5/1/15 Lucy AMPS=268 +4=272 PMPS=311 +6=283 Dose question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Voula

Member Since 2014
Today's readings are a little lower but still high and have been high for five cycles now since the lower readings a few days ago. If this is a bounce it seems to be a prolonged bounce. I have been thinking that maybe Lucy is producing more of her own insulin in response to food for short periods of time. I am wondering about this because at these times when she has had readings in the blues and greens food doesn't seem to affect her glucose levels too much whereas normally it does. I am not experienced in feline diabetes so my theory could make no sense. :)
My previous post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...31-4-304-pmps-306-question-about-dose.130894/
 
I'm a bit rusty on bounces. If I recall correctly they can last up to 3 somethings but I'm not 100% sure whether that's 3 cycles or 3 days, but I'm leaning towards 3 days. This cycle makes 3 days so hopefully you see some better numbers tonight.

It might be time to start thinking about an increase after that - but I'm also a bit rusty on dosing so seek advice from the experts before proceeding :)
 
Thank you Serryn. A few members have said a bounce can last for six cycles and we have one cycle to go so it might be time for a 0.25 unit increase in dose soon.
 
Are you following Tight Regulation or SLGS? Either way, I would increase. She hasn't seen green at all on this dose this time around. She has been on this dose for 12 cycles since her missed dose and her lowest was 128. It has been 7 cycles since her last blue. If she was going to go green, she probably would have done it by now.

The real reason we wait for a bounce to clear when a cat first starts getting good numbers on a dose is to see if the cat is going to be able to repeat that good number (or even better) when the bounce clears. She hit 120s, and she had a yellow preshot that she *could* have done something with, but she didn't. To me, that is plenty of signal that she needs more insulin. Is that what you are thinking?
 
Thank you Libby. I am thinking I should increase to 3 units from today as the readings are still high after six cycles since the lower readings a few days ago. We were doing SLGS but are doing TR now. Thank you for confirming what I thought I should do.
 
I increased to 3 units from this morning so see what happens with this dose.
 
Work that juice tonight Lucy, I'm sure your night owl mum would appreciate some action after this mornings efforts (yes I've been spying on your spread sheet!).

Re your PM my mum orders the B12 online from www.iherb.com the type she gets is Doctor's Best, Best Fully Active B12, 1500mcg capsules. It appears that they don't have a taste so mum just sprinkles it on Purrdy's food
 
Work that juice tonight Lucy, I'm sure your night owl mum would appreciate some action after this mornings efforts (yes I've been spying on your spread sheet!).

Re your PM my mum orders the B12 online from www.iherb.com the type she gets is Doctor's Best, Best Fully Active B12, 1500mcg capsules. It appears that they don't have a taste so mum just sprinkles it on Purrdy's food
Thank you Serryn for letting me know where your mum buys the B12 and yes hopefully we will start to see some positive benefits from the increased insulin dose soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top