Evey
Member Since 2024
Preview thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...4-8-92-9-104-10-95-11-86.288542/#post-3168256
Evey had a lower than usual preshot number in the evening of April 8th. I fed her and stalled the shot for about an hour (she was supposed to get insulin at 19:09, but I didn't give it to her until 20:18). This is my first time to give her a shot at a number under 108 and I was really worried that she might have low blood sugar. So I gave her 0.75U instead of 1U even though she didn't earn a reduction.
I have some questions about shooting her at low preshot number and what happened afterwards.
1. I was gonna wait for +5 BG number but I was so tired that I fell asleep. Unfortunatelly, I didn't get her +5 or +6 number. I'm not sure if she drop below 2.8 or not. It's kind of hard to see from the curve (this is what the curve looks like Evey's curve). Since I don't know if she drop below 2.8 or not, I gave her 1U this morning. Am I doing this correctly? If I'm wrong, please correct me. Thank you!
2. I also noticed that she had a big bounce after i gave her insulin at a low preshot number. Her +11 was 203 and AMPS was 218. She doesn't usually go up that high. Can anyone explain it to me why this is happening? Did I do anything wrong?
3. The sticky notes says "Shooting an hour or two early *could* act like a slight dose increase. Shooting an hour or two late *could* act like a slight dose reduction". Since her shot time was delayed for about an hour last night, I need to move it back to around 7am/pm because of work schedule. If I understand guidance corrrectly, it's ok I gave her a shot 30mins early. Am I right?
4. I was told the flatter the curve is, the higher chance she coulde get to remission. Recently, her BG curve looks like riding a roller coaster. Is she getting better or worse?
I'm so sorry I have too many questions. Thank you for your help in advance~
Evey had a lower than usual preshot number in the evening of April 8th. I fed her and stalled the shot for about an hour (she was supposed to get insulin at 19:09, but I didn't give it to her until 20:18). This is my first time to give her a shot at a number under 108 and I was really worried that she might have low blood sugar. So I gave her 0.75U instead of 1U even though she didn't earn a reduction.
I have some questions about shooting her at low preshot number and what happened afterwards.
1. I was gonna wait for +5 BG number but I was so tired that I fell asleep. Unfortunatelly, I didn't get her +5 or +6 number. I'm not sure if she drop below 2.8 or not. It's kind of hard to see from the curve (this is what the curve looks like Evey's curve). Since I don't know if she drop below 2.8 or not, I gave her 1U this morning. Am I doing this correctly? If I'm wrong, please correct me. Thank you!
2. I also noticed that she had a big bounce after i gave her insulin at a low preshot number. Her +11 was 203 and AMPS was 218. She doesn't usually go up that high. Can anyone explain it to me why this is happening? Did I do anything wrong?
3. The sticky notes says "Shooting an hour or two early *could* act like a slight dose increase. Shooting an hour or two late *could* act like a slight dose reduction". Since her shot time was delayed for about an hour last night, I need to move it back to around 7am/pm because of work schedule. If I understand guidance corrrectly, it's ok I gave her a shot 30mins early. Am I right?
4. I was told the flatter the curve is, the higher chance she coulde get to remission. Recently, her BG curve looks like riding a roller coaster. Is she getting better or worse?
I'm so sorry I have too many questions. Thank you for your help in advance~