4/9 Minnie's back AMPS 342 (R) +2 293 +5 226 +9 152 (ket 0.3)

Liz & Minnie

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-21-minnie-amps-287-4-87-5-5-76.272104/

Wow looks like this is happy not-so-new-year from me and Minnie and our happy 3rd diabetes-versary. Have been managing things pretty well unassisted. She worked up from 6 to 7 and then headed back down to 5.

She was hanging out in lots of greens and blues and I was never sure if I was keeping the dose too long (have been following the rules "if BG <200 - hold for 6-10 cycles, incr 0.25u or 0.5u>5u, <100 - hold for at least 10 cycles"...but then was never sure if to increase or by how much.

Anyway, last Monday she jumped back into pinks. I gave R a couple of times which helped, then increased her Levemir. Another good couple of days in green and back up to pink last night and another dose of R.

She is eating fine, no evidence of any issues (I wondered UTI but she seems fine, behaviorally). Ketones nice and low. Not drinking and I always mix some in her food. Any suggestions what might be going on? I don't want to panic or unnecessary vet trips/bills but don't want to miss anything. Could the IAA kicking back in? She tested IAA positive back in Aug2021.

And when would she be due an increase if she doesn't get back to green?

Also finally planning a big 17d trip, back to the drawing board looking for a sitter in Seattle. The last one will not be coming back.

Thanks!
 
Thanks, Bhooma! Good to hear from you, too!! I am not maintaining the pj party regime these days :)

ETA now I look back at her s/s this last week, it looks like she has started bouncing severely from small stretches of green. Is that common, even after she's had a long stretch of happy greenness?
 
Hi Liz, sorry for late response - yesterday was with family.

I know you've looked at Oberon's SS (also IAA), there are a number of similarities. He likes a dose for a while, then he doesn't. Earns a couple reductions, then decides it's not enough juice and needs increases. Likes the dose for a while, then doesn't, lather/rinse/repeat. Looks like Minnie pooped out at 5 units, after it working for a while after the reductions. Don't be afraid to increase as need per TR. If you don't see green for six cycles, and you've been on that dose for 10 cycles, increase. It does look like some resistance is there, possibly antibodies.
 
Back
Top