines to your sweet boy and bucket loads of strength to you!
 
It was probably the 8.5 unit depot talking today. I'd take him down to 7.5 units tonight. Providing he comes up to where you are comfy. Remember, Levemir gives later nadirs, it's not uncommon to have a nadir around preshot time.
 
Mister Darcyyyyyyyyy! He is feeling good and ready for a party because it is Saturday Night!! (and this is a real test if you remember this one...)
https://youtu.be/8DNQRtmIMxk

Your post has made me grin crazily. I am so pleased to hear this news. This week has gone a long time, seems like forever ago you were telling us your fears of jury duty. Good work Suzanne and Darcy and Amy :). Here's hoping you have a calm comfy evening in the guest room.
 
Hello everybody. I'm going to be trying to be trying to catch up on what's been happening with all of you.

More good news for us! I'll start from the beginning. Firstly, Darcy had the most wonderful time in the guest bedroom with me last night. He was the snuggliest, purriest boy all night long. He's quarantining in there because of some kitty sickness in the house and I don't want him to get an upper respiratory infections. He didn't eat overnight and did not want to eat this morning. I syringe fed him some of the renal food. We took him up to the vet. The vet tech volunteered to bring him back home to us (near our house) as she lives south of us and had to pass by there anyway. That was really nice.

Today at the vet, he had recorded BGs of 214 at 12:30 p.m. and 54 at 4:00 p.m. That's quite a drop (and I didn't even give him his full dose of insulin this morning because I knew he'd be alone for several hours at the vet with nobody there -- between 1 p.m. and 4 p.m.) She gave him some dextrose and water solution prior to transporting him to us (about a 25 minute drive) and when we got him home ten minutes later he was at 62 (so I'm glad she gave the dextrose). He's been eating a lot since coming home and is very happy. He's been hovering at 69 though, even with eating the HC renal foods... but 69 is not a bad number and I've just been letting him surf.

Soon, shot time will be here... in fact, it's here right now as I look at this computer clock. I will have to decide about his dose. I don't understand this drop today. The vet tech said that the drop seemed to correspond with the reduction in his temperature. He started out the morning at 103.1 and later he got down into the more normal 101 range. They've been giving him antibiotics through his catheter.

Given the drop today, we've decided to keep him home with us tomorrow instead of taking him back to the vet. The plan was originally to drop him at the vet at 7:30 a.m. when the vet techs are there in the morning taking care of the animals. But they don't return to the hospital until 4:00 p.m. and this would have left Darcy alone for all of those hours. The vet tech was just not comfortable with us leaving him unattended (neither was I) for that many hours given his drop today. So we will keep him home with us tomorrow and give sub-q fluids and antibiotics through the catheter. He's very happy right now in his luxurious guest room! And he has been eating well.

Oh!!!! I almost forgot. Today they did a spot check of his kidney values and they continue to improve!!!

Creatinine 5.2 (yesterday 6)
BUn 54 (yesterday 68)
Phosphorus 5.5 (yesterday 7.0)

Oh my gosh. I really am starting to have hope. I didn't want to say anything before, but when we had day after day of no change or improvement in the numbers from last Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday... I was starting to despair... but still determined to FIGHT to the end. And after yesterday and today's improved numbers, I have real hope.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-30-darcy-pmps-219-good-news.246786/#post-2784020

If anybody actually read this LONG message. I thank you very much!!

Every last word Suzanne and so excited about the improvements in everything. Hope a better back is also part of this wonderful news. Keep up the good work Darcy and give your mom a back rub/knead to thank her for taking such good care of you. :joyful: Sending loving/healing prayers to both of you plus lots of hugs from me and Dolly. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Just saw your post this morning. All wonderful news and I always read everything you have to say. I am really happy and relieved for you and your Darcy. I hope your back is better, too! I'm sure Darcy will be happy to be at home with his family this Sunday. Hopefully, he will eat better for you as well. Good luck with keeping him from an infection. Glad to know he likes his new quarters. Keep us informed and enjoy this day!
 
It was probably the 8.5 unit depot talking today. I'd take him down to 7.5 units tonight. Providing he comes up to where you are comfy. Remember, Levemir gives later nadirs, it's not uncommon to have a nadir around preshot time.
Thank you. I actually only shot 6 units last night... chickened out/wanted to make sure to be able to sleep. I tested him twice during the night and he was in the blues. By morning he was up to 205 so that depot has worn off. I shot 7.5 this morning even before I saw this message... so I was happy to see that you had suggested the 7.5 dose (great minds!) Thanks for checking in on us! Oh, and I plan to try to hold that dose for 6 cycles as long as he doesn't drop below maybe 60? or down to 50?
 
Mister Darcyyyyyyyyy! He is feeling good and ready for a party because it is Saturday Night!! (and this is a real test if you remember this one...)
https://youtu.be/8DNQRtmIMxk

Your post has made me grin crazily. I am so pleased to hear this news. This week has gone a long time, seems like forever ago you were telling us your fears of jury duty. Good work Suzanne and Darcy and Amy :). Here's hoping you have a calm comfy evening in the guest room.
Just watched this YouTube video and I can say this is the first time I’ve ever heard this song! Pretty Baby!
 
Back
Top