.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Bud 4/1 AMPS 381 1.0u; +10 261

beth, fwiw, i think so. seems like your home to test. and do the others know you will be leaving for 3 weeks in early may and would like to have a clearer idea by then of his dosing and number trends?
 
Re: Bud 4/1 AMPS 381 1.0u; +10 261

IMO, if she will be in the care of someone else, she should be given a conservative dose during that time.

And no, after only 4 full days of 1U and you've gotten blue numbers which gave a bounce, I can't agree to raising the dose that much. You could try a fat 1U I guess.

I'm just wondering, why is everyone so anxious to raise doses? BGs in the 300s are not dangerous unless there are complicating health factors, and you can't force BGs down simply by giving more insulin. It's a balancing act. And I'm not speaking of just you and Lori, but others as well. Raising doses quickly can be done with PZI because the results are more immediate. It should not be done with Levemir because it simply does not work the same.
 
Re: Bud 4/1 AMPS 381 1.0u; +10 261

Thank you, Vicky. It's the PZI mindset trying to assert itself again. My vet's saying hold it, also.

It's just that she had really nice blues 2 days ago and now she seems to be going back up.

I am hoping to get her regulated by the time my husband and I leave on vacation, May 12. We will be gone for 3 weeks. Care giver, Kara, will be staying at the house.

I set up the SS with a notes page for Vet to leave notes/instructions for Kara or hubby as I will be on the road April 6-17 and April 28 to May 9th.
 
Re: Bud 4/1 AMPS 381 1.0u; +10 261

Lori... we agree.

But vet, as well as Vicky, think we should hold it. Seems like it's been weeks we've been on Lev, but only 5 days. Gonna give it some more time at 1.0u.
 
Re: Bud 4/1 AMPS 381 1.0u; +10 261

Vicky and Beth...ya know I guess my first intro into lev was on the lantus forum and I suppose I was advised to follow the protocol.
I am very comfortable staying with a dose for awhile becuase it had been my experience that things start to happen ever so gradually with the lev.
Just my initiation I guess. Is this room run a little diffently? It feels much more relaxed :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top