4PM major dose concerns/low glucose/high glucose

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
Corky had a good night but woke up with high glucose with very high number with AMPS 334 BG and rising
 
Maria --

I'm going to try to explain this again. Several members have tried to communicate that what you're seeing with Corky's numbers is normal in a cat that is not yet regulated.

First -- There's no test data on Corky's spreadsheet past mid-cycle yesterday. Please make sure your spreadsheet is up to date.

When a cat's numbers drop into a range that the cat is no longer used to, their body has a reaction to the lower numbers. The numbers do not have to be in a dangerously low range. They can simply be in a range that because your cat's diabetes has been developing over time, your cat isn't used to experiencing normal blood glucose levels. If the numbers drop quickly, your cat's body may also react. The reaction involves the liver and pancreas releasing a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. This causes numbers to spike upward. The higher numbers are an expected result of what we refer to as a "bounce." It can take several cycles/days for the bounce to clear although, Corky is clearing the bounces fairly quickly and once he does drop back into lower numbers, he bounces again.

Does this help to put the pattern into perspective?
 
Maria --

I'm going to try to explain this again. Several members have tried to communicate that what you're seeing with Corky's numbers is normal in a cat that is not yet regulated.

First -- There's no test data on Corky's spreadsheet past mid-cycle yesterday. Please make sure your spreadsheet is up to date.

When a cat's numbers drop into a range that the cat is no longer used to, their body has a reaction to the lower numbers. The numbers do not have to be in a dangerously low range. They can simply be in a range that because your cat's diabetes has been developing over time, your cat isn't used to experiencing normal blood glucose levels. If the numbers drop quickly, your cat's body may also react. The reaction involves the liver and pancreas releasing a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. This causes numbers to spike upward. The higher numbers are an expected result of what we refer to as a "bounce." It can take several cycles/days for the bounce to clear although, Corky is clearing the bounces fairly quickly and once he does drop back into lower numbers, he bounces again.

Does this help to put the pattern into perspective?

thank you for this information very helpful and relieving. I don't believe I will take the job I got, I cannot leave him with these bouncing numbers, I wanted to work a p/t to be able to afford his ProZinc, I cannot fit it in my squeezed budget, after paying my essentials which is all I have, I'd be blessed i if I'm left with $10 in my bank account for the month dare not, leave him like this condition I could find him dead or half dead I would forgive. I'm sure I made the right decision, Now I have to find a way to obtain his ProZinc myself, I believe that your explanation answered my doubt about leaving him for 4-6 hours. Thank you
 
Please reduce Corky's dose.

Whenever his dose falls below 90, you need to reduce the dose by 0.25u. Your new dose for tonight is 1.0u.

Maria -- if your finances are that tight, you can manage Corky's diabetes and work. I worked full time throughout my cat's time with diabetes. It will get easier. Right now, you are overreacting to every change you see with Corky's numbers. Look at my cat's spreadsheet. (There's a lot of data over a lot of years there so don't get overwhelmed.) Or look at the spreadsheet of other members who have used Prozinc. (I used Lantus.) The point is that you can't keep having panic attacks with every shift in Corky's numbers. You are clearly devoted to your kitty. If you need to work to help support the costs, that's what you need to do.
 
Please reduce Corky's dose.

Whenever his dose falls below 90, you need to reduce the dose by 0.25u. Your new dose for tonight is 1.0u.

Maria -- if your finances are that tight, you can manage Corky's diabetes and work. I worked full time throughout my cat's time with diabetes. It will get easier. Right now, you are overreacting to every change you see with Corky's numbers. Look at my cat's spreadsheet. (There's a lot of data over a lot of years there so don't get overwhelmed.) Or look at the spreadsheet of other members who have used Prozinc. (I used Lantus.) The point is that you can't keep having panic attacks with every shift in Corky's numbers. You are clearly devoted to your kitty. If you need to work to help support the costs, that's what you need to do.


you are right, but guess what for a couple of days I've been feeling run down I thought it was the exhaustion, from all this, yesterday sore that today coughing sneezing an hour ago I did a home test I saw it positive but i had to go to CVS showed it to her and yes is positive Can my baby's get it?
 
No. I don't believe Covid is transmissible between humans and their pets. If you recall, during the height of the pandemic, people were adopting dogs and cats and clearing out the shelters. If the virus was transmissible between humans and their companion animals, those adoptions would likely not have happened.
 
I just tested positive for Covid, I'm only systematic. can my cats become contagious??
I am mostly concerned for my Corky and his diabetes.

.
 
@mayte
Maria you were supposed to give Corky 1 unit for his PMPS to night(9-2)
like @Sienne and Gabby (GA) told you in post #4
I see you only gave him 0.25 units that's not correct
You dont give 0.25 units that's what you reduce by
So you should have given 1 unit
You also need to fill in on your spreadsheet how many units you gave on 9-1 the night cycle
Can you please reply
 
Last edited:
Maria -

I don't know how to say this more gently. We can't help you if you don't read what we post. Ultimately, what you do is your decision. You are posting in panic mode and ignoring the guidance we've been trying to offer. What I've observed over the years is that if a member consistently ignores what experienced members suggest, they stop offering assistance. That includes the Moderators. There are a lot of people who ask for help and our time is limited. If you don't read what we post, we'll help people who are paying attention.
 
@mayte
I see you gave 0.25 units again this morning instead of 1 unit that you were told to give last night
You need to read what the members say to you and so we know that you read it please tap the word like that's to the right .
 
Maria, are these numbers still from the Libre?

Are you sure about the 63 and 65? Is it possible there was a “1” in front of those numbers (i.e., 163 and 165)?

The Libre can give wonky numbers sometimes, especially in the lower ranges, so it’s a good idea to double-check with a hand held meter when you see a number that causes question.

Hope you’re feeling better. Covid is no fun. :(
 
Maria, are these numbers still from the Libre?

Are you sure about the 63 and 65? Is it possible there was a “1” in front of those numbers (i.e., 163 and 165)?

The Libre can give wonky numbers sometimes, especially in the lower ranges, so it’s a good idea to double-check with a hand held meter when you see a number that causes question.

Hope you’re feeling better. Covid is no fun. :(

yes those ARE the true numbers I placed an another
monitor just in case but like you I find it very strange he's goes from 200 and 15 minutes later 66-59
and YES Covid sucks thank you for you're well wishes
 
@mayte
Maria you were supposed to give Corky 1 unit for his PMPS to night(9-2)
like @Sienne and Gabby (GA) told you in post #4
I see you only gave him 0.25 units that's not correct
You dont give 0.25 units that's what you reduce by
So you should have given 1 unit
You also need to fill in on your spreadsheet how many units you gave on 9-1 the night cycle
Can you please reply

I got two answers on the amount of dose I should be giving Corky the last one wea by Rober of 0.25
and actually has worked
 
I have no idea who you are referring to that gave you dosing information. Could you please make sure you have the member's name noted correctly along with where the post is located? (You can link the thread.)
 
Maria

You have too many separate threads going. Please just keep posting in this one only until it gets to be 50 posts long. The number of posts in a thread is in the lower right corner.

I got two answers on the amount of dose I should be giving Corky the last one wea by Rober of 0.25
and actually has worked
I also couldn’t find any reference from anyone for you to give 0.25u. I hope you are feeling better.
 
I got two answers on the amount of dose I should be giving Corky the last one wea by Rober of 0.25
and actually has worked
@mayte
Maria you were told to give 1 unit on 9-2 Saturday night cycle
See post #4 and my post #8
You need to read what the members say to you and so we know that you read them please tap the word like that's to the right .
 
Last edited:
Maria --

I'm going to try to explain this again. Several members have tried to communicate that what you're seeing with Corky's numbers is normal in a cat that is not yet regulated.

First -- There's no test data on Corky's spreadsheet past mid-cycle yesterday. Please make sure your spreadsheet is up to date.

When a cat's numbers drop into a range that the cat is no longer used to, their body has a reaction to the lower numbers. The numbers do not have to be in a dangerously low range. They can simply be in a range that because your cat's diabetes has been developing over time, your cat isn't used to experiencing normal blood glucose levels. If the numbers drop quickly, your cat's body may also react. The reaction involves the liver and pancreas releasing a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. This causes numbers to spike upward. The higher numbers are an expected result of what we refer to as a "bounce." It can take several cycles/days for the bounce to clear although, Corky is clearing the bounces fairly quickly and once he does drop back into lower numbers, he bounces again.

Does this help to put the pattern into perspective?


from my end, my spread sheet every single hour of the day has been posted, I have had this complain from several members, is today that I will not to fulfill all hours since I am down with Covid and feeling miserable , but you will still see BGs I have a hard time where to see the answers to my questions posted and where to post I've also been told by members that I'm posting health issues in the wrong platform I have been very confused about that I guess between Corky and this Covid that seems to have caught me for at east a week now I have all the systems, I apologize give me a bit to get this right I do not want to upset or frustrate any of you I need all of your help, there is a post if I am not mistaken I'm sure that advised me to dose 0.25 that I wouldn't get wrong I believe it came from Robert, I've also been question about the low BG such as 63, and 65 if there was not a 1 before those number, I am confused not crazy, I may not have read posts very thoroughly but I will from this day, but when it comes to Corky's #'s I do not faulter. Also today I started to use the ReliON, difficult find and draw the blood, it's just time for both us to get use to it I try and try until we get it right I've been watching tutotrials while in bed to learn. thank you always for your advises
 
The Feline Health board -- this place -- is where all new members are asked to post. It is fine for you to continue to post here whether the content is about your cat, diabetes, or any health issues. If someone suggested you post in a different forum, that's not entirely correct information.

I have no idea who Robert is. I know I gave you information about reducing the dose as did other, very experienced members. To be repetitive:
  • If Corky's numbers drop below 90, you reduce the dose by 0.25u. So you new dose should have been 1.0u.
I suspect you misunderstood and thought that you were being told to reduce the dose to 0.25u. There are dosing instructions for Prozinc in this post which has been previously linked for your use.

You do not need to test Corky every single hour. The spreadsheet is set up on an hourly basis since we have no idea what anyone's schedule is or when they will test. It also is broken down so we can tell how many hours past shot time you are testing. These are the +times across the top of the spreadsheet. If you are switching over to using the Relion, you will need to get a minimum of 4 tests per day. You will need to always get your pre-shot tests (i.e., the AMPS and PMPS tests) and at least one additional test during both the day and evening cycles. I typically suggest that you get a "before bed" test every night so you know if your cat's numbers are in a safe range before you go to sleep. Getting tests around the middle of the cycle when numbers are generally lower is also helpful. You make dosing decisions based on how low a dose is bringing your cat's blood glucose numbers.

If you have a question, putting the time (e.g., 4 PM) in your subject line isn't helpful. I have no idea what time zone you're in or even if you are in the US. For example, Bron is in Australia and Bhooma (Bandit's Mom) is in India. The time on the clock is meaningless. It looks like 4:00 PM is your PMPS. Putting the the time in relation to when you're giving or have given insulin is much more informative. Your post will get more attention if you had posted PMPS 367 and something about needing help.
 
@mayte
I see you gave 0.25 units again this morning instead of 1 unit that you were told to give last night
You need to read what the members say to you and so we know that you read it please tap the word like that's to the right .

i succeeded with the RliOn like a walk in the park that that's what I will be using from now on no more FreeStyle2
very unreliable and every other day I had call the company for a replacement, so if you to read ReliON if would want you can change my spreadsheet already. after the third try I got it, anything for my Corky again, thank you
 
The Feline Health board -- this place -- is where all new members are asked to post. It is fine for you to continue to post here whether the content is about your cat, diabetes, or any health issues. If someone suggested you post in a different forum, that's not entirely correct information.

I have no idea who Robert is. I know I gave you information about reducing the dose as did other, very experienced members. To be repetitive:
  • If Corky's numbers drop below 90, you reduce the dose by 0.25u. So you new dose should have been 1.0u.
I suspect you misunderstood and thought that you were being told to reduce the dose to 0.25u. There are dosing instructions for Prozinc in this post which has been previously linked for your use.
thank you I feel better now, I'm relieved with thr ReliON
You do not need to test Corky every single hour. The spreadsheet is set up on an hourly basis since we have no idea what anyone's schedule is or when they will test. It also is broken down so we can tell how many hours past shot time you are testing. These are the +times across the top of the spreadsheet. If you are switching over to using the Relion, you will need to get a minimum of 4 tests per day. You will need to always get your pre-shot tests (i.e., the AMPS and PMPS tests) and at least one additional test during both the day and evening cycles. I typically suggest that you get a "before bed" test every night so you know if your cat's numbers are in a safe range before you go to sleep. Getting tests around the middle of the cycle when numbers are generally lower is also helpful. You make dosing decisions based on how low a dose is bringing your cat's blood glucose numbers.

If you have a question, putting the time (e.g., 4 PM) in your subject line isn't helpful. I have no idea what time zone you're in or even if you are in the US. For example, Bron is in Australia and Bhooma (Bandit's Mom) is in India. The time on the clock is meaningless. It looks like 4:00 PM is your PMPS. Putting the the time in relation to when you're giving or have given insulin is much more informative. Your post will get more attention if you had posted PMPS 367 and something about needing help.

thank you for this message I feel better now, and yes Corky is back on 1.0 it is a relief to change to ReliOn that is one of my major stresses I'm getting happier now and more relaxed I truly believe it was the inaquadecy of the FreeLibre that had me recked.
 
There's also a chance that members were questioning the lower numbers since there's been an issue with the Libre reading lower than other meters. Since I know that money is tight, it's good you made the decision to switch to the Relion. The Libre2 is being discontinued and you would need to buy a Libre3. The Relion occasionally gets upgraded but you can still find inexpensive strips.
 
Maria on your spreadsheet you have 73 @+ 9 for tonight (9-4?) How could that be, you're in Florida most likely Eastern time
Where did that come from? Also since you are strictly going to use the Relion Meter please remove Freestyle Libre from your signature , just tap on your name up top then tap in signature and remove it then tap save
Also on your spreadsheet where it asks you what meter you are using just have it say Relion
Not Libre but using Relion soon
@mayte
 
Maria on your spreadsheet you have 73 @+ 9 for tonight (9-4?) How could that be, you're in Florida most likely Eastern time
Where did that come from? Also since you are strictly going to use the Relion Meter please remove Freestyle Libre from your signature , just tap on your name up top then tap in signature and remove it then tap save
Also on your spreadsheet where it asks you what meter you are using just have it say Relion
Not Libre but using Relion soon
@mayte


thank you it was an error and also changed the testing method
 
from my end, my spread sheet every single hour of the day has been posted, I have had this complain from several members, is today that I will not to fulfill all hours since I am down with Covid and feeling miserable , but you will still see BGs I have a hard time where to see the answers to my questions posted and where to post I've also been told by members that I'm posting health issues in the wrong platform I have been very confused about that I guess between Corky and this Covid that seems to have caught me for at east a week now I have all the systems, I apologize give me a bit to get this right I do not want to upset or frustrate any of you I need all of your help, there is a post if I am not mistaken I'm sure that advised me to dose 0.25 that I wouldn't get wrong I believe it came from Robert, I've also been question about the low BG such as 63, and 65 if there was not a 1 before those number, I am confused not crazy, I may not have read posts very thoroughly but I will from this day, but when it comes to Corky's #'s I do not faulter. Also today I started to use the ReliON, difficult find and draw the blood, it's just time for both us to get use to it I try and try until we get it right I've been watching tutotrials while in bed to learn. thank you always for your advises
I will fix the Spreadsheet & signature for you on the meter.
 
I will fix the Spreadsheet & signature for you on the meter.

sorry just got out of bed, I feel miserable. What is best color for Corky to usually be for hid BG ? I love this ReliOn, it's like taking a tow truck off my shoulders I was obsessed with the monitor; by the way I am expecting a new complete set of monitor and sensor plus 3 other sensors, also the monitor I have. I would like to pay it forward, by donating them to anyone in need as I was with the syringes and ProZinc, I should be getting the package today keep me posted
 
I'm not entirely sure what you're asking.

What does this mean:
What is best color for Corky to usually be for hid BG ?
I have no idea what "hid BG" is.

What is it you want to donate? Is it a Relion meter or the Libre + sensors? If you have materials you wish to donate, there is a page called Supply Closet where you can do so.
 
I'm not entirely sure what you're asking.

What does this mean: I have no idea what "hid BG" is.

What is it you want to donate? Is it a Relion meter or the Libre + sensors? If you have materials you wish to donate, there is a page called Supply Closet where you can do so.

The Libre monitors (2) (4) sensors 1 comes in with the new monitor

I need immediate help, Corky for the 1st time in 10 years has diarrhea, a bit semi hard but the rest gravy thick like he's feeding/dose is at 4 PM what can I do
 
I'm not entirely sure what you're asking.

What does this mean: I have no idea what "hid BG" is.

What is it you want to donate? Is it a Relion meter or the Libre + sensors? If you have materials you wish to donate, there is a page called Supply Closet where you can do so.

I meant his glucose numbers I just posted on the Health Forum an important concern please adivise
 
sorry just got out of bed, I feel miserable. What is best color for Corky to usually be for hid BG ? I love this ReliOn, it's like taking a tow truck off my shoulders I was obsessed with the monitor; by the way I am expecting a new complete set of monitor and sensor plus 3 other sensors, also the monitor I have. I would like to pay it forward, by donating them to anyone in need as I was with the syringes and ProZinc, I should be getting the package today keep me posted

his glucose number
 
@mayte Maria, when did you give Karo syrup today?* Was it at the 109 (106?) reading a few hours before the PM shot? If so, I don’t believe that was needed. That was a safe number and Karo likely only increased his BG unnecessarily high at the PMPS.

We want to see how low a dose takes Corky without Karo so we know whether he’s earned a decrease. If you’re concerned and the BG and it’s over 90, you can feed low-carb snack instead and then retest again later. (If it’s lower than 90, post and ask for help)

By the way, last night’s 89 earned Corky a dose reduction. His new dose is 0.75 u.

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Marje and Gracie
I know you’ve all been help Maria and I’m not trying intervene. Do you agree with the above? (I suggested posting for help below 90 for simplicity)

*edited to add: there was originally a note in the spreadsheet about giving Karo syrup in the afternoon due to dropping number; it seems to no longer be there.
 
Last edited:
@mayte Maria, when did you give Karo syrup today? Was it at the 109 reading a few hours before the PM shot? If so, I don’t believe that was needed. That was a safe number and Karo likely only increased his BG unnecessarily high at the PMPS.

We want to see how low a dose takes Corky without Karo so we know whether he’s earned a decrease. If you’re concerned and the BG and it’s over 90, you can feed low-carb snack instead and then retest again later. (If it’s lower than 90, post and ask for help)

By the way, last night’s 89 earned Corky a dose reduction. His new dose is 0.75 u.

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Marje and Gracie
I know you’ve all been help Maria and I’m not trying intervene. Do you agree with the above? (I suggested posting for help below 90 for simplicity)
I just looked at his spreadsheet & he dropped down to 69 tonight. She is still giving 1 unit even after the 89. I hope she gets on before his AMPS dose & sees these comments.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top