4/8 Gobbles PMPS 414 +4 367 +10 178 **Raffle Results**

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92718&p=995069#p995069

Well, today's the big day!!! I'll be drawing the Raffle tickets a little later and there will be a post on both the Main Health and Community boards. DH is going to record the drawing; I'll empty each envelope, one at a time, into a bin and then pull a ticket and stick it on a prize board I made. You can then watch the video the same as if it was a live drawing :-D

The grand total the basket raffle raised for FDMB is $1,350!!! I want to thank everyone who contributed in one way or another to the raffle: donators, ticket purchasers and those who bumped the postings. I truly did not think so much money would be raised, and I am ecstatic! I already have another fundraiser planned (not a raffle--something different & top secret for now) that I think everyone will like!

Gobbles woke me up in his usual, sweeter-the-glucose mood with his purrs, kisses and toilet paper duty. He ate a good breakfast and is plopped down on the back of the couch watching birds from the window.
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 **Raffle Drawing Day**

So excited! I love that you are going to post "in real time" !!! I'll probably miss it, but what a wonderful idea! Send out an update before hand if you can so we can tune in.
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 **Raffle Drawing Day**

Lisa & Leo said:
So excited! I love that you are going to post "in real time" !!! I'll probably miss it, but what a wonderful idea! Send out an update before hand if you can so we can tune in.
I'll do a FDMB Basket Raffle Results posting here in LL. I am not going to post the winners, just yet--you'll have to watch the youtube video to see if you're a winner! And then I will be sending PM's to all the winners tomorrow :-D
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 **Raffle Drawing Day**

Morning Kat a.k.a. Raffle Woman!!!! You've made this great fun AND done such a wonderful thing for FDMB! I'm looking forward to the video! Whoo Hooo... great fun on a Monday!!!
I'm assuming that Gobbles is doing well in the ice cream department? that's a nice amps today!
hugs and scritches to you mary and ollie
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 **Raffle Drawing Day**

ecurie said:
Morning Kat a.k.a. Raffle Woman!!!! You've made this great fun AND done such a wonderful thing for FDMB! I'm looking forward to the video! Whoo Hooo... great fun on a Monday!!!
I'm assuming that Gobbles is doing well in the ice cream department? that's a nice amps today!
hugs and scritches to you mary and ollie
Thanks so much Mary; I am looking forward to the drawing~I really dislike myself on camera and am telling DH to focus on the tickets and not me!!! The ice cream truck has not been by our house yet today; I am thinking that I'd like something harder for today's treat; maybe a fudgsicle?? :lol: Hugs & scritches back to ya :razz:
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 **Raffle Drawing Day**

Great job on raising so much $$$$$ Kat! I'm glad that FDMB will be able to put the money to good use....to continue helping us take care of our sugar cats!

Not sure if I'll be able to view video or see pm to see which prize I will be winning (maybe all three, lol), so I'll have to jump on board first thing tomorrow!!!

Good luck everyone.

Oh, you should make a winecycle. That would work, wouldn't it?
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 **Raffle Drawing Day**

Hi guys .. wow, how exciting to beat your goal like that! Great job, that money is surely appreciated on this board .. and how cool we get to watch the drawing too! Gobbles, aren't you excited? You should hit up the lagoon! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 **Raffle Drawing Day**

Deb & Spot said:
Great job on raising so much $$$$$ Kat! I'm glad that FDMB will be able to put the money to good use....to continue helping us take care of our sugar cats!

Not sure if I'll be able to view video or see pm to see which prize I will be winning (maybe all three, lol), so I'll have to jump on board first thing tomorrow!!!

Good luck everyone.

Oh, you should make a winecycle. That would work, wouldn't it?
Winecycle? What is a winecycle????? When are we doing the next raffle??? :lol:
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 **Raffle Drawing Day**

CONGRATULATIONS on your successful endevors AAAND Nice to hear Gobbles is his usual lovey dovey self.

jeanne
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 **Raffle Drawing Day**

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. wow, how exciting to beat your goal like that! Great job, that money is surely appreciated on this board .. and how cool we get to watch the drawing too! Gobbles, aren't you excited? You should hit up the lagoon! Have a great day guys!
Gobbles is flippin' euphoric!!! He's so pumped that he fell asleep on the back of the couch (I guess the birds started to bore him) and then went back to bed :-D I am getting ready to let the gluco-monster out of his cage :twisted: for playtime with Gobbles; hopefully Gobs won't run for the hills when Gloogles takes a chomp out of him and instead decides to take a dive in the lagoon (Gloogles is scared of water).
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Drawing Day**

I would like advice and opinions re: raising Gobbles' dosage on a temporary basis while he is on the Mometamax ear drops; if you have the time, can you take a look at his SS and let me know what your think?

FYI, he has been on Mometamax ear drops, for a yeast infection, starting 4/3 (then I didn't give him any ear drops on 4/4 due to having to make a decision that day re: meds (vet didn't return my call) because he had a horrible diarrhea incident that evening and on 4/4) and then re-starting the ear drops on 4/5 to present; he will finish up the ear drops on 4/11. However, his BG had been climbing a few weeks before the ear drops were even started.

I know its basically impossible to know the physiology of our cats, but I would like for his BG to be at least in the low 200s. Also, I think maybe the steroid in the ear drops may be making him somewhat sluggish; since he has been on the ear drops, he's been sleeping (a little) more and has that "high BG" look to him when his numbers get over 300 (normally, 300s don't phase him).

Any advice and opinions are surely appreciated.
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Drawing Day**

I don't have the experience with Lantus (actually none :-D ) to speak to the logic of a short-term increase. I don't know what, if any, the long term effects would be when you consider the depot. I know it would be logical with a "done and gone" insulin like PZI...


Not sure if you've ever had to take steroids yourself Kat. I had to for a couple of weeks once, and I have no idea which one it was, but I'm sure it wasn't the one Gobs is on. But as to making him sluggish goes, it had the opposite effect on me. It made me feel wired all day, like I'd overdosed on caffeine, and also caused my stomach to feel strange, like I had taken meds that were supposed to be taken before a meal, but I hadn't eaten afterwards.
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Drawing Day**

Just wanted to stop by and say THANK YOU for doing all this hard work to make the raffle happen! It's such a great cause and I enjoyed being able to give back a bit to a cause that has helped me and my sugar kitty so much!!!!!

You rock!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Drawing Day**

I was thinking when you posted a day or two ago about the rise in BGs from the steroids that you could raise the insulin until Thursday (or whatever day you stop the steroids), but I see that you raise the dose Saturday night. I would stick with the dose at least through tonight (the 6 cycles) and then maybe raise it if needed, tomorrow morning. Just my oppinion.
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Drawing Day**

Carl & Bob said:
I don't have the experience with Lantus (actually none :-D ) to speak to the logic of a short-term increase. I don't know what, if any, the long term effects would be when you consider the depot. I know it would be logical with a "done and gone" insulin like PZI...


Not sure if you've ever had to take steroids yourself Kat. I had to for a couple of weeks once, and I have no idea which one it was, but I'm sure it wasn't the one Gobs is on. But as to making him sluggish goes, it had the opposite effect on me. It made me feel wired all day, like I'd overdosed on caffeine, and also caused my stomach to feel strange, like I had taken meds that were supposed to be taken before a meal, but I hadn't eaten afterwards.
I've taken Prednisone for my back a few times. Ahhhhhh....what relief from back pain~~~to not be able to feel absolutely no pain is totally amazing!!! And I was in a zone, unable to focus, wouldn't/couldn't drive and it really "densed me up"...and (bonus) I ate very little; I basically had to force myself to eat.
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Drawing Day**

The basic rule when treating comorbid conditions is to do what you have to do and adjust the insulin around it. Thus, if infection and/or treatment are raising his glucose, you can accommodate that by adjusting the Lantus per the dose adjustment guidelines.

BUT - be on nadir watch as the infection clears and/or the steroid is discontinued, as you may need to adjust back down.
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Drawing Day**

I think you can raise the dose, just not this soon. You still need to let the increase to 1.25u settle for 4 cycles at the minimum. If you then want to raise the dose by 0.25u, it would be fine. Just like with any infection, insulin needs may increase. Once the infection clears, you need to monitor carefully since numbers can drop quickly.
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Drawing Day**

Sienne and Gabby said:
I think you can raise the dose, just not this soon. You still need to let the increase to 1.25u settle for 4 cycles at the minimum. If you then want to raise the dose by 0.25u, it would be fine. Just like with any infection, insulin needs may increase. Once the infection clears, you need to monitor carefully since numbers can drop quickly.
Yep, Sienne counts cycles better than I do :oops: I said tonight is the 6th cycle, and I didn't count too well.
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Drawing Day**

in response to kat's PM:

if you shot 1.25u this morning, that makes a total of 4 consecutive cycles at 1.25 units. if i were in your shoes, i'd take the dose up to 1.5u tonight barring any surprises today.

BJM said:
The basic rule when treating comorbid conditions is to what you have to do and adjust the insulin around it. Thus, if infection and/or treatment are raising his glucose, you can accommodate that by adjusting the Lantus per the dose adjustment guidelines.

BUT - be on nadir watch as the infection clears and/or the steroid is discontinued, as you may need to adjust back down.
exactly.

when a cat is sick (for whatever reasons) controlling blood glucose is about the only thing we can attempt to control. i've had a lot of experience with treating on-going illnesses and sometimes infection with alex over the last several years. when she's sick, i now treat her diabetes as aggressively as my ability to monitor permits. sounds weird, but she seems to feel better faster when i keep her numbers down. the caveat is the need for exogenous insulin may drop quickly. watch for it and reduce accordingly!

imho, allowing alex or any kitty to ride in high numbers only opens the door to other problems including, but not limited to glucose toxicity and renal problems.

just my thoughts...
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Drawing Day**

***RAFFLE RESULTS****​


Below are two of the same picture of the raffle winners' board I made. As the tickets were drawn, each ticket was taped underneath the coordinating prize; one of the pictures is in color and the other picture is in black & white (easier to read)--if you don't already know how to do so: you can press down control the same time as the "+" sign on your keyboard to zoom in on the pictures. DH & I regret to inform all of you who were looking forward to the youtube video of the drawing that our try at recording the drawing did not work :sad: The iPad either ran out of memory or (he) did something wrong or who-the-heck-knows-what-happened (the recording started, then must of stopped and when viewed, there was a black screen and then a red screen) and we had no idea what to do if it was memory (short of deleting family recordings and pictures). We never even considered the memory and we probably should of had one of our kids come over and do the actual recording.

But anyways, here are the winners! Congratulations Winners! I will send you a PM or you can send me one (please include your mailing address). We really are all lucky winners because we have FDMB in our lives: a loving, caring Webmaster (Thank you, Rebecca), a second family, friendships, support, education, comfort and assurance :-D AND $1,350 was raised!!!

Drum Roll...............

#1 Handcrafted Hoop Earrings - Angel Werner
#2 Sterling Cat Pendant - Deb Pfeiffer
#3 Thermal Tote w/Rosette - Rebekah Trapp
#4 Keep-It Caddy - Lisa Carroll
#5 Cindy Tote- Pat & DC
#6 Mini Thermal Zipper Pouch and Lanyard - Phoebe Basso
#7 Wall Organizer - Rebekah Trapp
#8 $20 Thirty-One Gift Certificate - Melissa Sloman
#9 $25 Amazon Gift Card - Barb Peterson
#10 $30 Amazon Gift Card - Michelle Fournier
#11 $20 PetSmart Gift Card - Phoebe Basso
#12 $20 Walmart Gift Card - Lyressa
#13 Custom Scrapbook - Melissa Sloman
#14 Cosmetics & Cases - Melissa Sloman
#15 Handcrafted Crochet Necklace - Susan Lucas
#16 Handcrafted Wire Pendant - Phoebe Basso
#17 Handcrafted Kitty Pi - Carl & Bob
#18 Handcrafted Kitty Toys Basket - Anne Hart
 

Attachments

  • rafflecolor.jpg
    rafflecolor.jpg
    39.4 KB · Views: 434
  • raffleb&w.jpg
    raffleb&w.jpg
    34.1 KB · Views: 433
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Results**

Congratulations to all the winners, and BIG THANKS to Kat (and her DH) for all her hard work! Looking forward to the next "fun-raiser"! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Results**

I've taken into account the opinions of Sienne, Dyana, BJM & Jill with regard to my earlier (asking for advice or opinions) post about Gobbles' high BG's/ear drops. I am going to give Gobbles a .25 increase (1.50 U) for his PM dose this evening. The high numbers (with an ear infection and/or steroid-containing ear drops) coupled with what I think may be sluggishness from the ear drops warrant a (probably temporary) dose increase. I plan to decrease his dose if his BG goes to low or on Wednesday's PM cycle (the last ear drop dose is on Thursday). I am able to monitor him and have plenty of strips (and a few glucometers), karo, syringe feeder and lots of MC & HC on hand.
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Results**

Hi Kat. Wishing Gobbles the best with the dose increase tonight.

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Results**

Frosty said:
Hi Kat. Wishing Gobbles the best with the dose increase tonight.

Have a great evening.
Thanks John--well, he was at 414 so he surely needed it :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Results**

TheBowHuntress said:
I plan to decrease his dose if his BG goes to low or on Wednesday's PM cycle (the last ear drop dose is on Thursday).
just a suggestion for your consideation...
go with the flow as to when to reduce the dose. chances are gobbles won't need an immediate reduction. you test enough to let the numbers be your guide rather than timing the reduction to stopping the ear drops.


PS --- AWESOME job on the raffle! thank you, kat!
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles AMPS 255 +4.5 331 **Raffle Results**

Jill & Alex said:
TheBowHuntress said:
I plan to decrease his dose if his BG goes to low or on Wednesday's PM cycle (the last ear drop dose is on Thursday).
just a suggestion for your consideation...
go with the flow as to when to reduce the dose. chances are gobbles won't need an immediate reduction. you test enough to let the numbers be your guide rather than timing the reduction to stopping the ear drops.


PS --- AWESOME job on the raffle! thank you, kat!
That makes a lot of sense, Jill. Thanks for the suggestion~I do test a lot. I have a few appointments on Thursday, but won't be gone longer than 2 hours for each.... The raffle was so much fun!!!
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles PMPS 414 **Raffle Results**

I'm late to your condo, but everybody already said what I would have said anyway. ;-) I agree with the others about increasing the dose. It makes sense to me, just be aware that you might have to decrease again after he finishes the drops.
 
Re: 4/8 Gobbles PMPS 414 **Raffle Results**

Thanks Carl for your sharing re: steroids and to all who left Raffle comments!!! I really appreciate the "paw on the back" and this Raffle would not have been possible without the generosity of so many FDMB members :-D Like I said above, we are ALL winners :RAHCAT
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top