5/05 FRED

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathleen and Fred

Member Since 2009
Did you think I'd fallen off the planet???

I've been working hard inside and out before the heat - coming this weekend - takes hold of Virginia and sends me inside.

I wanted to work with a sliding scale (posted under Notes on my SS) and also see if the food I'm giving Fred makes a difference. You may not think my sliding scale is very good, but I wanted to give you enough data to look at. AND I KNOW....I haven't tested throughout the day, so that isn't very helpful. But, give it a look - when you aren't working with a serious problem at this site - and tell me what you think.

Switching to all Sheba as of today.

Thanks bunches!!
 
I have been wondering about you and Fred! It looks like he is getting nice yellow preshots and doesn't seem to be bouncing.

The one time you upped the dose by a bit, your pmps was lower. (May 3rd) You could probably have shot that number with a smidge less, if you were sure it was rising and could monitor. That's probably the direction you could go, if you want. Be a little more daring, when you can monitor. Be ready to bring up a lower midcycle number with food. Maybe lower your no shoot number and plan to give smaller doses when you see those.

But I understand, if you can't monitor, that being a little more agressive isn't an option. He is in regulated numbers and there is nothing wrong with that.
 
Welcome back! It'll be nice to see how the food change and sliding scale affect Fred. He's in the sunshiny yellows so that is good. Hopefully this gets him where he needs to go (interesting too to see if being a bit daring when you're around produces good numbers).
 
Ok....I'm going to use the same scale (150-199, etc.) and try lowering the dose one notch down. So, where 150-199 used to be .6 on my old scale, I'm going to make it .4, etc. and see what happens. Might not post while I'm getting more data -- but I'll be back - and will check on "newbies".

Thanks
 
Ok....I'm going to use the same scale (150-199, etc.) and try lowering the dose one notch down. So, where 150-199 used to be .6 on my old scale, I'm going to make it .4, etc. and see what happens. Might not post while I'm getting more data -- but I'll be back - and will check on "newbies".

Thanks
 
I didn't explain myself well, Kathleen. I was thinking the opposite. :mrgreen: I liked the amps dose on May3rd and was thinking you could have shot the lower pmps instead of skipping, just giving a small dose that night, and monitoring.

Is that as clear as mud?
 
Will have to check, but I have never skipped a shot. Probably bad record-keeping. I thought the idea was to get him to use less and less insulin - not more. So, no, I don't understand what you think I should do. Sorry!
 
That's right, you gave .6 on the 166. Sorry.

What I am wondering is if the scale could move up a smidge. (yes, the objective is to give less and less insulin as the numbers go lower. But first, you have to have that downward trend.). I'd say he is fairly flat -almost always in the yellows at preshot. He is close to regulated, which is wonderful. But, if you want to push for OTJ, you could increase the doses.

If he were mine, I'd get some midcycle numbers to be sure he is in safe limits at nadir. If safe, I'd up the scale by maybe .1 or .2 at each range. I'd try that on a day you can monitor and see if he stays in safe but lower ranges. It is okay for him to be below 200 at prshot and to shoot that number, as long as you keep watch and make sure his nadirs don't drop in the 40s. And if they do, intervene with food. When you nadirs are below 50, then you back down on the dose.

Make any sense?
 
OK, I think I understand what you're saying. But, when I've tried higher doses with low preshots, he tends to bounce - or give me higher numbers next time. It's weird.

I'm going to stick with my new scale for a while longer (it's on the chart) and see where he goes. Then, when I can stay home (maybe next week) I'll do a "test day" and get a look at those nadirs. I may even try for numbers during the night (a REAL sacrifice!!). Frankly, my dream of OTJ is fading, but at least his pancreas is in the healing zone, which is good.

Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top