5/1 Aurora AMBG 208, +1 198, PMPS 193 +1.5 230, +1.5 230, +2.75 146, +3.75 107

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole Z

Member Since 2017
Morning!
So it would appear that auroras numbers are slowly creeping up a little. I will check her again at +1 which is 6am and update thread title. Wondering if I should give her a little insulin this morning? Certainly not the three units the vet had me giving but maybe a half of one unit?
 
I have been sticking to feeding her at 6am for breakfast so can shoot at 6 15 and same thing in the PM - last week when I was shooting, I was making her wait until 6pm and then shooting at 615pm. Friday evening I got the meter and saw that she was in normal range, we didn't shoot friday and all weekend long her numbers were good so I did feed her around 5pm saturday evening and sunday evening
 
How did you feed her before fd? Max was a grazer always so get got lots of small meals. For many cats feeding more often helps. People use auto feeders tha tgey set to go off while they are at work. With so little info I wouldn't have shot either. Let's see what tge pmbg is to decide dose. I'd test when you fe home and then pmbg. I'm thinking .50 but let's see the numbers.
 
I agree with Elise (tiffmaxee), if she's still up around 200, a dose of .5 should help. Remember - the depot is now needing to reestablish. We'll be watching for your 4:30 post.
 
Elise - I was feeding both of the girls their canned wet food at the same time so usually 6 am was the normal time even before insulin since I get ready, go downstairs and get the girls fed, as they eat, I clean litter boxes and sweep up etc. I'm sorta OCD so this home testing now is right up my alley! LOL I'd say the only thing that I did change was I used to leave a dish of the Nulo Gold Series dry kibble out for Aurora and I wasn't stingy with it either so she'd have that to graze from all day long. I was concerned with her dandruff a few months ago and mentioned it at the pet store and they suggested the Fromm brand Wild Game bird flavor - so that was the dry kibble she was on at time of diagnosis. I had tried fish oil, salmon oil, groomer for a bath, nothing helped her flakes. After the diabetic diagnosis I looked at the bag of Fromm and saw how extremely high it was in carbs vs. the older Nulo Gold Series I was feeding so I returned the Fromm and got another bag of the Nulo. I did immediately stop free feeding Aurora the dry food and began to scale back and only give her a small handful in the morning and at night. Evenings when I get home around 4pm I was immediately feeding them wet food. Since Aurora got diagnosed, I didn't understand that it literally needs to be 12 hours apart so after her 1st curve test the vet said I need to make her wait and feed her wet food at 6pm so she's ready for shot at 615pm. So, that's pretty much been the routine.
Aurora is always begging for food she just goes crazy for her dry food so I have been using that to get her to eat and sprinkling some on top of the wet food so that's been a good compromise. This weekend though, without giving any insulin, I was giving them dinner earlier around 5pm.

THANK YOU so much to you all for your help!! I'm curious to see what her numbers will be tonight when I get home.
 
Wet food is of course preferred but if you absolutely need to give dry for her to eat Dr Elseys new dry chicken (salmon coming) is LC and we have had no puke or diarrhea. I am giving to my non diabetic dry addict and she is doing very good as opposed to the young again that she puked all over. My Dre with fd gets it for treats and no spikes.
 
I'm really trying to wean her off the dry but it's a slow process. I have a feeling that her previous owner only fed her dry. She was in the shelter for 11 months before she went to the shelter I got her from and again, they mostly only feed dry. I have significantly reduced the dry food consumption but it's going to take time to get her off it completely.
 
This is basically the same as it was this morning. She has nothing else healthwise going on and still gets a bit of dry food daily? Sorry, memory went on vacation...wish it had invited the rest of my body. :)

ETA: Feed her and let me consider for a few minutes...
 
Yep nothing else health wise that I'm aware of, her labs are posted to the spreadsheet. Yes, small amount of dry food daily but I regulate and dint free feed that anymore. I just fed wet food. I have to leave for gym shortly. I'll be back at 615 I can do another reading then and one more before bed if that helps.
 
2 options as I see them right now:

1) Let her run another cycle and see what happens - I'm not sure this is the best option. She's not lowering back down into near normal range by herself now. I feel like she'll go up from here and we don't want that....but I have no crystal ball.

2) Shoot a small dose - either .5 unit or 1 unit. I would suggest .5 for now. I think she may need a bit of help and pancreas needs rest.

Can you shoot now if #2 is choice? You can shoot again if needed at your 6:15am time tmw...14 hours would be OK just restarting...
 
Test again about +2.5 or +3 - food should be gone by then. On spreadsheet, note amount in evening U column and add comment in far column with time.
 
Sorry one other question what do you do when you have multiple updates for new test results I ran out of room on the topic header. Scratch my question I figured out I need to add commas
 
107 at +3.75
How do I properly enter 3/4 of an hour in the spreadsheet?
Just like that 107 @+3.75.
Sorry one other question what do you do when you have multiple updates for new test results I ran out of room on the topic header. Scratch my question I figured out I need to add commas
Delete the AMPS info, no space after commas in the title line.
You can enter the history: 05/01 AMps X, +2 XX, etc as a reply to your own post - this way it gets bumped up on the board.
Have you got any other test results yet?
 
I just got the evening chaos done...

+3.75 is 107....hum.....I know this is your bedtime but you really need to know she's not headed into dangerous territory at about +6. Can you possibly set an alarm and do a quick test then? We don't want a repeat of her drama...

I'd also leave her MC food when you go to bed...again, for drama queen's sake.

Likely no shot tmw morning until we see where she's going with this naturally. DEFINITELY not 1 unit! I don't trust even giving a shot into a bounce she may show. She and Rex (Mandy) are racing to get the 'tricky cat' award....
 
Ok last check before bed is 100
she's having a small snack before bed - yes it's dry kibble but just a little. Ok, just gave her more wet food as well.
 
Last edited:
Do you have a med carb food? I suspect she's going to go lower over the next 2-3 hours. I'd rather err on the side of safety and give higher carb wet food than have her go low again.

I don't like 'carbing up' a diabetic cat - it's against the goal of remission but Aurora didn't read the manual.
 
The carbs from the dry will be in her number tomorrow morning...due to that, raise that no shot number for tmw am to about 230. This isn't the usual Lantus approach by any means so PLEASE - anyone reading this - DON'T follow any of this!
 
Leave it to me to have the challenging kitties! Well, I gave her dry food in her dish and I just gave her 1/2 of the tiki cat can and she ate about 3/4 of what I put on her plate.
Now I'm scared, so what time if it's 9 36pm now central time do I need to check her again? What are some good higher carb wet foods I should go out and buy to have on hand?
 
I won't be on then nor your shot time tmw morning - I'll check on you when I get on. Likely 8:45 if hubby is strong, 9:15 if he's in partial paralysis.

You already know everything to do if she just has to take center stage...sassy little tortie...

.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top