julie & punkin (ga)
Member Since 2011
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=40779
recap amps 228
+3 155
+9 151
pmps 154
+3 150
i'm thinking i'll be testing him a bunch today since he's starting lower than he has been.
just wondering - this is the 12th dose on the bump back up and just today i'm guessing we're going to see more action. should i "learn" from that that punkin needs more time on a dose before changing than the protocol's 6-10 suggested cycles? I guess what i'm thinking is that when we decreased his dose and he bounced back up, I looked at the protocol and it says if an attempted reduction fails to go back up to the last good dose, which i have done. But should I have waited til at least 12 cycles before deciding it's a failed dose?
oh yeah, and punkin now has 6 other women cooing to him and babying him. that is a good thing because his mama nearly killed his charming self with a slipper when he was yowling at 5:30 am for breakfast and i was trying to keep him quiet til the appointed 7:30 breakfast time. little monkey. i have the only bedroom and the whole place is tiny and i was trying to keep him from waking everyone up. i opened the window "look at the birdies, punkin" and he would have nothing to do with it. food was on his mind and only food. he finally gave up at 6:30 and cuddled with me til 7:15.
and i LOVE the spelunker's headlamp from REI. OHMYGOSH I can see skin to give him his shot! it's awesome!
the weather is beautiful again today - some clouds but it should clear up soon. have a great day everyone!
ps - and Deb & Nikki say there is no such thing as being long-winded!
recap amps 228
+3 155
+9 151
pmps 154
+3 150
i'm thinking i'll be testing him a bunch today since he's starting lower than he has been.
just wondering - this is the 12th dose on the bump back up and just today i'm guessing we're going to see more action. should i "learn" from that that punkin needs more time on a dose before changing than the protocol's 6-10 suggested cycles? I guess what i'm thinking is that when we decreased his dose and he bounced back up, I looked at the protocol and it says if an attempted reduction fails to go back up to the last good dose, which i have done. But should I have waited til at least 12 cycles before deciding it's a failed dose?
"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose...
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose...
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
oh yeah, and punkin now has 6 other women cooing to him and babying him. that is a good thing because his mama nearly killed his charming self with a slipper when he was yowling at 5:30 am for breakfast and i was trying to keep him quiet til the appointed 7:30 breakfast time. little monkey. i have the only bedroom and the whole place is tiny and i was trying to keep him from waking everyone up. i opened the window "look at the birdies, punkin" and he would have nothing to do with it. food was on his mind and only food. he finally gave up at 6:30 and cuddled with me til 7:15.
and i LOVE the spelunker's headlamp from REI. OHMYGOSH I can see skin to give him his shot! it's awesome!
the weather is beautiful again today - some clouds but it should clear up soon. have a great day everyone!
ps - and Deb & Nikki say there is no such thing as being long-winded!