4/8 Ivy Amps 255, +3 125, +6 116, +9.75 177, Pmps Lo L/45 L/148 C, +3 56 L, +6 150 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Very Active Member
4/7/25
Amps 255 Libre

Woke up to a large fur pull-puke in her room today. Never know why she does this.

Don’t love all the yellow on her spreadsheet. If she doesn’t go any lower I may have to give her a bump up (even though I’m expecting a drop in her BG Based on the higher dose of Methimazole we are giving since the increase on Saturday).
It’s such a game of whack a mole :banghead:

I had a conversation with one of the vets I consult with and she feels the transdermal Methimazole for thyroid may not be working for her and I should switch to the pill form. (Transdermal form doesn’t go through GI system).

I’m very hesitant to do that because everything I read says that the pill or liquid form goes through the G.I. tract and can really make them feel terrible, lose their appetite and mess up their whole G.I. system.

The last thing I need is her not eating and feeling crappy so that she won’t want to eat. Then it’s a complication with giving insulin. I’m so conflicted about what to do here.
:arghh:

She did wake me up right before my alarm went off this morning, climbed the Pet steps and got into bed with me for some purrs and kneading. Always a good way to be woken up by my girl :cat:

Hope everyone has a safe and calm day :cat:
 
It’s such a game of whack a mole :banghead:
Isn't this the truth! So glad you got some morning snuggles!

I can totally understand your concerns going to pill form, not eating is not an option. Is the transdermal making any difference? I suppose with the increase you'd know on the next blood work?

Come down easy, Ivy girl - give Mama a little break :D:bighug:
 
It's so hard to balance everything out. I've had two cats with hyper-t and both took oral medicine. Neither of them had any stomach issues or appetite issues. ECID. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks for letting me know that, Carla. I’m so nervous in case she wouldn’t eat. That would be so dangerous for a diabetic cat.

It was so awful with pancreatitis when she wouldn’t eat. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Isn't this the truth! So glad you got some morning snuggles!

I can totally understand your concerns going to pill form, not eating is not an option. Is the transdermal making any difference? I suppose with the increase you'd know on the next blood work?

Come down easy, Ivy girl - give Mama a little break :D:bighug:
I’m not sure if the transdermal is making a difference.
We keep having to go up in dose in the past year and haven’t gotten her back to “normal” numbers yet. But with hyperthyroidism, it keeps progressing unless you do the I131 radiation treatment :arghh:
 
I’m not sure if the transdermal is making a difference.
We keep having to go up in dose in the past year and haven’t gotten her back to “normal” numbers yet. But with hyperthyroidism, it keeps progressing unless you do the I131 radiation treatment :arghh:
Ugh, that is so much to manage. Maybe there's something you can add with the pill to ward off any possible upset. Sending you and Ivy all the healing vibes. :bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Staci, I'm so sorry. I have not had a good experience with the oral methimazole, but ECID. Maybe you can also give her famotadine, or some other med that may help her stomach at the same time like Laurie suggested? Worth asking the vet. Stupid question, but are you alternating the ears you put the meds on each day? I had a cat on transdermal atenolol for his heart and I had to make sure I switched ears each day and washed the ears to get the residual off. There is no easy answer for Ivy, I'm afraid. Her personality and health conditions make staying at the hospital so tough. If you get to that point, I would ask the hospital about letting you visit each day to feed her and administer the insulin....they should be able to accommodate that if you could- not sure what your work schedule is and if that would work for you or not. I left a comment on your post from yesterday (?) about variations in the T4 level based on time of day test was taken--maybe it's not as bad as it seems? I'm praying so hard for you, and for Ivy, to find a good, workable solution to her HyperT. HUGS! LOVE! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Staci, I'm so sorry. I have not had a good experience with the oral methimazole, but ECID. Maybe you can also give her famotadine, or some other med that may help her stomach at the same time like Laurie suggested? Worth asking the vet. Stupid question, but are you alternating the ears you put the meds on each day? I had a cat on transdermal atenolol for his heart and I had to make sure I switched ears each day and washed the ears to get the residual off. There is no easy answer for Ivy, I'm afraid. Her personality and health conditions make staying at the hospital so tough. If you get to that point, I would ask the hospital about letting you visit each day to feed her and administer the insulin....they should be able to accommodate that if you could- not sure what your work schedule is and if that would work for you or not. I left a comment on your post from yesterday (?) about variations in the T4 level based on time of day test was taken--maybe it's not as bad as it seems? I'm praying so hard for you, and for Ivy, to find a good, workable solution to her HyperT. HUGS! LOVE! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Christine, I appreciate your thoughts, input and the love!!!!
Did you ever do the transdermal methimazole??
What was bad for you with the oral methimazole?

Yes, I do rotate ears with each dose (am then pm) and I do clean each ear at each dose time (clean the prior ear at each dose given. Every third day I also use witch hazel to clean the ear, then follow it with a warm water cleaning and drying). She puts up with so much...

My work schedule is flexible so I could do whatever is needed, but I don't think any facility would allow me to visit and dose her due to the radiation situatiuon (I assume it would be a liability for them to allow that).
@Jack & Mopem'sMom
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci :)
I'm sorry you have such a struggle with Ivy's T4. I don't have any suggestions unfortunately. But from what you got hear it sounds like it's maybe worth a try and see how it affects her?
How long would you normally give to know if the transdermal works? Do you need to get lab tests to see if it works or do you have signs you could looks for yourself to notice a shift?
I hope you'll figure something out that works for Ivy with all the different conditions. i know it's a difficult dance to dance.
Sending lots of love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci :)
I'm sorry you have such a struggle with Ivy's T4. I don't have any suggestions unfortunately. But from what you got hear it sounds like it's maybe worth a try and see how it affects her?
How long would you normally give to know if the transdermal works? Do you need to get lab tests to see if it works or do you have signs you could looks for yourself to notice a shift?
I hope you'll figure something out that works for Ivy with all the different conditions. i know it's a difficult dance to dance.
Sending lots of love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Shelly, thanks for the suggestions and support. I do appreciate it. Yes, we have to do lab work to see where the levels are. We are scheduled to do that the first week of May, which will be one month after we increased her dose of transdermal medication.

I suppose we could try it and see how she does. I’m just so afraid of her not wanting to eat.
And all the reading I’ve done it just seems that it really messes with their whole G.I. system and that’s the last thing I need is her not eating and having to deal with insulin, so it really kind of just freaks me out.

As if FD isn’t hard enough to deal with. When you add these additional complexities, as you know, it just gets harder.
Love to you and Fistuk! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
So sorry that even more variables are getting thrown at you now :( I don't have any personal experience, I wish I could be more helpful.
Hope you're able to get some answers or test some changes. I know none of those are fun things to have to deal with. Hope you have a calm night and come down safely, Ivy :bighug:
 
God, that's a really tough choice!! I can't imagine. I'm so sorry you're having to weigh all these different options when none of them are particularly good.

You just got her through that awful bout of pancreatitis and like you said, the last thing you need is to throw her GI out of whack again and have the thyroid not only be its own problem but a new complication for insulin too.

Like Briana said, I wish I could be of more help. :(:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So sorry that even more variables are getting thrown at you now :( I don't have any personal experience, I wish I could be more helpful.
Hope you're able to get some answers or test some changes. I know none of those are fun things to have to deal with. Hope you have a calm night and come down safely, Ivy :bighug:
Thank you Briana. I appreciate your sweet support :bighug::bighug:
 
God, that's a really tough choice!! I can't imagine. I'm so sorry you're having to weigh all these different options when none of them are particularly good.

You just got her through that awful bout of pancreatitis and like you said, the last thing you need is to throw her GI out of whack again and have the thyroid not only be its own problem but a new complication for insulin too.

Like Briana said, I wish I could be of more help. :(:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Brianna. We appreciate your kind words :bighug::bighug:
 
A sort of surprising PMPS tonight. She dipped right at her PMPS. I shaved her side a tiny bit, gave about 2.5 Fat units.

I have been expecting a dip since the increased dose of Methimazole on Saturday.
Looks like I’m spending the night on the couch with Ivy in that basement. Will be feeding carbs to keep her going :coffee:;):banghead:;)
 
Thanks, Christine, I appreciate your thoughts, input and the love!!!!
Did you ever do the transdermal methimazole??
What was bad for you with the oral methimazole?

Yes, I do rotate ears with each dose (am then pm) and I do clean each ear at each dose time (clean the prior ear at each dose given. Every third day I also use witch hazel to clean the ear, then follow it with a warm water cleaning and drying). She puts up with so much...

My work schedule is flexible so I could do whatever is needed, but I don't think any facility would allow me to visit and dose her due to the radiation situatiuon (I assume it would be a liability for them to allow that).
@Jack & Mopem'sMom
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I never used the transdermal Methimazole, once we used the oral and saw it didn't work, we went for the I-131. But, Tigeress was not Ivy and even though she was older (17), she didn't have any other conditions (like the FDM) and she had a different personality for staying at the hospital. Tigeress had a very bad reaction to the oral methimazole- it made her nauseous, not want to eat, and within 3 days of being on the meds, she was having bloody diarrhea which was more blood than poop (sorry to gross you out.) It took us about 2 weeks and a special order anti-diarrhea med from the compounding pharmacy to get her back to a point where she would eat and have normal poop. This is a horror story for you, especially with the diabetes and insulin food requirement. ECID though and I thought someone on here said the oral meds didn't cause a problem for their cats. After that experience, I just always went for the I-131, especially since they have to off the med for a time (2 weeks I think, don't remember) before they will do the procedure. As for letting you take care of her at a hospital, every state is different, so restrictions may be too. Perhaps they could give you a radiation badge and gear to wear (for extra cost, I'm sure :spam: ) to facilitate her stay. I don't know, you would really have to research it. Reach out to David for advice if you need (I think I gave you that number) I wish I had better info for you. Hang in there, and please don't hesitate to reach out if you need to. I'm praying for you guys, always :bighug:
 
I never used the transdermal Methimazole, once we used the oral and saw it didn't work, we went for the I-131. But, Tigeress was not Ivy and even though she was older (17), she didn't have any other conditions (like the FDM) and she had a different personality for staying at the hospital. Tigeress had a very bad reaction to the oral methimazole- it made her nauseous, not want to eat, and within 3 days of being on the meds, she was having bloody diarrhea which was more blood than poop (sorry to gross you out.) It took us about 2 weeks and a special order anti-diarrhea med from the compounding pharmacy to get her back to a point where she would eat and have normal poop. This is a horror story for you, especially with the diabetes and insulin food requirement. ECID though and I thought someone on here said the oral meds didn't cause a problem for their cats. After that experience, I just always went for the I-131, especially since they have to off the med for a time (2 weeks I think, don't remember) before they will do the procedure. As for letting you take care of her at a hospital, every state is different, so restrictions may be too. Perhaps they could give you a radiation badge and gear to wear (for extra cost, I'm sure :spam: ) to facilitate her stay. I don't know, you would really have to research it. Reach out to David for advice if you need (I think I gave you that number) I wish I had better info for you. Hang in there, and please don't hesitate to reach out if you need to. I'm praying for you guys, always :bighug:
Thanks, Christine. Yeah, what you had with Tigress is my fear and nightmare.
I looked at Univ of Pennsylvania and they won’t give any meds or injections to a cat (meds must be in their food only). So even giving insulin would be a problem.

I guess I can try to talk to David again… (I did email you this past week, check your inbox).
:bighug:
Thanks again for the information :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, Christine. Yeah, what you had with Tigress is my fear and nightmare.
I looked at Univ of Pennsylvania and they won’t give any meds or injections to a cat (meds must be in their food only). So even giving insulin would be a problem.

I guess I can try to talk to David again… (I did email you this past week, check your inbox).
:bighug:
Thanks again for the information :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Oh Staci, I'm sorry. Im so bad with email I'll send you a DM with my cell # to call or text that's the best way lately. I'll check email in a bit
:bighug:
 
Back
Top