5/01 Sya AMPS 181 skip shot +2 417 +2.5 340

Status
Not open for further replies.

K. Sya and Sophie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Went to vet yesterday. He said the mucking about with the dry food was upsetting her tummy and just pick something and be consistent with it. Also to add in a spoon of pumpkin at each meal. I had moved forward already and taken her off the dry. I had backed off testing today out of frustration but thought the better of it this evening, and am ever glad I looked! This evening marks the first full 24 without dry and look where we are! Figuring as we're at +4 and all is well things aren't too dangerous tonight...am I being naive?? I noticed all day that she had more energy and seemed to be feeling better.
Dosing advice for tomorrow AM? AM for us is 5:30 Eastern standard so figure I should ask now. Can I shoot on a number like this? Should I pull back from 1.5?
 
Re: Sya +4 109!!! Surprised Suggestions for testing tonight?

well, since we have no preshot numbers today and little to no mid-cycle data to go on... this is virtually unknown territory for sya.
i'd get a +5 for starters and go from there.

tomorrow's dose... generally speaking, we suggest reductions of 0.25u if a newly diagnosed kitty drops below 50.
looks like you're going to need to step up the testing...
 
Re: Sya +4 109!!! Surprised Suggestions for testing tonight?

Sophie:

You are very, very lucky. Please test at +5. You do not know where the low point of Sya's cycle is and you do not know how fast she is dropping. You need to watch her numbers carefully because you are not data ready to shoot lower numbers. Please read this sticky.

Eliminating dry food and not testing could result in a major league hypo. Not testing at pre-shot could similarly cause you to shoot at a BG level you do not have data to support. We have had cats rapidly go into remission once the dry food was removed but you must test in order to manage the BG levels and know when to adjust your dose.

Please do not skip your pre-shot tests. There are generally people here in the early morning. It is very hard to predict nine hours in advance what a cat's BG level will be. Try to give yourself enough space so when you post in the morning, you have some window for the early crew to respond.
 
Re: Sya +4 109!!! Surprised Suggestions for testing tonight?

It just caught me off guard. I had read about the dangers of dry food elimination but I had her down to just 10 pieces AM and 10 PM...about 16th of a cup. Had no idea that small an amount would make such a difference.

BTW I'm K. Sophie is the grey civie in the picture next to Sya :lol:
 
Re: Sya PM +4 109 +5 76 +5.5 90

OK...that's a better direction. Had her Wellness snack with a little magic freeze dried chicken dust on it to make sure she ate it all. Showing all normal behaviors. Crisis averted or put on a pot of coffee and watch? (I have plans for AMPS at 4:30)
 
Re: Sya PM +4 109 +5 76 +5.5 90

Sorry about not knowing that you were K!

Please get a test in at +6. Numbers can sometimes bobble around. You want to get at least 2 rising/surfing numbers to make sure the trend is stable vs. dropping again. You're doing great!!
 
Re: Sya PM +4 109 +5 76 +5.5 90

since we have no idea when sya's nadir is, it would be a good idea to retest in 30 minutes to make sure the numbers continue to rise. when you do go to bed, leave plenty of food out for sya to nibble on should the numbers bobble up and down a bit...
 
Re: Sya PM +4 109 +5 76 +5.5 90

Will do. Very fortunate that Sya is such a tolerant kitty. As long as the treat comes when the meter beeps...all is well. Its funny because when her sister hears the microwave warming up the rice sock she comes running because she knows treats come soon after. Will post again soon
 
Re: Sya PM +4 109 +5 76 +5.5 90

Lol!! My civie patiently waits for treats after I'm finished testing Gabby. He'll actually come running when I call Gabby. Who said you can't train a cat? (They will work for treats!)
 
Re: Sya PM +4 109 +5 76 +5.5 90 +6 93

OK, I think I can breathe now. Other than a blood drop on my shirt when I lost hold of the ear on the last test, I think we came through this OK. Lesson learned.... Will post AMPS at 4:30ish. Thank you so much for walking me through this. :-D
 
Re: Sya PM +4 109 +5 76 +5.5 90 +6 93

not a problem. someone is always here to help.
you did great tonight! don't forget to leave food out for sya...
goodnight!
 
Re: Sya AMPS 181 Don't know what to give her today

I'm thrilled about the numbers, angry with myself for not having enough data to shoot low, scared to give her 1.5 units. Pls help. :sad:
 
Re: Sya AMPS 181 What dosage today????

Am thinking I'm gonna go with the most conservative option. The ladies have had their breakfast. Gonna not do this dose and re-test in 2 hours. Better to have to refill the shed than crash my kitty I guess
 
Re: 5/01 Sya AMPS 181 What dosage today????

Hi I am sorry nobody was here to help you this morning. What is your usual AMPS time....how many + hours are you past that time?
 
Re: 5/01 Sya AMPS 181 skipped shot +2 417

Oh my . Taking my baby on a roller coaster. AMPS was 5AM Eastern. Normal shot is 5:30AM. We are +2 and 15 minutes from when we were supposed to shoot
 
Re: 5/01 Sya AMPS 181 skipped shot +2 417

If you shoot now will this mess up your schedule too much. If you are around on the weekend you will be able to make up some time. This is pretty high so you don't want to skip the shot.
 
Re: 5/01 Sya AMPS 181 What dosage today????

Testing is VITAL, so please ensure that you ALWAYS get the ps.
I may not like to see the numbers, but it's better than not knowing, shooting, and then having to deal with a hypo situation.

The testing does not hurt, and the more info you have, the more you know how Sya is reacting to the insulin.

I can't comment on the dose you should shoot or when, but I don't see 181 as high.
You could test sooner than in 2 hours, and if Sya's number is going up, you should be OK to shoot. I did that exact thing this morn, but I tested again in 15min.

As Miriam said, where are you now in time, and have you tested again to see which way Sya's numbers are headed?
 
Re: 5/01 Sya AMPS 181 skipped shot +2 417

Please retest this number before you shoot.....it could be rebound from the green last night but this is a big jump in 2 hours.
 
Re: 5/01 Sya AMPS 181 skipped shot +2 417

So do I shoot now? If so, what with? Do I keep testing and shoot regular dose at the end of the morning cycle? I was following the options on the sticky of what to do if you don't really have the data to shoot low numbers...thats why I skipped. I did just what it said. Skip and test again in a few hours after feeding.
 
Re: 5/01 Sya AMPS 181 skipped shot +2 417

Good morning K. Sorry no one was around to help you this morning.

I have a question, are you in the position to give a little play in Sya's dosing times?
 
Re: 5/01 Sya AMPS 181 skipped shot +2 417

Today and tomorrow yes. I can go a bit late Monday AM...just have to get somebody to cover my homeroom in the AM
 
Re: 5/01 Sya AMPS 181 skipped shot +2 417

When you get a number you are not comfortable shooting one of the options is to stall....DON'T feed and retest in 15 minutes.
If you are around this weekend I would shoot the full dose right now but get another test right before you shoot.
You really cannot wait any longer.
 
Re: 5/01 Sya AMPS 181 skipped shot +2 417

I agree with Miriam. Time to shoot! Get some tests throughout the day and schedule next dose 12 hours from now....of course you can adjust schedule to get back to your regular shot time by 15-30 minutes.
 
Re: 5/01 Sya AMPS 181 skipped shot +2 417

You have your hc/lc food and plenty of strips, right? Just got to remember that you can control the drop with food. And, unlike earlier, there will be several folks around to help you out and give you moral support! You can do this!!!
 
Re: 5/01 Sya AMPS 181 skipped shot +2 417

I don't think you have any hypo worries today but this would be a good day to collect some data.
Since you shot 2 hours late you need to wait 12 hours to shoot again although you may be able to make up some time tonight. Make sure you get a +11 and post to see if you have a number you can shoot a little early to get back to your regular schedule.

There will be people checking in and out all day I am sure so if you need help somebody will be here.
Could you change your subject line to reflect the correct AMPS and note in your spreadsheet how late you shot. :smile:
 
Re: 5/01 Sya AMPS 181 skipped shot +2 417

Now what! I screwed up and fur shot. Wet hand..can smell it on my hand. Doubt any got in :oops: :cry: I hate this
 
Re: 5/01 Sya AMPS 181 skipped shot +2 417

Well fur shots happen. Do not shoot again because you don't have any idea how much actually got in.
Now you will be able to shoot on schedule tonight. Get a +2 anyway just to make sure.....maybe some did get through.
 
K -

Let me suggest that you open an entirely new condo for today. We open a new condo every day (the rule is one condo, per cat, per day) and link the prior day's condo to the new one. (You cut and paste the entire http://felinediabetes.com... location from the top of your browser to the new condo.)

I would summarize what happened this morning in the text -- unsure about dose, you were going to skip the shot, others encouraged you to shoot late, and then the dreaded fur shot!

Also, a bit of posting convention that will, hopefully make sense. AMPS - is you AM pre-shot value. The +1, +2, etc. are the times from when you shot. The times imply that you actually gave insulin. Since you furshot, the "clock" never changed. So, your subject line would read:
5/01 Sya AMPS 181 +14 417, +14.5 340​
People will either understand that you gave a fur shot or will read your note to find out what happened.

You did great with regard to reading what to do if you are unsure about what to shoot. Miriam and Deb are among the early risers and can help you to think through your options. We generally try to not skip a shot unless it is the only and best alternative (e.g., a PS value in the 40s or 50s -- although some people here have the data to shoot those numbers). You may need to think about whether stalling a shot will work for your weekday schedule -- from what you've said, it's usually not feasible. When you do stall, your next shot is 12 hours from whenever you actually shot so you then need to slowly migrate the time back to your usual shot time. (It can get a little complicated!) A better option, depending on the numbers may be a reduced dose (or a BCS - big chicken sh*t - dose). We'll help you walk through it the next time.
 
Oh, crappers, a fur shot! It happens to the best of us, but it looks like Sya is bringing herself down some. Keeping my fingers crossed that things look good for you today.

I will be leaving soon to go to tbp, but looks like you will be in good hand!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top