4/8 | Lorda Fuzzy Bottom | +6 >600

Min and Lord Fuzzy Bottom

Member Since 2024
Numbers still high. Tried to read up on cats 'bouncing' learned a little bit. Going to take the treaties and the old dry kibble out of the equation today and see if he goes back down. This morning breakfast was some Tiki Cat After Dark Chicken and Pork- he drank the juice and nibbled a little. As you can see by the title, his bg is over 600 this morning.

Something did pop into my mind this morning- now this could be a half asleep random thought or maybe something to it, i dunno. I vaguely remember the vet telling me that stress can cause a cat's blood sugar to spike quickly. That their blood sugar usually spikes when most pets go to the vet. ok, so could getting poked and knwing he is fixing to get poked, stressing him out and causing the spikes? Like, I am trying to not make it be a stressful experience for him. I'm giving him pets and love and feeding him during the shots/pokes. But sometimes he wants none of it- like this morning and I had to restrain him a little so I could do the bg. He was fairly decent on the shot and got still for a little bit. I need to learn more about this bounce thing. It does make sense somewhat, but how does that mean he is going to low for his body too quickly and we need to keep it a touch higher and drop slower so it doesn't tax his liver and kidneys so much? Is this a normal thing that happens to new diagnosed furbabies?

Will do a ketone check when I catch him peeing and add that to his spreedsheet and hopefully remember to add it here.

Yesterday's post link: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-7-lord-fuzzy-bottom-5-25-bg-600.288527/
 
Ketones are negative. He is being fickle with eating again. I asked the vet about lowering his dose when he hits down around 100 incase it is a bounce. They said I can, but we will need to reschedule his curve. I don't understand how the curve will help if his numbers are constantly over 600 because of a bounce. And then if they up his dose to get it down, and it makes things go low too quick or something, then he may bounce back up. I don't know. I don't even know if I am making sense.
 
Cats react in odd ways to stress. Neko's numbers went down instead of up. Today is plain old bounce, just gotta wait it out.
I asked the vet about lowering his dose when he hits down around 100 incase it is a bounce.
No, never lower the dose because of a bounce. That's the last thing you want to do, especially with recent DKA. The way to slow down those bounces is for him to spend more time in normal (or close to it) BG numbers, so he gets used to those numbers. Which he won't do if you lower the dose. You should wait for a cycle when he's not bouncing to do the curve. It can take up to six cycles after those low numbers to get over a bounce. Tonight will be cycle 3.
 
If it were me, when he starts to show signs of coming down like he did yesterday (4/7), I might try to get in another test to see if you can catch where his BG bottoms out. For example, yesterday he started high, was at 202 at AM +6, and was at 130 at PMPS. With that kind of drop happening, I might test again at around AM+9 or +10 to see if the BG had gone even lower and was on its way back up at PMPS, or had done a slow steady drop into PMPS.

All data is good and helps you understand the “big picture” of what is happening so you can make decisions accordingly.

Good job getting the BG and ketone tests that you have so far. I know it’s not always easy, especially in the beginning, but you’re taking big steps to help and advocate for Lord Fuzzy Bottom (love the name, btw). Keep up the good work.
 
Back
Top