.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Bud 3/31 AMPS 313

You are in early days now, so the inconsistencies are typical. You have to just be patient and wait for her body to get used to lev and to the dose. She could have gone a little lower and the higher numbers are expected, not from a TOO low number, but from a lower than usual (in recent times) number that was perfectly safe - again, patience and it will settle out.

Many of us have found that dropping to the 30s is safe, it just causes bounces and wonky numbers and in a majority of cases means a dose decrease is needed. You don't AIM for the 30s, of course, but they can happen.
 
Re: Bud 3/31 AMPS 313

The fact that she'd been way high before this is prime for a rebound, even on numbers that we would otherwise consider near normal. Not to worry.

This is when a lot of people get in to trouble because they read the protocol and think, oh, we have 300s, we need to raise dose. The result is numbers which continue to bounce, so people think they're not giving enough insulin when the opposite is probably more likely. But we don't know the full potential of the 1U yet, so the best thing to do is ride it out and see how the cycles look in a couple days on 1U. Yes, it can take that long for a bounce to clear.
 
Re: Bud 3/31 AMPS 313

so vicky, how many cycles would you recommend, this is cycle 7. 10 cycles? i don't see a problem with waiting.
 
Re: Bud 3/31 AMPS 313

lori and tom said:
so vicky, how many cycles would you recommend, this is cycle 7. 10 cycles? i don't see a problem with waiting.

Don't count cycles. Go by what the BG results tell you. 3 to 5 days is an average and certainly doesn't work for every or even many cats - ECID. If the BGs are continually above 250 over 3 or more days I would definitely consider an increase, if you're wanting a "for example." But if getting lower numbers at any time in cycles, say below 150, it's a good idea to just hang in there with current dose and see how the BGs pan out.

More and more we are seeing that cats don't read the protocols. ;-)
 
Re: Bud 3/31 AMPS 313

oh, totally with ya on that one Vicky...my cat not only does'nt read protocols...he uses them for something fun to shred! :lol:
 
Re: Bud 3/31 AMPS 313

She is, Vicky.

She's *almost* as good as winning the lottery. ;-) So rare to find any doctor for 4 legged or 2 legged critters that's in it for more than the $$$$.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top