4/9 Sasha 412

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sasha&Tara

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=67917

Good morning!!! ~O) ~O) ~O)

Hope everyone had a very happy holiday!

So I messed up with Sasha yesterday. He was in the blues all day. I kept running home from my aunts house to check on him. At PMPS he was at 173, the lowest I've ever seen him pre shot. I reduced his dose from 5 units to 2.5 units because I got nervous and couldnt stay with him. I read the 'How to handle low numbers" and so I did what I thought was right, but it does say the giudelines may be too stict for Lantus users. At any rate, I woke up to a kitty with very high BG of 412.

He looks good, still ketone negative.

Any advice on how to dose him when he's running in the blues would be appreciated, as I apparently reduced him way too much. (Imagine what a nut job I;m going to be when he gets into the greens) :roll:

Hope everyone is having a good Monday...back to the grind...ughhhh
Hugs!
 
It's really hard to know how to proceed when it's your lowest pre-shot -- especially when you've not seen much blue. There may be two factors that are contributing to Sasha's AMPS. First, as you noted, you reduced the dose last night and that's having an effect. in addition, because Sasha hasn't spent much time in blue numbers, you may also be seeing a bounce. It could easily be a double whammy.

What the information from last night tells you it that cutting Sasha's dose in half is probably too much. You'll know for the next time. There really isn't a set of concrete guideline regarding how much to reduce. Much of how you approach a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose is based on the particular circumstances at the time you need to make the decision.

When you said you read the post on handling low numbers, I'm presuming you meant Libby's post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers.
 
Hi guys ... oh boy .. those first few lows are kinda scary to deal with aren't they? Like Sienne mentioned, there is no concrete guidelines on how to deal with each kitty, but now you know for next time, halving the dose probably was a bit to much for sasha .. no harm done, ketones are still negative and he'll work his way down .. take time to enjoy those blues you saw :-D have a great day guys!
 
Hi Tara. Just stopping in to say "Hi". Discouraging number for Sasha, I know, but we all get/got them at times.
I hope your gran is okay. You said you're at your aunt's.
Hugs....Barb
 
Oh Sasha.....really?????

Tara....next time you get a low PS number like that, how about posting (if you have time) and we'll walk you through it. I know yesterday was Easter and you had family fun things to do and so probably didn't have
time to post. It's ok...it's one time. Once we take you through it once, you'll probably feel really comfortable after that. :-D :-D

He just needs to refill his shed a bit and he'll come back down!!
 
just remind yourself that you have done battle with demons! not many people could have done what you did with sasha and the ketones! it's all a learning experience - you've gathered more data and next time will have an idea of what might happen if you cut the dose in half.

:YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top