4/9 Kushi PMPS 127 +1 88 +1.5 89 +2 126 +3 110 +8 141

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe & Kushi

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=40741
We're gonna have a nice week-end; Kushi's looking good and wife back home from week out-of-town. Life is good. :smile:
Down to 35, seems to be O.K. what should I do just watch her???
Does that last number seem logical 15 mins after food/karo???
test 15 mins after a little gravy & Karo is 69.... is that realistic (reaction that fast)? or do I have some screwy numbers??
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121

Kushi's numbers are looking great! Unless Kushi decides to earn a decrease this cycle, what would you think about fattening his dose to see if Kushi will give you some more of those green numbers?
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121

Sienne and Gabby said:
Kushi's numbers are looking great! Unless Kushi decides to earn a decrease this cycle, what would you think about fattening his dose to see if Kushi will give you some more of those green numbers?

I don't have a problem with fattening her dose; what would you suggest? .25 or what? The thing that makes me a little nervous (at this point ) is shooting green numbers. I certainly don't want to deal with a hypo event at my experience level. That being said, we are most interested in seeing her go into remission. And speaking of remission, what are the indicators for that?
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55

55, that is unusually low this soon, think I will test again. Thoughts?
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55

55...that is unusually low this early...will test again. Thoughts?? Could be due food? She ate almost all (1/2 cup) on two hours, she usually takes about 5 hrs to consume that much.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5

yes,her BG; yes on the karo and HC. Right now she is sitting where her food bowl normally is (I took it up).
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5

Please rub some Karo on her gums & test again in 15mins.. we want to get some Karo & HC on board - but we do not want to give to much so she does not fill up. Please give her some & test again. Do you have plenty of testing strips?
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5

Feed HC gravy, add a drop or two of Karo syrup... Test in 15 minutes. Feed more as needed. This is too low.

I agree with Nicole on the Karo, be careful of your fingers though.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5

Great job.. I am not trying to scare you.. but when there is a 50 + drop at +2 that is indicative of an active cycle with potentially low #s.
That early in the cycle is when we want to manipulate with food, i.e. Karo, HC gravy, etc. again, only feeding the gravy, etc because you do not want them to fill up because you will want them to eat. You will be testing more this cycle to, dependant upon the #s we can determine when a new test is needed. Also, if Kushi drops below 50, she will have earned a decrease & you will now shoot 1.25 for her PM cycle.. lets see how this plays out. Great catch.. you are doing a great job. Please do not withhold food from her though if she is hungry, just do not let her fill up. A typical curve looks like this:
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 +3.5 69

When you say gravy, I assume you mean food w/ gravy and not just the gravy from the food?
Is that new number (69) logical 15 mins after gravy & Karo?
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5

Just the gravy (we dont want kitty to fill up) ... what was her BG when you tested again?
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69

Great news, I see she is up to 69, the Karo & HC will begin to wear off.. but for now she is Ok.. please test again at +4 & allow her to eat some HC/MC if she is interested in eating - we want her to surf along here.. but the insulin is kicking in & she will most likely drop again.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69

Sorry, but I can't seem to get the post right...nervous I guess.
Is the 69 logical this quick after gravy and karo?
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69

just stopping to say you're doing great, joe! don't be nervous, nicole is an expert and will help you through it. good job!!
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69 +4 108

Thanks Julie! all of you are great. I can't imagine why Kushi dropped like that??? Perhaps I read the dosage wrong on the syringe????
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69

Yep, that amount of rise makes sense - carbs from gravy/karo etc raise their blood sugar very quickly. On the same token, they can also wear off quickly if you're cat has insulin still actively pushing them down.

Looking at your title it says +2.5:35 and the next test at +3.5? If this is correct - next time you will want to check Kushi every 15 minutes at such a low number. A lot can change even with HC food on board in that amount of time.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69

depending on how much gravy and karo you fed, 69 can happen this quickly. Keep testing as she can drop again just as a fast.

Yes, this is scary, but sounds like you have the tools and are monitoring and can handle this.

If she seems really hungry, another trick is to take the low carb food and mix the gravy into that. This way you allow a steady rise without going too high or dropping too low.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69

Hi, others are helping now too.. I am still around & will continue to be here as needed.. should be about +4 by now.. how about another test?
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69

You've gotten great info. Here's the post on handling low numbers so you've got this information in writing, as well.

You'll want to test every 20 - 30 min. to make sure the numbers stabilize. Like Hilary pointed out, once the HC wears off, numbers can wobble around. Also, feeding gravy is fine. I tend to add some of the solids or some LC food to keep the surf going. However, you don't want to feed too much of the solids/LC for the reason Nicole mentionned -- if you have to feed several times, you don't want Kushi to get full and either refuse to eat or throw up from too much food. Most cats, when their numbers are low, will eat spontaneously.

So, no increase tonight. Instead, Kushi has earned a dose reduction! There's a fair chance you'll see a bounce into high numbers by PMPS but we can deal with that closer to shot time.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69 +4 108

Great job! Reached 108, I personally would not continue with Karo.. I would mix some gravy with MC/LC & test again in 30mins.. by testing and catching this early...getting appropriate Karo/Gravy/HC at just the right time... you handled this like an expert ;-)
She will probably drop again & as Sienne said.. her #s this evening will probably be higher due to the higher carb content/bounce factor.. but that is ok & congratulations on her decrease!
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69 +4 108

At this point you will want to monitor - I would check again in an hour. Once Kushi gives you 3 consecutive tests of steady or rising numbers you're safe to back off on testing.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69 +4 108

How often do I continue to feed? and what about the karo...do I continue with that or only if she goes to low numbers again?
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69 +4 108

I don't think so. She is rising so she should be fine but I am certainly no expert so somebody should be along here that has the experience to give you the correct answer. For what it's worth, my answer is no more Karo if she is rising.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69 +4 108

Hi, Joe!! Great cycle today... you're doing awesome.

You're done with the karo for now. Just keep feeding LC and/or MC as Kushi expresses interest... but limit to 1/2 tsp or so at a time.

Congrats on the dosecrease and surviving your first low number!
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69 +4 108

Right now, you're seeing a food/HC induced spike. I would retest in 30 min. With numbers at 108, I'd give a small amount (a teaspoon) of LC. You don't need to bump numbers up further unless they drop.

The goal is to keep Kushi is safe numbers but to also keep her surfing in "normal" BG numbers for as long as possible. Those numbers help her pancreas to heal.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69 +4 108

SS question...is there any way to post consecutive times in the same field i.e +3; +3.25; +3.5 in the + 3 box? Is that clear as mud?
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69 +4 108

Look at Gabby's SS. I do it all the time. The text will wrap in the cell. You'll have to manually color code the cell, though. There is a 2 x 2 square at the top of the SS. If you click on that icon, you can then manually insert the color.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69 +4 108

Joe, hitting *control* and *enter*, will put on another level, in the same box.
Is that clear as mud also? :lol:
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69 +4 108 +4.5 108

Whew - exciting morning in this condo! Great catch and nice job handling those low numbers, Joe.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS 121 +2 55 +2.5 35 +3.5 69 +4 108

Barb & Checkers said:
Joe, hitting *control* and *enter*, will put on another level, in the same box.
Is that clear as mud also? :lol:

O.K. so why doesn't the box show a color???
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS +2.5 35 +3.5 69 +4 108 +4.5 102 +5 98

she must be feeling o.k.; she just came upstairs begging to get on the bed for a nap! :-D
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS +2.5 35 +3.5 69 +4 108 +4.5 102 +5 98

I bet she does want a catnap :lol: I am sure you do too! Testing/Feeding/Worrying wears us all out :lol:
I suspect it is safe to remove your 911 icon now too ;-)
Don't forget you are shooting 1.25 tonight :mrgreen:
Great job, Joe.. I am going to sign off for a bit & get some things done.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS +3.5 69 +4 108 +4.5 102 +5 98 +6 102

Thank you so much Nicole and ALL. I am assuming to just go back to her normal LC wet. We will shoot 1.25u...normal testing?
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS +3.5 69 +4 108 +4.5 102 +5 98 +6 102

Your welcome, you did a great job & now have knowledge for future, they do drop & that is why testing is important. I would stick with LC & normal testing, she has a nice surf going on & she still may drop some.. I doubt it will be crazy low though.. but you never know :lol:
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS +3.5 69 +4 108 +4.5 102 +5 98 +6 102

Looking ahead to tomorrow....Assuming I will shoot 1.25 @ 8 a.m.; we normally head out to church (20 miles away). Would you recommend skipping church and stay around to test +1 & +2. About the earliest we wold be home would be 10:45 to 11:00.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS +3.5 69 +4 108 +4.5 102 +5 98 +6 102

Unfortunately it is impossible to determine what tomorrow will look like.. we have a lot of time before then & anything can happen. AMPS will determine what to do.. I suspect that if you shoot low you could leave out carb appropriate food, go to church.. get home & get your +3 safely. But again.. it will be based on the AMPS # & your comfort level.
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS +3.5 69 +4 108 +4.5 102 +5 98 +6 102 +8

So it falls to the old feline cliche..."don't count kitty's BG numbers until the juice is in the little critter! :lol:
 
Re: 4/9 Kushi AMPS +4.5 102 +5 98 +6 102 +8 116 +11 122

So how does it look coming up on PMPS to shoot 1.25u?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top