4/8 Nonnie AMPS 74 No shot +1 89

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Phyllis,
Wow, what a nice AMBG for Nonnie. I saw that you shot 2.0U on a AMBG of 65 on 4/5 so I was curious why you were hesitant to shoot a lower dose on a 74. Giving a shot when kitty has a low BG is the best way to keep kitty in nice healing numbers for an extended period of time. Are you at all considering still giving a shot today? If you start to see him rise and you decide you want to give Nonnie a shot, you could but that would move your shot time. So the next shot would be 12 hours afterwards. So if a new shot time is not something you could manage then if Nonnie goes high today, an early shot tonight might be an option. You could ask for advice later once we see what Nonnie does.

Hope you and Nonnie have a nice day.
 
Thanks....was really unsure what to do as he has had some low numbers lately. When I gave him the 2 after that 65, he went really low and then bounced back very high... I will continue to monitor today....luckily I'm home today. If I give a later shot, it's not really possible for me to change the time tonight. I thought as long as I monitor him today, it would be nice to see what happens so I'll learn from it. Then give the shot at usual time tonight which is 7.
 
Phyllis said:
If I give a later shot, it's not really possible for me to change the time tonight. I thought as long as I monitor him today, it would be nice to see what happens so I'll learn from it. Then give the shot at usual time tonight which is 7.

Oh, OK. Yes, if you're not able to change his shot time then I guess you can just see how he does today without a shot. Keep in mind that shot consistency is the best thing for getting Nonnie's BG regulated. Maybe next time if you're able to monitor him all day, you can give him a shot and learn how to use food to keep him from going too low. Unfortunately bounces may happen but the goal is to give Noonie as much time in good low numbers as possible to help his pancreas heal. Additionally, the more time he spends in low numbers the more quickly his liver can became comfortable with the low numbers and hopefully stop freaking out and causing those yucky bounces.

There are many opportunities to really get to know your kitties patterns. Good luck today. Hope Noonie doesn't go high.
 
If you look at Nonnie's spreadsheet, he's doing ok so far....I'm a little surprised.
 
Hi Phyllis,

I'm not an expert and know very little about this, but I wonder if Nonnie's numbers in the mid-50s are more like an "under 50" for the rest of us :?: What I'm alluding to here is whether or not a reducie of .25u might have been good idea for Nonnie this morning rather than a skipped insulin dose.

So, instead of shooting the 1.75 you would have shot 1.50u.. That way Nonnie would have still received some insulin and *maybe* would have avoided a possible bounce that would keep his BG in higher numbers.

Just a thought, but I am probably wrong as I am not a seasoned advise giver. :oops:

I had a low number for Rocky at his shot time this morning, like you. Rocky RARELY presents me with a dropping green number in the morning. (It was a slowly dropping number before the AMPS shot) I stalled his shot by one hour and gave the regular dose of 2.25u. Rocky just had a reducie yesterday as I was up for 2 nights before that doing my best to keep his BG above 50 after giving him 2 shots of 2.50u.

I need to re-test him right now to see how he is handling his morning shot. :YMPEACE:
 
Thanks for the advice...I probably should have given him a smaller dose, but worried after his low numbers previously. I'm new to the regular tesing routine, so I'm still learning and really appreciate any and all suggestions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top