4/8 OliverTwist pmps 130 +2 95 +3 64 +3.5 55 +4 57 +6 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

ecurie

Member Since 2012
yesterday's condo
today
amps---137
+2------132
+3-------55 2 tsp 4%
+3.5-----47 2 tsp 4% & 1 drop honey AND some of the 8% he ate out of the civie food can while i was at the computer ohmygod_smile
+4--------62
+5--------64 I thought he'd be much higher by now after getting into the 8% at 3.5
+6--------60
+7--------72
pmps---130
+2--------95 2 tsp 4 %
+2.5------71 <1tsp 4%
+3--------64 ''
+3.5------55 2 tsp 4%
+4---------57 <1tsp 4%
+5---------55
+6---------65


Good morning ~O) ~O) ~O)
we have 3 Ps so far, no lb action but that'll happen soon. I've got my fingers crossed that my changing Ollie's dose 2x yesterday doesn't make today a mess. Thanks Lisa and Liz for your input!!

Sending many prayers and vines for all of our kitties and beans. Be well, happy, and blue skies
xoxo mary and ollie
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist amps 137

I hope Oliver gives you a nice blue/green surf today. If he does get off track today from the dose changes yesterday, he will get back on track quickly.
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist amps 137

Morning Mary,

That's a pretty blue this morning for Oliver. Hope he comes downs bit and gives you a pretty green surf today. Have a wonderful day, hugs
Kathie
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist amps 137

No, you won't make a "mess" of things. Ollie got a little extra juice on board which may or may not affect his numbers for a cycle or two. Today's AMPS is very nice, so get the patience pants back on - but Ollie is doing nicely! Have a good one!
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist amps 137 +2 132 +3 55

Morning Mary ~O) ~O) ~O)

Whoa - somebody is on a mission today. Look at Ollie go! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Up a little though Ollie. :-D Even if the dosing messes with things a little, he will recover soon, they always seem to.

Enjoy your day today!
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist amps 137 +2 132 +3 55

Hi guys .. looks like changing ollie's dose had quite the impact on him .. look at that +3! Surf surf surf mister! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist amps 137 +2 132 +3 55

Ummm.....

I think Ollie got a dose reduction yesterday with that 44 at +4. From the looks of it so far today, he's telling you he's getting too much insulin. You can hold the dose for 3 drops below 50 but you will have to reduce by a full 0.25u if you use that approach. Regarding the discussion yesterday, please keep in mind that the TR protocol is aggressive. There is a reason for taking dose reductions. You can't mix and match shaving doses with the x3 below 50 -- it ends up being doubly aggressive without the safety net being built in.

One thing to keep in mind when looking at your SS is how low is the current dose taking your cat. Ollie was consistently dropping into the 50s on 1.75u. It's fine to hold a dose if Ollie is in normal range. The pre-shot numbers are usually the last to drop into place.
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist amps 137 +2 132 +3 55 3.5 47 +4 62

Well, it looks like Ollie made his feelings known! He sure does show his action pretty regularly at a +3, doesn't he?
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist amps 137 +3 55 3.5 47 +4 62 tonite's dos

thank you Sienne,
your advice will be much appreciated.
1. raised his dose from 1.75 to s2 yesterday morning
2. 44@ 4.25
3.??? last night - should i have taken the reduction from his 1.75? I just put him back to his 1.75.
4. today 47@3.5 i tried to give him his regular 4% and 1 drop of honey to see what that would do for him.. but i left the 8% civie food out while i went to the computer.. he got on the counter and ate out of the can.. not much, but it doesn't take much 8% to get him up.

What would you suggest for a dose this evening?
thank you very very much
mary

ETA... Hi Lisa, he really does let us know by +3 what's going to be up for the cycle. or down as the case may be.
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist amps 137 +3 55 3.5 47 +4 62 f1.50 Thanks

Hi Mary

Ollie looks wonderful :mrgreen:
I've been studying your SS, trying to learn something. :YMSIGH: I hate the 'in-between' doses. The fats & skinnys, and everything in between. OY!

Thank you, for the hint about lighting up Checks stream of water, I might try that. I really would like to break him of that habit, though, so hmmm, maybe I won't light it. :lol:
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist amps 137 +3.5 47 +4 62 +6 60 +7 72

Mary

I agree with Sienne. The low number you got yesterday was likely more attributable to the 1.75u dose than the sk2u. So his dose reduction based on that number and with shaving would have been f1.5u. I'd consider today to just be depot. I think what you are seeing with those high blue numbers is a bounce. Yes, bounces can be blue numbers. Because his nadirs are good, let him bounce...ignore the bounce numbers. Focus on the nadirs.

Have you read my post on Reductions aka "How Not to Get in Trouble" ;-)

Ever since that episode happened to us, Mike and I discussed our hesitance (before that time) for giving reductions. We agreed that the point is for the dose to go down and so now we give the earned reductions and if we have to take her up, we do.

If I had two pieces of advice to give that would help you right now:
1. do not dose on the preshot no matter how tempted you are!
2. give the earned reductions; if it's evident that it isn't going to hold because he clears any bounce and doesn't go right back to green, go right back up to the last good dose.

He's doing great and so are you!
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist amps 137 +3.5 47 +4 62 +6 60 +7 72

Ollie's dose for tonight.. f1.5!!!!
I think this is what i learned today.. please correct me if i'm wrong.
A) give Ollie time to adjust to his new dose, (if increasing) take into account NDW, wait a couple days and feel free to ask for advice when my patience pants wear out.
1) Look at all the nadirs and base his dose on those numbers, not only on half the nadirs.
i was reacting to the am higher nadirs and ignoring the evening lower ones.
2) bounces can be blue.... ollie got to the 50s and 60s on his 1.75 consistently in the evenings, with high blue and some yellow pre-shots in the am and high 80s and 90s during the am cycles These are probably bounces from his low numbers the night before and not a sign that he needs more insulin. those evening 50s and 60s nardirs are the numbers on which i should base his dose...not the bounce from the following cycle. ignore those bounces and be glad they are only blue and yellow.
This is where i made my biggest error, i think. Not realizing that those high am pre shots and high am cycle nadirs were a bounce
if i feel a need to increase his dose...I can always ask first!
3) i can hold a dose as long as he is in mostly normal numbers.
There are really experienced brains here, I can test any theory i might have by asking.
Thanks so very much to Lisa, Liz, Sienne and Marje for all your help the last couple days. I thought i was doing the right thing, so thank you very much for 'splaining to me. Each time, i hope one thing will sink into my brain.

Ollie is over on the chair, rolling his eyes...mom, you're lucky i'm good, and they are gooder

We were lucky to find this board and thank our lucky stars for sending us here.
thanks again.. thanks just doesn't sound like a good enough word. xoxo mary
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist amps 137 +3.5 47 tonite 1.5 what i learn

We were lucky to find this board and thank our lucky stars for sending us here.
thanks again.. thanks just doesn't sound like a good enough word.

I know EXACTLY what you mean!!
Good luck with the f1.5!!

:-D
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist pmps 130 what i learned today - thanks!

Hi Mary. Just wanted to let you know that what you are learning is helping a lot of us. I also learned a lot from Oliver's condo.

We were lucky to find this board and thank our lucky stars for sending us here.
thanks again.. thanks just doesn't sound like a good enough word.

You are soooooooo right!

Have a great evening Mary and I hope Oliver keeps surfing those safe numbers.

Chuckle for the evening:
IMAGE_FCB84F62-C176-4F49-AE27-F709BE8035D2.JPG
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist pmps 130 what i learned today - thanks!

Hi Mary,
Ollie's condo today is a great learning experience for all of us. Good luck with the fat 1.5U!!

Enjoy the evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/8 OliverTwist pmps 130 +2 95 +3 64 +3.5 55 +4 57

By George I think you've got it!!!! Good summary :-D

For the most part, if you don't know whether to increase, you've got time to ask for opinions. I've found that many cats need extra time to settle into a dose increase. You know how long it takes Ollie to get through any NDW and then how many more cycles before he starts responding.

You've learned alot, you help others alot, you're doing great! And so is Ollie :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top