Re: BUD 4/19 AMPS 137 +12.5 115 +13 170
You may not be near to dropping the dose
yet. We don't worry about it until you see nadirs below 50, or very low preshots and you are getting closer to that, however, you are sabotaging the results if I'm reading your spreadsheet correctly.
I am concerned about the AM shot times the past few days. The way I read the sheet says you tested at +12, but did not give shot. Tested at +13, had a higher number so gave shot at +13. Is that correct? The PM shots are given on time, +12, because they are over 200. *See below, because I have a question about PM shot times too.
Levemir needs consistent +12/+12 shot cycles, especially in the beginning. It is better to lower the dose a little bit if you're uncomfortable to give the shot on numbers below 150, but still not ideal.
By delaying shots, the shed continues to drain and even though your dose remains the same it has more catching up to do, which is evident in the fact that every PM BG she has is over 200.
This note from your vet: "wait to see if BG is increasing before giving insulin if preshot bg is less than 180)" is not necessary and counter-productive to how Lev works. So many vets see hypo cases that when using a longer acting insulin they are overly cautious. Notice she said, "now we just have to watch she doesn't go too low." I don't worry about needing to see a rising number unless preshot BG is below 80. Yes, double digit 80. But that's also because I have data to show that's about the point I need to be cautious.
Bud Bud is doing very well at 1.25U. Those blue AM numbers you're getting is what you want to see. They are perfectly acceptable numbers for giving a dose. You have the data that every time you skip the shot at +12 she continues to rise, except this AM, but a late nadir is acceptable and
could indicate a dose reduction in her future. Don't worry about that right now.
You need to see those rising numbers to feel more comfortable giving a shot at those lower preshots. You also need to give a shot at those numbers and continue testing to again have the evidence to show the slight rise and leveling off.
Her responses are almost textbook to the rise in doses. We need more nadir evidence at +9, +10, +11. Those numbers at those times will also help you feel more comfortable giving a shot at lower preshot values and will determine where you should go with dose.
*One more question - is your PM shot at +12 to when you gave the AM shot or is it at the +12 time it would be to the intended AM shot time? In other words - if your normal AM shot time is 8AM and you delayed till 9AM, is her PM shot at 8PM or 9PM? So then is her next AM shot intended at 8AM (+11 if you shot at 9PM) and you got a lower number so you didn't shoot till 9AM?
Just needing to clarify that. Yes an hour can make a difference. Perhaps indicate the actual shot times in the notes column to the far right to help us out.
I have to leave by 10AM central time tomorrow, but can help you out in the AM before that. I forget what time zone you're in. I hope Sheila or Kelly check in to see how well Bud Bud's doing! We've missed her updates.
And to answer your question about lowering dose, you mean .1U, right? That's 1 tenth of 1U. You are correct that lowering gradually is better than say going from 1.25U to 1U. Some would call a dose a little greater than 1U a fat 1U.
Have you seen these pictures:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=34424#p360982 Although those are for doses below 1U, the divisions would be the same between any 2 unit marks on the syringe. Hope that helps.
Sorry so long.