Re: Bud 4/1 AMPS 381 1.0u; +10 261
IMO, if she will be in the care of someone else, she should be given a conservative dose during that time.
And no, after only 4 full days of 1U and you've gotten blue numbers which gave a bounce, I can't agree to raising the dose that much. You could try a fat 1U I guess.
I'm just wondering, why is everyone so anxious to raise doses? BGs in the 300s are not dangerous unless there are complicating health factors, and you can't force BGs down simply by giving more insulin. It's a balancing act. And I'm not speaking of just you and Lori, but others as well. Raising doses quickly can be done with PZI because the results are more immediate. It should not be done with Levemir because it simply does not work the same.