Hi Maria. Since Corky is a long term diabetic (diagnosed more than a year ago) a single drop to below 50 doesn’t mean that you must reduce. It’s strange how you have shot 1.25 units with even lower preshot numbers and he hasn’t dropped below 50. This morning, when you saw he was at 64 at only +2, you should have given a little higher carbs for the +2 snack. That probably would have prevented the drop to 49. If Corky were my cat, I probably would not reduce based on a single drop to 49. You can always consider a one-time reduction to 1 unit or a skinny 1.25 if his preshot is below 100 — but again, you have shot lower numbers before without lime green so maybe this is just a one-time event.
I know is my decision but yours is also comforting, I shot the same dose 1.25 we will see tomorrow and follow your protocol if needed at +2. Thank you againThe last lime green I see on his spreadsheet is 10/15. I left it up to you as to whether you wanted to reduce or not. He was getting a fat dose at that time so I believe the decision was made to just cut out the fat part of the dose
Also, the decision is still yours if you want to reduce now. I would not. I would hold and if he keeps on doing it, he may actually need a reduction. If he gives you a low number again at +2 when the insulin kicks in then definitely give higher carbs closer to ten percent and see if that doesn’t help.
The last lime green I see on his spreadsheet is 10/15. I left it up to you as to whether you wanted to reduce or not. He was getting a fat dose at that time so I believe the decision was made to just cut out the fat part of the dose
Also, the decision is still yours if you want to reduce now. I would not. I would hold and if he keeps on doing it, he may actually need a reduction. If he gives you a low number again at +2 when the insulin kicks in then definitely give higher carbs closer to ten percent and see if that doesn’t help.
Likewise and gave a great weekendCorky has a better +2 this morning. I bet he has another nice cycle today. Have a wonderful day, Maria!
Corky did great all day and night yesterday!! . What are you doing for Thanksgiving, Maria?
Corky did great all day and night yesterday!! . What are you doing for Thanksgiving, Maria?