49@+3

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Very Active Member
Corky at AMPS had a BG of 103, needless to say @ +3 he hit 49, I gave 1ml of Karo, he's back to 71 @9:30 as a quick fix, as I always do , not to take my own advice as face value, I would like to get another view to reduce come PMPS:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Hi Maria. Since Corky is a long term diabetic (diagnosed more than a year ago) a single drop to below 50 doesn’t mean that you must reduce. It’s strange how you have shot 1.25 units with even lower preshot numbers and he hasn’t dropped below 50. This morning, when you saw he was at 64 at only +2, you should have given a little higher carbs for the +2 snack. That probably would have prevented the drop to 49. If Corky were my cat, I probably would not reduce based on a single drop to 49. You can always consider a one-time reduction to 1 unit or a skinny 1.25 if his preshot is below 100 — but again, you have shot lower numbers before without lime green so maybe this is just a one-time event.
 
Hi Maria. Since Corky is a long term diabetic (diagnosed more than a year ago) a single drop to below 50 doesn’t mean that you must reduce. It’s strange how you have shot 1.25 units with even lower preshot numbers and he hasn’t dropped below 50. This morning, when you saw he was at 64 at only +2, you should have given a little higher carbs for the +2 snack. That probably would have prevented the drop to 49. If Corky were my cat, I probably would not reduce based on a single drop to 49. You can always consider a one-time reduction to 1 unit or a skinny 1.25 if his preshot is below 100 — but again, you have shot lower numbers before without lime green so maybe this is just a one-time event.

thank you for your advice. no reduction then, the reason for me asking was because the last time he hit the 40's you requested a reduction, I did not think he needed it either since his number are the same as before hitting the 40's, I for his own good, I did not want to make that decision alone. thanks Suzanne, have a great evening:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
The last lime green I see on his spreadsheet is 10/15. I left it up to you as to whether you wanted to reduce or not. He was getting a fat dose at that time so I believe the decision was made to just cut out the fat part of the dose :)

Also, the decision is still yours if you want to reduce now. I would not. I would hold and if he keeps on doing it, he may actually need a reduction. If he gives you a low number again at +2 when the insulin kicks in then definitely give higher carbs closer to ten percent and see if that doesn’t help.
 
The last lime green I see on his spreadsheet is 10/15. I left it up to you as to whether you wanted to reduce or not. He was getting a fat dose at that time so I believe the decision was made to just cut out the fat part of the dose :)

Also, the decision is still yours if you want to reduce now. I would not. I would hold and if he keeps on doing it, he may actually need a reduction. If he gives you a low number again at +2 when the insulin kicks in then definitely give higher carbs closer to ten percent and see if that doesn’t help.
I know is my decision but yours is also comforting, I shot the same dose 1.25 we will see tomorrow and follow your protocol if needed at +2. Thank you again:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
The last lime green I see on his spreadsheet is 10/15. I left it up to you as to whether you wanted to reduce or not. He was getting a fat dose at that time so I believe the decision was made to just cut out the fat part of the dose :)

Also, the decision is still yours if you want to reduce now. I would not. I would hold and if he keeps on doing it, he may actually need a reduction. If he gives you a low number again at +2 when the insulin kicks in then definitely give higher carbs closer to ten percent and see if that doesn’t help.

Thank you to all those that responded to my concern on this post, It's me, getting nervous still to this day to do the right thing for Corky, even when I now advise newcomers, I still have my doubts after all this time about if and when to change his dose, that second input has always been reassuring to me:bighug::bighug::bighug:;):joyful::cat::cat:
 
Corky did great all day and night yesterday!! . What are you doing for Thanksgiving, Maria?
Corky did great all day and night yesterday!! . What are you doing for Thanksgiving, Maria?

Yes he did have a good cycle, well for Thanksgiving I’ll be spending it with my neighbors. We will gather different dishes amongst the 2 next door neighbors they have adopted me in in their families, I am blessed to have two amazing neigbors, and you, going to your cabin or spending it with family I hope
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top