492 @ +6 what's going on here

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rick & Mr. Grey

Member Since 2012
Day 2 of 4u Lantus. What is going on why is the nadir so high even after the newly increased dose. I fed him at AMPS a meal of Wellness wet Chix mixed with some cooked beef. It's almost all protein ! Then gave him his shot.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=87885
 
Could be new dose wonkiness - the body just isn't used to the dose, or the speed of the drop, and reacts to release glycogen from the liver, which gets converted to glucose. (Note: I am not an expert on lantus TR dosing)

Check out my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools and see what some of those less specific measures tell you about him - a "Whoe Cat Report". It isn't just about the numbers; you want to see some improvement in appetite, thirst, elimination, and behavior, plus no ketones.
 
Within the first couple of days after you increase the dose, some cats numbers go up rather than come down. I realize this is counterintuitive, but it happens. In fact, it occurs with enough frequency that we have a name for it -- new dose wonkiness (NDW). Give the dose a bit more time and we'll see how Mr. Grey is doing.
 
BG 540 @ PMPS :cry: !!! I hope this is that NDW- new dose wonkiness I've been told of. Maybe he ate lots of grass being outside today for 8 hours which is probably high in carbs... I dunno...
 
Cats can't digest grass.. Not being herbivores.. So if there are carbs in it , it just passes through them. Or they throw it up.

Wellness what? Chix? What is a chix?
 
I hear ya about your grass theory. I think it was just a spike.. Chix is short for "Chicken"... I remember seeing this on a restaurant receipt once and it stuck ;-) . I will stop using it if it's too nondescript and or confusing. Lemme know if there is a better abbreviation for chicken out there...
 
Hi,

Gobbles' has bouts of the wonkies and pinks, reds and an occasional black, number. Hang in there :)

How is Mr. Grey cat acting? Gobbles has a lot of pink and red numbers, but many times also has the five "P"s...(BJM's Secondary Monitory Tools)...how's Mr. Grey's Ps??

Let us know :)
 
I thought so but just wanted to check in case you were in some country where there is a weird flavour out there. Its got the yellow grain free tab on it right?
 
I once heard this story about this woman whose cat was getting fat. She put him on a diet and he kept gaining weight. So she put a note on his collar saying "if you feed this cat please call me at...". She got 10 calls.
 
Wow thanks great suggestion about possible neighbor feedings going on. I know he goes out into a forest and I also know that he is king of the jungle and has no problems eating the endless supply of mice out here. Seen him in action many times. I know how he is towards strangers so I doubt he'd get close to a house that might have feed out. When he's out in the wild the only person he will come to is me from my call or if he sees me. :-D
 
I know the high numbers are hard to look at. Maybe it will make you feel a bit better to know that this is not that uncommon for a Lantus cat just starting out. Most of the time what we see is a whole lot of flat nothingness, dose increase after dose increase, until all of a sudden BAM! He hits a good dose and then there are great numbers everywhere, out of the blue. Mr. Grey probably just isn't at his good dose yet.

If you haven't already, take a look at our Tight Regulation Protocol sticky. Rather than sitting for so long on a dose that isn't working, try doing dose increases on a little quicker schedule (every 6) until he starts seeing more movement. That should get him to a good dose more quickly and will still be safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top