,

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: I think I need some help - NOW

So now see that you are at pmps. I would test again in 15 -20 minutes. Will she eat some regular lo carb food?
 
Re: I think I need some help - NOW

Yes, she'll eat. But, with lev, I understand that the food will be a 'false' rise and really last.

She was shot @5.30am and is due in 11 mins, 5.30 EDST
 
Re: I think I need some help - NOW

Don't use your insulin but that is a really long surf considering the +6 number. If you don't want to feed her, I would test again to make sure she is not going further down.
 
Re: I think I need some help - NOW

Looks like a rise. But with the 20% variance, basically the same number. Looks like Lori is on; she uses Levemir.
 
Re: I think I need some help - NOW

K, I feed her.
+11 - +12 is her nadir.

And she's rising. So, I think we're just fine. I was a little panicked.

Thank you all for your help

Yes, I'm talking to Lori
 
Re: I think I need some help - NOW

0.6u seems like a good choice. You can always go back up if the reduction doesn't hold! You don't have to necessarily wait for 90+, just a noticeably rising number.
 
Re: I think I need some help - NOW

I think I messed up that post about shooting a reduced dose of 0.6u .

She's only gone up 9 pts in 1.25 hours.
 
Re: I think I need some help - NOW

so she's surfing that number....i've had tom surf one number for hours on end. you may end up not shooting? but like kelly said, it's good enuf that she is steadily rising to shoot at 90 or so. the lev won't kick in for a couple of hours so if kitty is on the rise i would shoot it. by 90 or so.
 
Re: I think I need some help - NOW

let me add that if her rise is super slow...you can reduce dose further. to a skinny .5 which is really .4
 
Re: I think I need some help - NOW

My Tonis bet your Bud. Tonis' PM PS was 42. I gave him 1/3 of normal 6 unit dose. At +3 he was 76.
 
Re: I think I need some help - NOW

eeks! Larry you shot the 42?
 
Re: I think I need some help - NOW

Note to Newbies:

These posters have been using Levemir for months (or longer) and have lots of blood glucose numbers (data) so they have a good idea of how the insulin will work in their cats.

New diabetics would not be advised to shoot insulin into numbers this low.
 
Re: I think I need some help - NOW

I think we might be confusing some of the new folks, ya'll.... I originally posted in Lev and cross posted here cuz the Lev folks are not usually around at Bud's PMPS at 5:30 here on the east coast....

Perhaps would be better to continue with Bud on the Lev board...
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=44917&p=480701#p480701
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top