4 Different BG Numbers From 274 to 481 - ReliOn Cofirm

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beck

Member Since 2018
Pepper finally started Lantus 5 days ago. I was testing for her PMPS just now and initially got a reading of 274. That's a bit low for her preshot numbers, especially since I could have swore she got a furshot this morning. I use 3 more test strips from the same spot and get 342, 367, and 481 in that order.

By the last test the blood was starting to dry up a little, so maybe the glucose concentration increased? But that's still a drastic difference from the 274 to 367. Is my ReliOn meter not working right or is there something else I may have done wrong?

There isn't as many test numbers as I'd like for Pepper in her spreadsheet. She still hates testing with a passion, even though I've gotten it down to 1 or 2 pricks. I'm just lucky she doesn't go into hiding straight away yet.

Any input is welcome. Thanks in advance.
 
Do you think you had too much or too little blood? By the last strip I’m sure it wasn’t good. I always did a second prick when I rechecked. Meter variance can be as much as 20% high or low. The second two results are virtually the same.
 
Do you think you had too much or too little blood? By the last strip I’m sure it wasn’t good. I always did a second prick when I rechecked. Meter variance can be as much as 20% high or low. The second two results are virtually the same.

I would say too much. The drop of blood was almost the size of a small pea in the beginning. I'm a bit worried since I've previously taken tests with significantly less blood than what was left for the last test.
 
You can get wonky strips and wonky results. I wouldn’t worry. Even if the lowest test was right, it’s not too low. When you get a lower than expected preshot it’s always a good idea to get a +1 and a +2.
 
You can get wonky strips and wonky results. I wouldn’t worry. Even if the lowest test was right, it’s not too low. When you get a lower than expected preshot it’s always a good idea to get a +1 and a +2.

I figured they could give wonky results sometimes, I just hope I didn't get a bad batch of test strips. Anyways it's good to hear this isn't too abnormal.

I think I'll just put a number between the 2nd and 3rd in the spreadsheet. Thanks for the reassurance!
 
I had the same thing happen to me the other day on my ReliOn micro. Asked almost the same question too. Lol I was told the numbers are all within the 20% range and to just pick a number to put in SS. Of course I picked the lowest. :p
 
Bleh...had another wonky test tonight. 240 the first time and 381 the second. There was less blood this time, so that could explain the 381, but 240 is lower than I expected too. Also, does that mean every time I'm getting a test from a small sample of blood it's unreliable?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top