410 BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

popposgrl

Member Since 2012
Cocoa's BG was 410 and I'm giving 1 1/2 ProZinc Insulin...should I go to 2 units w/out Vet's okay? I want to do a 2 hr thingy (where you test every 2 hrs) but am unsure what to do...do I feed her something every 2 hrs to take a BG or just feed her at 6am and 6pm with her shots? Do I give insulin if her BG is high? HHHEEELLLPPP!!!
 
I wanted to do a 2 hr BG tomorrow since ALL family members will be home to help with Cocoa. I had to prick her four times before I could get a BG. She started out with 398 BG when she was diagnosed. That was 2 weeks ago and her BG has not been under 300 since. It usually runs 333-358, except for the one 410 BG. I have thought about putting ALL the girls on homemade cat food, still trying to get all ingredients together. It will be initially expensive, but with the cost of cat food X 7 it should start being cheaper pretty quickly.
HOW do I do a spreadsheet??? Also, when doing the 2 hour curve, do I feed Cocoa each time I take a BG, or just when I usually feed her? (5:30am & 5:30pm) I still get a little confused with 1) Feed cat 2)wait 30 minutes, do BG 3) Give shot....Correct?
Now, with doing the 2 hr curve...1)Feed cat 2) wait 30 minutes take BG 3) give shot at 5:30am 4)Hunt down cat 5)take BG 6) clean cuts 7) Wait 2 hours and repeat...every 2 hours for 12 hours? or longer??
Thank you for all the wonderful people who are assisting me...I was only on here 2 months with Skye and only started doing BG's the last 2 weeks of his life. So this is STILL new to me.
I wish there was a topical that we could put on our babies ears that would numb it for that #@%^$ BG to the ear....well, I am hoping somepne will come to my rexcue before 8am tomorrow so that I can start the curve for Cocoa.
Blessings on all,
Patti bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif
 
Good morning, Patti. :smile:

I haven't had my morning coffee yet, so I hope this makes sense. :lol:

Spreadsheet...we'll get to that. It helps knowing the BGs when trying to help someone. :smile: It also helps knowing what type of insulin is being used since they do act a bit differently.

But on to the pressing issue of doing a curve. I usually only get readings around +3,+5,+7 or +4, +6, +8 in addition to the PS BGs - so that's 3 extra pokes during a cycle. I do not feed extra, other than a no carb treat (I happen to use raw chicken chunks for treats since Poopy loves them). My routine is test, feed, shoot, remove food by +1, test at +3, +5, +7. I feed Poopy more than twice a day so I'd give him food after the +7 (and would remove any leftovers before +10 so the PMPS would not be food effected). Any test taken within 2 hours of food can have higher BGs due to the food so I don't even do them. Make sense?

Triple antibiotic ointment really helps the ears. A little dab will do ya.
 
If you've been feeding then doing BG test 30 minutes later...that can explain part of the higher numbers. :smile:

(I need coffee! BRB)
 
HAAAALLLLPPPP!! I TRIED FOR AN HOUR TO FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS on how to upload the spreadsheet. Google was being mean, so I tried option 2...even tried to get my grandson to help and he took one look and said "good Luck!"....but the great news is that she was only 268 at her 9am BG!!!!
 
:lol: I love the HAAAALP!

So how far did you get? Do you have a google account? Could you get the template? Where did you get stuck so we can help?
 
Any luck w/ the SS? The usual sequence is test, feed, shoot, some of us shoot while the kitter is eating and they don't even notice the shot. It depends on how hungry they are. But always get the test before food so that the new food doesn't show up in the test.

The antibiotic ointment comes in a pain relief formula (i.e. Neosporin with Pain Relief or any generic brand) be sure to get that not the plain one. If you put it on before the test be sure to wipe off any excess as it could clog up the strip. It also helps the blood to bead up. :-D Alos be sure to put pressure on the ear for at least 20 seconds, It helps to close the prick and prevent bruising.

Most of us give several small meals a day rather than one large one, it levels things out for the carb load. If you are going to test and feed, be sure to test first!
 
Okay...this is the FOURTH time I am rewriting this!!! I keep losing it when I tab over to make sure I am answering all questions. Cocoa's BG's have been 268, 253, 266. I am feeding, waiting 30 minutes, then testing for BG. So, to make sure I have an accurate BG..I will TEST, then feed and shoot? I are confused!!
The SS and I are still at odds. I signed up for Google this am to get the SS. I got the SS, but it doesn't seem to be downloaded where I can upload it to my FDMB account. My grandson and I have been trying all day to fix this...I might have to get the big guns out and go ask my hubby for an assist...
I use ProZinc insulin. It's made for cats...she is on 1 1/2 dose right now.
Teresa, I don't understand the +3,+5,+7....is that hours? So you don't poke her every 2 hours?
ANN, I see you feed raw food. I want to do that, but I'm unsure how many jars I'll need to start out. Can you give me a ballpark? Have you found a cheaper place to buy the supplements? Did your cat react badly, or take to the new food? Do you partially cook?
To BOTH Angels(Teresa and Ann) Thank you for all the answers to the most confusing and emotional days of my life!!!
 
popposgrl said:
to make sure I have an accurate BG..I will TEST, then feed and shoot?

Correct. :smile:

Teresa, I don't understand the +3,+5,+7....is that hours? So you don't poke her every 2 hours?

Correct, hours after shot, just a few times around nadir. We use the +4 to indicate 4 hours after shot so no matter what time zone someone is in it's understood. :smile:

It's a lot to learn and it seems like all at once. You'll get there. :smile:
 
If you want help with the spreadsheet, send me a private message and I will help you get it up.

On the bottom LH side of my post, click on the PM button. Then write me a short message about what isn't working and choose Submit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top