4/8 Ivy Amps 323, +3.25 131, +5.5 54 L, +6.75 40 L/140 C,+9 85, Pmps 214, +2 306, +4 205 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
4/7/24
Amps 323
Good morning,
Dose increase this am to 4.5 units Lantus. Wow. :eek: Seems like so much insulin. Really wish she would need less. :facepalm:

Active cycle overnight. Slept on the sofa in the basement. (When she knows I’m there she jumps on me several times overnight and purrs and kneads). But with her Libre sensor alert going off because she’s in the low range and her waking me up when I just fell asleep…well, you get it :arghh:
:coffee::coffee::coffee:
Working today from home to monitor. No contractors so that’s good. Let’s see what she does.
Safe surfing to everyone :cat:
 
Good morning Staci!

Curious as to why you raised her dose this morning when she had such an active cycle last night? I get the "seems like so much insulin" thing. I felt the same way going from 2 - 5 units with Shooter. :arghh:
 
Morning Staci ,wishing Ivy all the best with the increase. Sorry you were up most of the night , Glad you are working from home today and see how Ivy does with the increase, About 3 weeks ago I was exercising doing all different types of leg exercises and woke up the next day and boy of boy the pain in my groin area was killing me. Everyone said you probably pulled a muscle and it might take a while to heal. Bull crap :p
It's still killing me, so I'm going for an MRI this morning, something better show up and if it doesn't I am still going to see an orthopedic surgeon to see what he thinks. If he tells me it's a strained muscle then how long will it take to go away. I can't even walk normal . My younger sister yells at me and says you always wait to long to go see a doctor when something.
I tell her to shut up :p
3 weeks ago I had to get facet injection in my lower back. Always had lower back problems since 2016.
In 2016 went for an MRI for my lower back ,showed buldging discs so a got an epidural and it lasted for a good 3 years.
This time it was really killing me. So I went to Ashley's last pain management she saw ,had another MRI, back got a little wirsa some stenosis also.
He did 3 facet injections on each side and one down toward the center of my lower back.
It feels great now..
When I saw him in the office before he did them he said we will put you out.
Didn't get put out for the epidurals by a different doctor.
So I'm at the surgery center he said do you want to be put out, I said you told me I would be.
I said to the
anesthesiologist yeah put me out because I love that feeling lol
I always tell them inject that stuff nice and slow so I can feel it for a few seconds before I go to LA LA land :p
He looked at me and said really, I said I love that feeling, he said well at least your honest haha.
What is weird I have dine those leg exercises every day and nothing ever happened. My sister said we are not spring chickens any more.
My birthday was 4-3 I turned 68 :banghead:
I say to myself how the hell did this happen :p Boy time goes so fast
I say to people what's so happy about turning 68, they say well at least you woke up lol
For my age other than this dam groin pain I'm in pretty good shape.
When it's nice out I walk everyday.
I said to my sister if I need some type of surgery I have to come home the same day to feed Tyler . She said she would come by and feed him.
I said I'll have to show you how he likes his wet food prepared.
He likes it a little mussy and add water and then warm it up in the microwave. She said you have to be kidding. She has 2 cats if HSR own and just puts the wet food out adds a little water and they eat it
I said to her Tyler is special lol
She said I spoil him, I said that's right Cheryl lol
She's a wonderful sister and I don't no what I would do without her. She will be 65 in 4-14
My brother is 58.
Tyler's birthday is coming up on 4-29. He will be 16.
I hope Ivy surfs safely today and eating in her own improves
I'll check back later on
Hope you have a nice day my friend :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
I'm sorry you didn't get a full night's sleep. I was up last night to feed Gravy a little, but went right back to bed.
Hope you can get a little nap in - maybe a siesta at lunch time.:coffee::coffee: Enjoy some catpuccinos!
 
Oof, that's a rough night, Staci!
I hate it when I'm woken by my own jerking or something just about when I fall asleep! :mad:
But sounds like Ivy had a great night jumping on you and stepping all over on you :p
Good luck with the increase. Ivy has shown a great improvement - it's unfortunate that it means less sleep for you, though. :(
Hope it'll be a mellower day and evening so you can go to bed early. Maybe you can steel a moment to close your eyes today too!
Sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry to read about your sleepless night again! That's so hard to function without sleep.
Hang in there for the dose. She needs what she needs. I felt horrible when Bella needed up to 5 units. And then it happened, she started being regulated. Look at her SS if you want: 2021 is all pink and red. Then 2022 starts the same, and Bhooma convinced me to keep increasing, up to 5.25, until it worked. Since March 2022 she was almost exclusively in greens and blues, except for 2 days last summer when we had a new sitter who did not give her her insulin (our regular sitter found a full syringe on the counter whe she came back after the 2 days the other one was here). So all that to say: let her tell you what she needs :bighug:
But still, I know how you feel, and I want to tell you again, you are amazing, :bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!
Sorry about your lack of sleep. Luckily Ivy was there to keep you company. Also great that you can work from home and keep an eye on her.
Good luck with the increase. Hopefully it does wonders and you won't have to increase anymore.
Come on Gato Meow. Work that dose and give mama a break.
Have a safe and peaceful meownday
upload_2024-4-8_11-0-37.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-4-8_11-0-37.png
    upload_2024-4-8_11-0-37.png
    140.5 KB · Views: 204
Good morning Staci!

Curious as to why you raised her dose this morning when she had such an active cycle last night? I get the "seems like so much insulin" thing. I felt the same way going from 2 - 5 units with Shooter. :arghh:
Hi Heather, we increased since she wasn't really doing as well as we hoped on the last dose. I keep hoping we don't have to continue going up...:arghh:
 
I'm sorry you didn't get a full night's sleep. I was up last night to feed Gravy a little, but went right back to bed.
Hope you can get a little nap in - maybe a siesta at lunch time.:coffee::coffee: Enjoy some catpuccinos!
Hi Vicki, thank you...working today and a very busy day. No rest for this weary mom unfortunately. But thank you for the sweet catpuccinos. I will gladly accept then any day! Sending you pawsitive vibves today at the vet for Gravy:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Oof, that's a rough night, Staci!
I hate it when I'm woken by my own jerking or something just about when I fall asleep! :mad:
But sounds like Ivy had a great night jumping on you and stepping all over on you :p
Good luck with the increase. Ivy has shown a great improvement - it's unfortunate that it means less sleep for you, though. :(
Hope it'll be a mellower day and evening so you can go to bed early. Maybe you can steel a moment to close your eyes today too!
Sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, well she was very active at last night, knowing I was close by. She was even ripping tape off of the sofa (I have packing tape on the edge of the sofa she has clawed at for years). So her activity, as we like to say, is to pull the tape off. Many times she ends up wearing the tape as it gets stuck to her fur and then she crinkles.:p:p
Ivy is one Bad A$$ kitty. Always has been. She's destroyed my furniture (but I would never declaw a cat).
Anyhow....that was her activity overnight....tape pulling, sensor beeping, Ivy jumping on me...not too restful :arghh:

She's dipped down from her amps this morning and having an active cycle, definitely got to the beach today, not sure if she got in the water.
Hope Mikan is behaving today and not making you sweat too much!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry to read about your sleepless night again! That's so hard to function without sleep.
Hang in there for the dose. She needs what she needs. I felt horrible when Bella needed up to 5 units. And then it happened, she started being regulated. Look at her SS if you want: 2021 is all pink and red. Then 2022 starts the same, and Bhooma convinced me to keep increasing, up to 5.25, until it worked. Since March 2022 she was almost exclusively in greens and blues, except for 2 days last summer when we had a new sitter who did not give her her insulin (our regular sitter found a full syringe on the counter whe she came back after the 2 days the other one was here). So all that to say: let her tell you what she needs :bighug:
But still, I know how you feel, and I want to tell you again, you are amazing, :bighug::bighug:
Thanks so much, Cecile, for letting me know your history with Bella. That's so helpful to know. It's so easy to lose hope as the dose just goes up and up. I really hope we can get some better regulation going on. It's been a long journey so far. And all the added conditions just make it all harder.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!
Sorry about your lack of sleep. Luckily Ivy was there to keep you company. Also great that you can work from home and keep an eye on her.
Good luck with the increase. Hopefully it does wonders and you won't have to increase anymore.
Come on Gato Meow. Work that dose and give mama a break.
Have a safe and peaceful meownday
View attachment 69803
Thanks for the good wishes, Karolina :bighug:
She is good company in the night, except when she's making trouble, LOL.
I really keep hoping we don't have to keep going up and up. Sigh.
Gato Meow sends her love to you and the boys, and me too:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Staci ,wishing Ivy all the best with the increase. Sorry you were up most of the night , Glad you are working from home today and see how Ivy does with the increase, About 3 weeks ago I was exercising doing all different types of leg exercises and woke up the next day and boy of boy the pain in my groin area was killing me. Everyone said you probably pulled a muscle and it might take a while to heal. Bull crap :p
It's still killing me, so I'm going for an MRI this morning, something better show up and if it doesn't I am still going to see an orthopedic surgeon to see what he thinks. If he tells me it's a strained muscle then how long will it take to go away. I can't even walk normal . My younger sister yells at me and says you always wait to long to go see a doctor when something.
I tell her to shut up :p
3 weeks ago I had to get facet injection in my lower back. Always had lower back problems since 2016.
In 2016 went for an MRI for my lower back ,showed buldging discs so a got an epidural and it lasted for a good 3 years.
This time it was really killing me. So I went to Ashley's last pain management she saw ,had another MRI, back got a little wirsa some stenosis also.
He did 3 facet injections on each side and one down toward the center of my lower back.
It feels great now..
When I saw him in the office before he did them he said we will put you out.
Didn't get put out for the epidurals by a different doctor.
So I'm at the surgery center he said do you want to be put out, I said you told me I would be.
I said to the
anesthesiologist yeah put me out because I love that feeling lol
I always tell them inject that stuff nice and slow so I can feel it for a few seconds before I go to LA LA land :p
He looked at me and said really, I said I love that feeling, he said well at least your honest haha.
What is weird I have dine those leg exercises every day and nothing ever happened. My sister said we are not spring chickens any more.
My birthday was 4-3 I turned 68 :banghead:
I say to myself how the hell did this happen :p Boy time goes so fast
I say to people what's so happy about turning 68, they say well at least you woke up lol
For my age other than this dam groin pain I'm in pretty good shape.
When it's nice out I walk everyday.
I said to my sister if I need some type of surgery I have to come home the same day to feed Tyler . She said she would come by and feed him.
I said I'll have to show you how he likes his wet food prepared.
He likes it a little mussy and add water and then warm it up in the microwave. She said you have to be kidding. She has 2 cats if HSR own and just puts the wet food out adds a little water and they eat it
I said to her Tyler is special lol
She said I spoil him, I said that's right Cheryl lol
She's a wonderful sister and I don't no what I would do without her. She will be 65 in 4-14
My brother is 58.
Tyler's birthday is coming up on 4-29. He will be 16.
I hope Ivy surfs safely today and eating in her own improves
I'll check back later on
Hope you have a nice day my friend :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Hi Diane,
Thanks so much for your sweet, good wishes as always.
And HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you!! Sorry I didn't know last week!! I hope it was nice.
I'm so sorry to hear that you are having so much medical crap going on. It's so hard to manage all of that. It sounds like you have a lot of docs taking a look and hopefully they can figure out the best option to help with the pain.
Sending you lots of hugs and good vibes for good health and less pain.
Keep us posted of your progress and tests.
Hope you have a calm night ahead with less pain!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry you had such a hard night but you are such a good mom! Can’t get too mad when they wake you up, lovin on you, can you! I know the feeling! Hope you get sleep tonight!
 
Sorry you had such a hard night but you are such a good mom! Can’t get too mad when they wake you up, lovin on you, can you! I know the feeling! Hope you get sleep tonight!
Thank you, Deb. That’s really sweet. No, can’t be upset for lots of love. Hoping for some sleep, too.
Think I’m gonna have to start sleeping in our spare bedroom if the sensor is gonna make noises all night long if she’s going to be in much better lower numbers. I don’t like keeping DH up all night with the alarms. No sense both of us being up. :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Yay Ivy made it to the beach today. Nestle was there for a bit, then wondered off only to decide to come back before the shot.
Hopefully you will have a peaceful night and get to sleep in bed. :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
 
I hope Ivy does well with the increase.
Is there some unwritten rule somewhere that as diabetic cat caretakers we have to learn to catnap, too? o_O
 
Back
Top