4/9 Merlin AMPS 467 - Use this Post

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Member Since 2014
Don't know what happened but I was having connection issues. While trying to post it was clocking and then I couldn't get on the website multiple times. Finally got on and found that I had two posts. Went to delete one and now they are both deleted. Oh well...

I need to go to a couple of appointments so I hope to be back by +4 or earlier.

4/9
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 464; .4U
 
The board is acting weird today. If you go to your extra posts , choose edit. At the top there will be a place to choose "delete this post" and then choose the option "yes"
 
Yeah, I knew that something was wrong this morning with this website because I went to other websites and they were fine. I went to "viewed my other posts" and those two extra posts did not show up on the list. I deleted the post (or 2 of them) by hitting delete and yes but now it won't let me delete it off the Prozinc list. Not sure of any other place to go to get them deleted.

I got back just a little before +5 and he was at 239. I will take one at +6 and +7 to see where his lowest point is today. Last time he ate was after his AMPS and again at 10:40am. He ate after I tested him with the 239.

You all will be happy to know that I only have 50 AlphaTrak test strips left and I am happy too. :-D I went to Walmart to check out the meters and Relion has four different kinds; Confirm, Prime, Ultima and Micro. I think it is between the Confirm and Micro because I think those two don't have to code and only needs a small blood drop. A little hesitant of using something different but the cost is such a difference plus everyone else here uses mostly Relion meters. Any other thoughts regarding meters?

4/9
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 464; .4U
+5 - 239
 
4/9
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 464; .4U
+5 - 239
+6 - 356

I think I won't do any more tests until PMPS. This looks like it isn't going to get much better today.
 
He is a puzzle. He seems so sensitive to a tiny change in dose. I am wondering about a sliding scale that might look like this:

450+ .6
350+ .4
250+ .2
200 skinny .2

He didn't drop super low on .6 when you gave it for that range. He did have a lower pmps afterwards but if you can stall, make sure he is rising and shoot a smaller dose for that kind of number, he might not bounce.

You could try is to try the fat or skinny dose. A fat .6 would be pulling up maybe .8 and letting out drops until you are just above the .6 line. A skinny is pulling up .6 and letting out a drop or two.

Hope Jen weighs in too.

I think people like all the ReliOns. One has cheaper strips but might take a tiny bit more of a sample - I think it's the Confirm.
 
Confirm & micro use the same strips; only difference is size of meter. The new one (prime?) Is cheapest but uses a larger sample. Ultima also uses larger sample. I use a micro, but have also used a confirm.
 
I think I'm liking Sue's sliding scale above.

The only thing I'm wondering if maybe Merlin dipped earlier than +5 and was on his way back up then. The nice thing is, he doesn't need much insulin! If it turns out that the 0.4 is not enough, it's not much to bring him back up. :smile: I hope he gives you a little lower pre-shot this PM to try one of the smaller doses.
 
4/9
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 464; .4U
+5 - 239
+6 - 356
PMPS - 537

Well, shall I start the sliding scale tonight? Do you think our test of .4 has given us enough information to change?

If it turns out that the 0.4 is not enough, it's not much to bring him back up. What did you mean by this?
 
The .4 isn't looking like enough. I think I'd go with .6 and test before bed, just in case.

If he drops low, I'd consider switching to Lantus. He is really volatile with PZI, if .2 makes such a huge difference. If you can't get flatter cycles, he is going to be hard to regulate.
 
I agree with Sue here. I'm thinking that Merlin is so darn sensitive to the insulin (which is a good thing), but it's causing him to swing really wildly, which is really hard to deal with. I recently switched Eddie to Lantus, in part, because the drops he'd get from ProZinc were pretty drastic at times, although not nearly as drastic as Merlin's, and thus far, Lantus is resulting in smoother flatter cycle for Eddie.
 
All makes sense. I went with .6 tonight and will test at +3. Thanks for the suggested number/shot scale. I will go with that sliding scale for a while and see what it does. Also, I will start reading up on Lantus so I can get familiar with it ... just In case. Thanks.
 
Oh no, I fell asleep about 15 minutes before I was going to test. Better late than never...

Well at +5, he was at 339. Looks like I could have gone a .8 with that number (537). Although, I don't think I would have wanted to after giving him .4 for a while and it was at night.

4/9
AlphaTrak2
AMPS - 464; .4U
+5 - 239
+6 - 356
PMPS - 537
+5 - 339
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top